Orange-Almond Cake with Honey Syrup

You know, I originally created this blog to document my baking experiences.  Well, if you look at the Visual Archives, most of the posts in here are not about baking or sweets.  I have ended up cooking more than baking lately.  So, with the family reunion last weekend, I had an opportunity to bake a cake, plus, I had to use up some of the fresh, local honey I got from my ex-coworker, Frank.

We both used to work at the same company, until he decided to move onto bigger and better things.  A few years ago, I found out that Frank is a bee keeper.  He said his friend got him into this beekeeping thingy.  So, about a month ago, he and his friends were busy gathering the honey, and he ended up with about 400 – 8 ounces bottles of honey.

Well, Frank did not have that many co-workers in his new office who he could sell honey to.  So, he called me and asked me to help him out. So I did.  I never engaged in selling anything, but I enjoyed drafting the email to send out to my co-workers.  To entice them to buy honey, I pasted this Orange-Almond Cake with Honey Syrup recipe.  You would need to buy at least three bottles of honey for this cake!

So, before I started talking about how I made the cake, I wanted to share some pictures. This is Frank with his old group.

 

This is Frank with his honeys.

 

Okay… let’s talk about this cake. Well, I really did not need that many ingredients for this cake.  Although, one of the ingredient is an unusual ingredient found in a cake.  Cream of wheat (Farina)!  Anyone out there has ever seen a cake made out of cream of wheat or farina?   Well, I never ate one, so I wasn’t sure what to expect out of this cake.  Let’s carry on.   The other ingredients were oranges, orange juice concentrate, all purpose flour, yogurt, baking soda, baking powder, sliced almonds, and honey.

 

I first measured out the Cream of Wheat into a mixing bowl.

 

Then I added the baking powder.

 

Then the baking soda was next.

 

Then I added the flour.

 

Mixed them all up, and set it aside.

 

Then in another bowl, I poured the yogurt.

 

Then I added the honey…

 

Then I added the thawed orange juice concentrate.

 

Zested a whole orange…

 

Then I whisked and mixed them all up.

 

Then I poured the liquid mixture into the dry mixture.

 

Stirred it up… The batter was really heavy and very thick.

 

Then I added the slivered almonds…  On some of them, I crusted the slivered almonds with my hand, just to give it a smaller crunch.

 

Then I poured the batter into a greased bundt pan and baked it.

 

While the cake was baking, I went ahead and made the honey syrup.  I poured some honey into a medium pot.

 

Then I poured the orange juice that I made from the orange juice concentrate.

 

Stirred it until it boiled, and then simmered it for about five minutes and set it aside.

 

This is how the cake looked like when it was done (I baked it about 40 minutes, and I thought it was a little on the brown side).  So I need to check it when it hit the 35 minutes mark… see if I can bake it with less time…

 

Then, I used a toothpick to poke lots of holes.  Although, next time I probably need to use a skewer so I could reach the bottom of the pan.  The tooth pick is too short to reach to bottom of the pan, which the syrup could not reach the bottom of the pan, and the bottom part of the cake was a little dry.

 

Then I poured the syrup all over the cake…

 

Yes, I was worried that the syrup would not go down…

 

By the next morning, the syrup was all absorbed by the cake.

 

Then I flipped it and plopped the cake onto a plate.

 

You can see from this picture below, that the top of the cake (which is the bottom of the bundt pan) was a little dryer compare to the bottom portion of the cake.

 

It was a yummy, dense, not overly sweet (which is surprising for the amount of honey I used on this cake!), and … maybe healthier cake ?  I’m not sure.  So, the next time you see honey for sale, grab some and make this cake and let me know if you like it or not. 🙂  Until next time!  Ciao!

 

Print recipe here.

Orange-Almond Cake with Honey Syrup
Recipe from: Golden Blossom Honey

Ingredients

Cake:
3 cups of uncooked farina, such as Cream of Wheat – 10 minute cook time style (found in the hot cereal section)
1/2 cup flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
2 cups plain low-fat yogurt
1 1/2 cups GOLDEN BLOSSOM HONEY
4 tablespoons frozen orange juice concentrate, thawed
grated zest of one orange
1/2 cup blanched slivered almonds, coarsely chopped

Syrup:
1 1/2 cups GOLDEN BLOSSOM HONEY
1 1/2 cups orange juice

Directions
Preheat oven to 350 °. Grease a 10-inch bundt pan, or coat with baking spray.

Cake:
In a large bowl, sift together farina, flour, baking powder and soda.
In a medium bowl whisk together yogurt, honey, orange juice concentrate and grated zest. Stir into farina mixture until combined. Add chopped almonds and stir well. Pour into prepared pan. While cake is baking prepare syrup, see directions below.
Bake cake 40 – 45 minutes until golden brown. Remove to a rack. Poke lots of holes into top of cake with a toothpick. Pour syrup over cake in pan. Let sit in pan overnight. If necessary use a knife to loosen sides of cake from pan. Turn out onto a cake plate.

Syrup:

While cake is baking prepare syrup. In a medium saucepan combine 1 1/2 cups honey with 1 1/2 cups orange juice. Bring to a boil and simmer at a low boil for 5 minutes. Remove from heat. Skim off any foam.

Serves: 8-12

This entry was posted in Cake, Dessert, Food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

