Pumpkin Puree

In preparation for Thanksgiving, I was experimenting with pumpkin pie.  The only pumpkin pie I had ever made was made out of real pumpkin, not the canned stuff.  Yes siree.  A real pumpkin, a sugar pumpkin that was.  That was last year, and this year, in preparation for my grandkids coming for Thanksgiving, I wanted to see if a frozen pumpkin pie tasted the same as the fresh one, or, almost as good as the fresh baked one.  I know I will be busy in the kitchen and if I can prepare ahead of time that would help me tremendously.

So I bought two sugar pumpkins last week; they were so cute and adorable, I actually didn’t like to put the knife to split them open.  Sugar pumpkin is that small, tiny pumpkin compared to the big one you carve for Halloween.  Actually this small one can be carved to, but you will have to have nimble fingers to handle a pumpkin that small.  If you are interested to read more about pumpkins, click here and here.

 

 

Last year I steamed the pumpkin, and this year, I wanted to try a different method.  I went to allrecipes.com and found this recipe on how to puree pumpkin by baking.

So first I split them open by using my cleaver.  Hey!  That would be a great Halloween decoration if you leave the cleaver in the pumpkin like that!  🙂

 

 

So you can see the strings and the seeds inside the pumpkin here.

 

 

I used my melon baller to scrape the strings and saved the pumpkin seeds for later use.

 

 

Then the pumpkin was clean and ready to be baked.

 

 

I wrapped the cut part with foil and put them on a cookie sheet, and baked them at 325 for an hour.

 

 

I tested the pumpkin by inserting a fork in them, and when the fork went in easily, the pumpkin was ready.

 

 

So I scraped the flesh using a spoon…

 

 

Until all of the meat was gone…

 

 

And I had my pumpkin flesh ready to be pureed.

 

 

I put the pumpkin flesh into a blender, and hit the Puree button…

 

 

Until the pumpkin flesh became very soft and resembled baby food…

 

 

So, I had my pumpkin puree ready and that was really easy.  Other than burned fingers, for scrapping the flesh out of the pumpkin while it was hot, there were not any major difficulties in pureeing a pumpkin.  So… there, are you going to puree fresh pumpkin or are you going to open a can when you want to make pumpkin pie?

 

 

Print recipe here.

Pumpkin Puree

Recipe from: Symka

Ingredients:

1 sugar pumpkin

Preparation:

Preheat oven to 325F.
Cut the pumpkin in half, stem to base.  Remove seeds and pulp.  Cover each half with foil.
Bake in the preheated oven, foil side up for 1 hour or until tender.
Scrape pumpkin meat from shell halves and puree in a blender.  Strain to remove any remaining stringy pieces.  Store in the freezer in freezer safe bags.

This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

