Aunt Bene’s Indian Pudding

I wanted to spoil Hubby last week, so with the Skillet Pork Chops dinner, I also made Aunt Bene’s Indian Pudding out of the Better Homes and Gardens’s Cookbook.  Don’t ask me who Aunt Bene is.  I am sure she is someone’s aunt who is a skilled cook that can whip up anything on a whim.

This pudding was pretty easy to make.  I needed milk, molasses, yellow cornmeal, egg, sugar, salt, butter, ginger, cinnamon, whipped cream and nutmeg.  I had all the ingredients in the pantry.  Yes, even the molasses.  I bought a jar of molasses for something, and it had been sitting in my pantry until last week.

 

 

My first step was heating up the milk.

 

 

Then, in a small bowl, I measured out the cornmeal.

 

 

Then I poured the molasses to the cornmeal bowl…

 

 

Stirred it around…

 

 

Until all of it was incorporated.

 

 

Then in a small bowl, I measured out the cinnamon.

 

 

Added the ginger… (Note, I saw my mistake, and took out half of the ginger that I already dumped in there.  The recipe only calls for 1/4 teaspoon of ginger.)

 

 

Salt…

 

 

Then in another bowl, I beat the one egg.  I guess some of these steps could be avoided, but I liked to have all things ready right then.  So, if I had to wash more bowls, it was fine by me.

 

 

By this time, the milk was hot already, without getting boiled.  So I added the cornmeal-molasses mixture into the pot.

 

 

Stirred it around…

 

 

Until all of it was combined.

 

 

Then, the next step is to temper the egg.  I poured a cup of the milk-cornmeal-molasses mixture, very slowly, into the beaten eggs, while stirring it around.  This way, the egg did not get cooked, since the hot liquid was introduced to it slowly.  If the egg had been added directly into the pot of the milk-cornmeal-molasses mixture, I might end up with a hot and sweet soup!  Or should it be egg-drop soup?

 

 

So now the egg mixture was ready to be put back into the pot.

 

 

I poured the egg mixture back into the pot slowly and stirred it while I was at it.

 

 

Then I added the sugar.

 

 

The spices…

 

 

Butter…

 

 

Stirred it around until all of the ingredients were incorporated.

 

 

Then poured the mixture into ramekins.

 

 

I ended up with 7 ramekins since my ramekins were about 4 ounce each.  Then I baked them until bubbly, which it only took me about 35 minutes.

 

 

You can see some of the bubbles in this picture below.

 

 

Up close and personal…

 

 

I let the puddings cool while we ate our dinner and then put a dollop of whipped cream and sprinkled nutmeg on top.

 

 

It was delicious.

 

Hubby said, “It tasted like pumpkin pie!”  Misa said, “It taste like flan, but better.”  So, if you crave for a pumpkin pie, but didn’t feel like making it, make this instead!  It can be served warm or cold, both taste delicious!  My friend Kelly attested to this.

So, thank you Aunt Bene, whoever you are!  🙂

Print recipe here.

Aunt Bene’s Indian Pudding
Recipe from Better Homes and Gardens Cookbook

Ingredients:
3 cups milk
1/3 cup molasses
1/3 cup yellow cornmeal
1 beaten egg
1/2 cup sugar
2 tablespoon of butter or margarine
1/2 tsp. ground ginger
1/2 tsp. ground cinnamon
1/4 tsp. salt
Whipped cream
Ground nutmeg

Preparation:
Preheat the oven to 300F.
In a large saucepan, heat the milk until nearly bubbly.  (Do not boil)
In a small bowl, stir together the molasses and cornmeal.  Carefully stir the molasses-cornmeal mixture into the hot milk.  Cook, stirring constantly, over medium heat for 5 to 10 minutes or until the mixture is slightly thickened.  Remove from heat.
Gradually stir about 1 cup of the hot mixture into the beaten egg.  Return all of the egg mixture to the saucepan.  Stir in the sugar, butter or margarine, ginger, cinnamon and salt.  Mix thoroughly.
Divide the mixture among 6 individual casseroles or six 6-ounce custard cups.
Bake in 300F oven for 30 to 45 minutes or until bubbly around the edges.  Serve warm or cool; dollop with whipped cream and a sprinkle of nutmeg.

Note:

Unlike some baked custard desserts, this pudding doesn’t need to be put in a pan of water for baking.  However, placing the individual casseroles in a 15 x 12 x 2 inch baking pan makes it easier to put them in and removed from the oven.

This recipe is lower in fat than many other baked puddings or custards because it contains fewer eggs. You can lower the fat content even further by using low-fat milk.

This entry was posted in Dessert, Food, Pudding and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

