Pumpkin Pie

When I was grouping the pictures for the blog, I saw that I didn’t have the picture of the ingredients lined up together.  That strikes me as weird, since I remember vividly that I arranged all the ingredients for the picture.  I looked and I looked, and I even went back to my camera to look it up.  Well!  Apparently I arranged it, but I didn’t take a picture of it!  Darn!  Oh well, we will just have to make do without it.  We can live with that right?  I hope we can….  🙂

So let’s just start.  I needed pumpkin puree, butter, sugar, eggs, evaporated milk, vanilla, cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger, whipped cream, and the pie shell.

First I creamed the butter with my mixer.

 

Then I added the sugar into the bowl…

 

Added the egg yolks…

 

And beat some more until they were incorporated.

 

Then I added the pumpkin puree…

 

Evaporated milk…

 

Vanilla…

 

And before I started all these, I added all the spices into a ramekin.

 

So I could dump all the spices together easily…

 

Then I mixed them up…

 

Until they were all incorporated…

 

Then in another bowl, I beat the egg whites.

 

Then I added the sugar a little bit by a little bit, while still beating the egg whites.

 

Until they were stiff…

 

And stiff peaks formed when I pulled out the mixer.

 

Then I dumped the egg whites into the pumpkin mixture bowl.

 

Folded the egg whites slowly into the pumpkin mixture.

 

Until I didn’t see anymore egg whites in the mixture…

 

And poured the pumpkin mixture into the pie shell.

 

Then I baked the pie for 40 minutes or so…

 

And, it was done!

 

 
The pie was sitting in the freezer for a week, since I wanted to test if the frozen one will come out all right.  Well, tonight we tasted it.  It tasted very good, light, and yummy.  Not too sweet; it was just right.  It did not taste like it was frozen at all.  So now I am prepared for Thanksgiving dinner… ha ha… just the dessert part… 😀

 

 

Now I want to talk about the pie crust here a bit.  I was really happy with this pie crust, as you can see it hold the fluted shape around the edges.  Usually the crust would puff up and then I could barely see the shape.

 
Also, notice the layers of this particular piece of crust.  I sprinkled sugar and cinnamon (thanks to Ms. Terri at work who mentioned her mom usually did this on the left over pie dough) on the scrape pie crust and baked them for about 10 minutes just for us to munch on.  Well, except it wasn’t us, but it was me!  I ate them all!!  Ha!!  Anyway, can you see the layer of the crust there in the picture?  It shows that the crust is perfect, flaky, crispy crust.  I did comment to Hubby that I needed a macro lense for this picture, since I could not get bigger picture of this particular flakiness of the crust I want to show you.  And Hubby’s reaction?  He just rolled his eyes.  Ha ha…  So, really, please do try to make your own crust, you will be surprised by the result.  I was, and I just couldn’t be happier with myself.  🙂

Print recipe here.

Pumpkin Pie
Recipe by: Fannie Flagg, Whistle Stop Cafe Cookbook

Ingredients:
¼ cup butter or margarine, softened
1 cup sugar
2 eggs, separated
1 ½ cups cooked mashed pumpkin
¾ cup evaporated milk or half and half
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
½ teaspoon ground cinnamon
½ teaspoon ground nutmeg
½ teaspoon ground ginger
1 unbaked 9 inch pastry shell
Whipped cream

Preparation:
Preheat oven to 350F.  Cream butter with electric mixter, gradually add ¾ cup of sugar, beating well.  Beat in egg yolks.  Stir in pumpkin puree and next 5 ingredients.  Beat egg whites until foamy.  Gradually add remaining ¼ cup sugar, 1 tablespoon at a time, beating until stiff peaks form.  Fold into pumpkin mixture.  Pour into pastry shell and bake for 40 to 45 minutes, or until set.  Cool; top with dollops of whipped cream.

This entry was posted in Dessert, Food, Pie and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

