Skillet Pork Chops

One night last week, I made pork chops for dinner.  This recipe was just what I created when I was in college.  It was simple, quick, and tasty as well.  This made me remember that I need to buy the Kikkoman’s Teriyaki sauce, since I used all of it when I made the pork chops last week.  Ok.  That has been added to the grocery list.

Back in college though, I used butterflied cut pork chops rather than the bone-in pork chops.  I don’t know why, but now I like the one with the bone-in better, maybe because I can gnaw on it… he he…  But then, back then I didn’t know any better.  Also, back then, I didn’t know how to stand up to people.  I know Hubby told me to let this go, but I’m going to put it down on writing, and then let it go.  How about that?  🙂

When we were in college, my family (my brother, future sis-in-law, and cousin and me of course) liked to invite people over to have BBQ.  Our standard of BBQ that was, such as chicken satay, shrimp satay, anything we could slide onto a skewer… 🙂   Not like the real BBQ brisket, ribs, or other type of BBQ that are known in Texas.  Of course, we also would have other food as well, in this case, my pork chops.  So, as I was cooking the pork chops and was browning the chops, one of my brother’s friends walked by.  And of course, he had to take a look at what I was cooking, and he said “Ha ha… burned pork chops!”  Grr… I was so annoyed, but I didn’t say anything.  I continued to finish cooking and then we sat down for dinner.  Then, that same person took a bite of the pork chops and said it was good!  Huh! Probably I should have thumped him on the head or something… but all of the pots and pans were used… so.. ha … I am sure my cousin remembers who I am talking about here, even without me naming names… 😉

Anyway, so, that was written down as a history, and now I should be able to tell the story without getting angry, and I probably should forgive that person.  See, there are certain stuff that I will remember forever, stuff that is not important like this one.  But then, when it comes to remembering the important stuff… I am hopeless!

Okay… let’s talk about pork chops.  The ingredients were very simple.  Pork chops, Teriyaki sauce, pepper, garlic powder, and green onion.  You can skip the green onion if you don’t like them.  I like them.  So I just added it in there.


I poured the Teriyaki sauce into a baking dish fit for three pork chops.

Sprinkled lots and lots of garlic powder… Can you tell that I love garlic?  I also added the black pepper at this time.

Then I put in the pork chops into the baking dish.

I also make sure the other side of the pork chops got some marinade as well.

Then I put the green onions on top.  I’m not really sure if the green onions added any flavor or not, but I meant to cook them as well.  I let the pork chops marinate for at least half an hour or so, flipping the other side of the pork chops at the halfway point of the marinating time.

Then I pulled out my cast iron skillet, heated it, and then poured in olive oil.

I turned down the heat until about medium heat, and then put the pork chops into the skillet.

Then, when I started seeing the red juices coming on top of the chops, I flipped them and cooked the other side.

Then, when the pork chops were done, I sauteed the green onions real quick.

I served the pork chops with boxed mac n cheese, and Roasted Green Beans and a small bowl of apple sauce for Hubby.  It was yummy and very tasty.  Now I have to shoot an email to my cousin and check with her if she remembers this dish…  🙂   Buon appetito!

Print recipe here.

Skillet Pork Chops

Ingredients:

Pork chops (either bone-in or boneless)
Teriyaki sauce
Garlic powder
Black pepper
Green onion

Preparation:

Marinate pork chops and cut up green onion with teriyaki sauce, garlic powder, and black pepper in a baking dish, or a ziplock bag for at least 20 – 30 minutes.
Cook in medium heat on a skillet for about 5-7 minutes on each side, or broil for 20 minutes, turned over pork chops after 10 minutes of cooking time to brown the other side.
Serve.

This entry was posted in Food, Pork and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

