Creamy Hot Cocoa

Last Friday, Houston got a nice surprise; well, it was not really a surprise.   Supposedly, the meteorologists were monitoring the weather all the time.   We got a cold front that brought down the temperature in the morning into high 40s.  Bbrrrrr!!!  Yes, bbrrrr!  Don’t be laughing at me, I came from the tropics.  You know, the place where they only have one season?  Hot weather mostly?  Once you are born and have lived in the tropics for almost half of your life, your blood is just not going to adjust to temperature swings really well, or at least, that is the case with me.  So I just have no idea how some of my friends can stay up north of the Mason-Dixie line and just bare the cold weather.  I just don’t have the gumption to live where you have to deal with snow for five to six months.  Even if that means I don’t get to make a snowman.

Anyway… so Friday morning, Hubby and I both went to the poll booth and cast our votes.  We actually got lucky, because Tuesday, the weather was very nasty after work and we would have got drenched had we waited to vote on Tuesday.  Probably get electrocuted too if we push those buttons with wet fingers…  Ha…  So, after that, I dropped Hubby off back at his office and I went back home.  I decided that Friday was just going to be my lazy day, and I would do nothing!  Plus I was kind of tired, having been back from Atlanta the night before for a two-days of training.  Man..  I’m getting old here!  It wasn’t like I was there for a week!

So, I got home to a chilly house, and decided that I would make some hot chocolate to warm my tummy up.  So I googled up “Hot Chocolate” and chose one of the recipes from allrecipes.com that got good ratings.  Milk, sugar, cocoa powder, vanilla, salt, water, half and half.  Those are needed to make a wonderful hot cocoa.

 

I dumped the cocoa powder into a small pan…

 

 

Then, I decided to cut down on the calories and used Splenda instead.  Instead of the 3 tablespoons of sugar, I just put in one packet of Splenda.

 

 

Sprinkled some salt…

 

 

Dropped in the water… by the way, I cut the recipe down into one serving.  After all, it was only for me…

 

 

Turned on the heat and stirred it around…

 

 

Simmered it for about 2 minutes.  I had to add more water than the scaled down measurement.. because the chocolate at that point was so thick.

 

 

Then I poured the milk…

 

 

Stirred it around again…

 

 

Dropped a splash of vanilla…

 

 

And poured into a mug…

 

 

I tasted it, and I added one more packet of Splenda…

 

 

Added the half and half…

 

 

And it was a perfect Hot Cocoa for a cold, chilly weather.  Creamy, chocolatey, not too sweet, it was just perfect.  Then I started to wonder… what would happen if I use baking chocolate rather than cocoa powder?  Hhmmm…….  Stay tuned!

 

 

Print recipe here.

Creamy Hot Cocoa

Recipe adapted from Jeanie Bean

Ingredients
1 tablespoon and 1 teaspoon unsweetened cocoa powder
2 packets of Splenda
1/4 pinch salt
1 tablespoon and 1 teaspoon boiling water
3/4 cup and 2 tablespoons milk
1/8 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 tablespoons half-and-half cream
Directions
This recipe’s ingredients were scaled to yield one serving.  To get the original recipe, click on the link to allrecipes.com above.

Combine the cocoa, sugar and pinch of salt in a saucepan.  Blend in the boiling water.  Bring this mixture to an easy boil while you stir.  Simmer and stir for about 2 minutes.  Watch that it doesn’t scorch.  Stir in milk and heat until very hot, but do not boil!  Remove from heat and add vanilla.  Pour into a mug.  Add the cream to the mugs of cocoa to cool it to drinking temperature.

This entry was posted in Chocolate and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Creamy Hot Cocoa

  1. wenny says:

    Mantap bgt!
    😄

    Like

Leave a Reply

