PW’s White Chicken Enchiladas

So last weekend Hubby could not decide what to cook for us, so I took charge.  Ha ha…  Well, usually he is in charge of dinner during the weekend, while I am supposed to be in charge during the weekdays.  I say “supposed to” since sometimes I just reheat the chickens or BBQ Hubby cooked some time ago.  So, technically I wasn’t the one who cook during the weekday, but, ssshhhh… don’t tell Hubby about this.

So we have tons of roasted chicken in the freezer, and I thought we need to eat those chickens.  I was thinking that I would make Pioneer Woman’s White Chicken Enchiladas with those chicks.  So I took out a half chicken, bought some canned green chilies, corn tortillas, and the rest of the ingredients as needed.  See how lazy I am to type all of the ingredients?  The list is quite long actually… but, you get to see the whole thing in the pictures below.  Well, let’s see.  Now that I look at the picture again, it is not that long.  Shredded chicken, broth, oil, corn tortilla, onion, green chilies, jalapeno, paprika, heavy cream, butter, flour, sour cream, cheese, cilantro, salt and pepper.  There.   Bla bla bla… Anyway, let’s move on, shall we?

So while I was thawing the chicken, I was reading PW’s post for this dish.  Well!!!  It turned out that I could have bought the diced green chiles!  See what happened to you when you don’t do your homework?  I was kind of curious about what is green chile.  It is another type of chili, just a different variety, and just picked while it was still green.  Sometimes I see them at the grocery store, but not too often (at least in my tiny grocery store).  If you want to read more about the different type of chilies, click here and here.

So I chopped all the veggies, the green chilies, onion, and jalapeno.

 

Then I shredded the chicken meat.

 

Shredded the cheese…

 

Then I dumped the onion into my frying pan to stir fry them a bit.

 

Added the jalapeno…

 

 

Cooked them until the onion turned translucent.

 

 

Added the chicken.

 

Then the green chilies.

 

Paprika…

 

Mixed them together…

 

Then added the chicken broth…

 

The heavy cream…

 

Stirred it, and let it bubble and set it aside.

 

Then, in another skillet, I melted some butter and added the flour.

 

I let it cook until I smelled the fragrance of a pie crust… then the roux should be ready.

 

Then I poured in the chicken broth…

 

Whisked it and dumped in the green chilies…

 

Stirred and dumped in the sour cream.

 

Shredded cheese (which, by the way, I dumped the whole 2 ½ cup, instead of only 1 ½ cup.  I ended up having to shred cheese again.)

 

Mixed them in until the cheese melted.

 

Then I added the paprika – I almost forgot this step!

 

Tasted it, and decided to add black pepper.  I skipped the salt since it was salty enough from the cheese.  I set the sauce aside.

 

Then the assembly began.  I grabbed a corn tortilla, which I heated up in a microwave instead of frying it – I wanted to skip the added calories from the oil, however miniscule that was.  Then I scooped the chicken mixture and put it on top of the tortilla.

 

Sprinkled some cheese…

 

Rolled it and put it in the greased baking pan.

 

Rolled the next tortillas until I was out of chicken.

 

Then I poured the cheese sauce on top of the enchiladas…

 

Baked the enchiladas…

 

And we had dinner!

 

I served it with Salsa Fresca and refried beans, and it was very yummy.  The chicken was tasty, and the sauce was just perfect.  The only thing was, the corn tortilla turned mushy.  I researched online and most people said they fried their tortilla and they hold firm.  So I will have to try frying them next time, and just have to accept that if I want my enchiladas whole, I have to fry the tortillas.    So do you want to try to make it?  Please do so and you will not be disappointed.  Thanks Ree, for another wonderful recipe from you!

 
Print recipe here.

Recipe by: Pioneer Woman

Ingredients
2-½ cups Cooked, Shredded Chicken
2 cups Reserved Broth From Chicken
3 Tablespoons Canola Oil
12 whole Corn Tortillas
1 whole Large Onion, Diced
3 whole 4 Oz Cans Whole Green Chilies, Diced
1 whole Jalapeno, Seeded And Finely Diced
1 teaspoon Paprika
½ cups Heavy Cream
2 Tablespoons Butter
2 Tablespoons Flour
1 cup Sour Cream
2-½ cups Monterey Jack Cheese, Grated
Salt And Pepper, to taste
Picante Sauce (optional)
Cilantro, Chopped
Preparation Instructions
Heat 2 tablespoons canola oil in a small skillet over medium-high heat. Fry tortillas for no longer than 20 seconds, just to soften (do not allow to become crisp.) Place tortillas on a large towel or stack of paper towels to drain.

Heat 1 tablespoon canola oil in separate skillet over medium heat. Add onions and jalapenos and saute for 1 minute, just to start the cooking process. Add chicken, half of the green chilies, and 1/2 teaspoon paprika. Stir together. Add 1/2 cup chicken broth and stir. Add cream and stir, allowing mixture to bubble and get hot. Turn off heat and set aside.

In a separate large skillet, melt butter and sprinkle in flour. Whisk together and cook over medium heat for one minute. Pour in 1 1/2 cups chicken broth. Whisk together and cook for another minute or two. Stir in the other half of the chilies. Reduce heat, then stir in sour cream. Add 1 1/2 cups grated cheese and stir to melt. Add 1/2 teaspoon paprika. Check seasoning and add salt and pepper as needed.

To assemble, spoon chicken mixture on top of tortillas, one by one. Top with plenty of cheese and roll up. Place seam side down in a 9 x 13 casserole dish.

Pour cheese mixture all over the top of the tortillas. Top with extra cheese if you’d like, then bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes. Sprinkle generously with chopped cilantro.

Serve with picante sauce, if desired.

This entry was posted in Chicken, Food, Tex-Mex and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

