Tomato Basil Soup

I don’t know how Hubby came about with this recipe, but one day he talked about it, printed the recipe out, and we just got the ingredients, and made it!  That was that!  Actually, he saw something similar on the Cooking Channel, on a show called Jamie at Home.

But, instead of using the the cabbage, he decided to use a recipe with tomatoes.

The ingredients involved here were stale Italian bread, tomatoes, olive oil, garlic, salt, pepper, basil leaves, chicken broth and Parmesan cheese.  That’s it!  Plain and simple right?

 

I started by working on peeling the tomatoes.  I started to boil water in a medium pot, then I made a criss-cross cut on the tomatoes…  I used the same method that I used to peel the tomatoes for the Salsa Fresca.

 

Once the water boiled, I put in about four to five tomatoes at once.  I didn’t want to overcrowd the pot with tomatoes and lower the temperature.  What I wanted to do here is to blanch the tomatoes.

 

Within about 5 – 10 seconds, the tomato skin started to peel off.  Now this 5-10 seconds rule only works with room temperature tomatoes. If your tomatoes are cold, it will take longer. So probably it would be a good idea to take them out to room temperature about 30 minutes to an hour before you want to blanch them. Then I scooped the tomatoes out and put them into a bowl.  Now, the only difference here compared to the method I used for the Salsa Fresca, was that I did not stop the tomatoes from being cooked further by putting them into a bowl of iced water.  Since I was going to cook the tomatoes anyway, I just let them cooked.

 

Then, I started peeling the skin by pulling back the skins off the tomatoes.

 

Then, when I was done, I had a bowl of naked tomatoes… he he….

 

Then I cut them all into halves, and de-seeded the tomatoes.  I collected the seeds and any juice that came out into one bowl.

 

When I was done, then I strained the seeds and put the juice back into the bowl of tomatoes.

 

Then I sliced the bread…

 

Peeled the crust… This was hard!  I was tempted to use a knife to cut the crust off! Yes, it was that hard!

 

Then I started heating olive oil into a pot…

 

Dumped in the minced garlic…

 

I let it cook in medium heat until it smelled fragrant and brown a little bit.

 

Then I dumped the tomatoes and juice…

 

I let it boil…

 

Then I put the slices of bread on top of the tomatoes…

 

Poured in the chicken broth…

 

Salted and peppered it…

 

Simmered it for 40 minutes…

 

After 30 minutes of simmering, I added the basil leaves…

 

Stirred it around…  And voila! I had my soup ready!

 

I served it in a bowl, and added shredded Parm on top…  Hmm… yummo!!  Well, it was a very easy soup to make, very light in taste, and if you love tomatoes, you gotta try this.  If you don’t feel like messing with the skin, just use the canned version, and you got yourself a Tomato Basil Soup in no time.  So, no excuse right?  All right, see you next time!  Ciao!

 

Print recipe here.

Tomato Basil Soup

Recipe adapted from: CookingNook

Ingredients:
5 – 1/2″ slices Italian bread (ideally stale), crusts removed
3 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
6 garlic cloves, minced
2 pounds ripe plum tomatoes, peeled, seeded and juice reserved or 1 – 35 ounce can Italian plum tomatoes, diced and seeded, juices reserved
4 cups chicken stock
salt and black pepper
10 fresh basil leaves
extra virgin olive oil for drizzling
Shredded Parmesan cheese

Direction:

Preheat the oven to 375°F (only if you are using fresher bread).
If the bread is stale, just set it aside. If it is fresh, arrange the bread slices on a baking sheet and toast until they are light golden brown. Watch carefully so they don’t burn. Remove and set aside.
Heat the olive oil in a large pot over medium heat. Add the garlic and cook until it is golden, about 6 minutes.
Add the tomatoes and their juices to the pot. Bring to a boil, stirring occasionally. Add the toasted bread and stock and return to a boil. Season lightly with salt and pepper and adjust the level of heat to a simmer.
Cook, uncovered for about 40 minutes. After 30 minutes add the basil leaves. Whisk occasionally to break up the pieces of bread. Adjust the seasoning if needed.
Serve with extra virgin olive oil drizzled over and shredded Parmesan cheese.
Makes 8 servings

Cooking Tips

Variation:

If you want a smooth soup, remove the garlic cloves and basil leaves. Then pulse it all in a blender until it is the consistency you desire.

This entry was posted in Food, soup and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tomato Basil Soup

  1. leashieloo says:

    Looks delish! Nothing like soup on a cold fall day.

    Like

Leave a Reply

