Banana Nut Bread II

I was experimenting Banana Nut Bread last week.  I have read that you can substitute butter with apple sauce, so I was really curious about that.  I was curious because if I can cut down the calories and the fat in bread, without altering the taste or texture, I would go for that.  So I just used the recipe that I had before.  I researched online about the ratio of butter and apple sauce, this article says to try substituting a little bit by little bit to an even 1 to 1 ratio.  Well, I was lazy and did not feel like experimenting with three batches of banana nut bread.  So I decided to do a one to one ratio.  While researching for this, I also found this site about fats.  It is an interesting read if you want to know about the different types of fat for cooking.

So I had the same ingredients for making the banana nut bread, except instead of butter, I had an apple sauce jar in the picture.

 

Same deal as before, the dry ingredients were mixed first.  Flour…

 

Baking soda…

 

Baking powder…

 

Sugar…

 

Salt…

 

Mixed them around.

 

Chopped the nuts…

 

Dumped a little bit of mixed dry ingredients in the nuts bowl.

 

Tossed them around so the nuts were coated with the flour.  The purpose was so that the nuts won’t sink to the bottom of the muffin.

 

Then I mashed the bananas with a fork.

 

In another bowl, I beat the eggs lightly, and then added the apple sauce.

 

Vanilla…

 

Mixed them around and then poured it to the banana’s bowl.

 

Whisked it until they were combined.

 

Then I poured the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients.

 

Fold it slowly, until I didn’t see any flour floating anywhere.

 

Added the nuts, fold them slowly again…

 

And scooped the batter into the muffin pan lined with paper and baked them until golden brown.

 

The result was the same look, the pretty, domed muffins.

 

So, I let them cool down a little before I took them out of the pan.

 

And I had to taste test it.

 

 

It tasted the same, nothing different actually.  It was a little bit more fragrant because of the addition of apple.

 

 

In the future, I will skip the muffin paper, and just pour the batter into the greased muffin pans.  As I peeled the paper from the muffin, more bread stuck on the paper than in the buttered version.  So next time, I’ll just skip the paper, and bake it directly on the pan.  Easy, yummy and lighter in calorie banana nut bread!

 

Print recipe here.

Banana Nut Bread
Recipe adapted from Cooking for Engineers

Ingredients:
2 large (250 g) ripe bananas
6 Tbs. unsweetened apple sauce
1 tsp. (5 mL) vanilla extract
2 large eggs
1-1/3 cups (167 g) all-purpose flour
2/3 cup (130 g) sugar
1/2 tsp. (2.3 g) baking soda
1/4 tsp. (1.2 g) baking powder
1/2 tsp. (3 g) salt
1/2 cup (70 g) chopped walnuts

Preparation:
Mash the bananas with a fork. Add the apple sauce, vanilla and incorporate with the mashed bananas.
Beat the eggs lightly and add to the banana mixture.
Add all the dry ingredients except chopped walnuts and whisk well.
Add a little flour mixture into the chopped walnuts, stir until walnuts are covered with flour mixture.
Pour banana mixture into the flour mixture, fold until incorporated.
Fold the chopped walnuts into the batter.
Pour into greased muffin pans, bake at 350F for 20-22 minutes.
Pour into greased mini loafs, bake at 350F for 40 minutes.
Pour into greased loaf pan, bake at 350F for 55 minutes.
Let cool for a few minutes (for muffins) or ten minutes (for loaf pan) on the pan.
Then remove the bread from the pan into wire rack to cool completely.

This entry was posted in banana, Bread, Food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

