Buttermilk Biscuits. No, Yeast Rolls. No, Buttermilk Biscuits!

Well!  I feel cheated!  I made these wonderful tasting biscuits, only to find out that they were not Buttermilk Biscuits, but they were actually yeast rolls!  Paula Deen!!!  *Sigh*….  Yes, it was Paula Deen’s recipe, and no butter involved.  Can you believe it?  Okay, the result of the recipe was very good.  Even better if you have some honey to squirt on the biscuit or rolls or whatever.

I brought one to work (for me to eat of course) and I ended up telling a story that I made it with yeast.  And Rhonda, my boss and my distant family (long story), heard that I said yeast and said, “If it has yeast in it, then it is a yeast roll, not biscuits!”  Everyone else agreed with her, but then, they also commented that the concoction of flour and shortening I brought looked like a biscuit, not a yeast roll.  So… whatever… I think I might just call it “It”.  How about that?

That got me to look up what are biscuits.  Well, Wikipedia has a very interesting article, especially if you did not grow up here.  No wonder I am so messed up!  Okay, biscuit originally means twice baked goods (the word derived from bis and coquere in Latin).  Keep in mind when you’re reading Wikipedia’s articles that you need to read it with a grain of salt.  You might find different resources that have different/similar meaning or translations.  So, a long, long time ago, biscuits mean those hard, dry, twice-baked goods that supposedly last for awhile (years) and will travel well.  Roman soldiers carried them, Egyptian sailors got them, and you got the picture.

Then, the more modern world adopted the term, and refer to biscuits as those hard, thin, twice baked goods, which we here (in U.S.) refer to as crackers or cookies.  Then, Wiki also said that the Dutch has this term koekje, or small cake.  It’s confusing.  I know.  Then the Europeans and the English began to migrate to US, and both used the different terms.  In defiance to the British Empire, US settlers chose the word “cookie” to refer to the twice baked goods, rather than the biscuits.  Biscuits in the U.S. then refers to the small quick bread.

Phew!  So, a tiny word and such a complicated history behind it!  I suggest that you read the Wikipedia article to understand it better, and if you would like to read more, also try this site.

Now, to biscuits or rolls or “It” making…  Flour, baking powder, baking soda, sugar, salt, yeast, water, shortening, and buttermilk were all this “It” required.  Oh all right, it is weird to call it “It”.  I’m going to be hard headed and call it biscuits, since it is stuck in my head.  Period.

 

I didn’t have buttermilk, so I made my own buttermilk.  I put a tablespoon of vinegar into a measuring cup.

 

Then, I filled up the cup with whole milk to the one cup measurement.  Stirred it around, and I let it sit there for at least 5 minutes.  Since the recipe asked for 2 cups, I made another cup.

 

Then, I prepared the yeast by pouring it into luke warm water and let it bubble.

 

Then I grabbed my big mixing bowl, and measured out 5 cups of flour.  Dang!  Now I had to add all-purpose flour to my grocery list, because those biscuits did not leave me much flour in my inventory!

 

Then I added the baking soda…

 

Baking powder…

 

Salt…

 

Sugar…

 

Then I whisked it to scatter these additions into the flour.

 

Then I dropped in the shortening.

 

And I used my pastry cutter to cut the shortening into the flour.

 

Then, I poured the activated yeast into the flour bowl.

 

Then I poured the buttermilk into the flour mixture.  Although, this step made me wonder if I didn’t kill the yeast since the buttermilk was still kinda cold…?  So, next time I need to warm up the buttermilk a little bit more by taking it out of the fridge earlier.

 

I stirred it around with a wooden spoon until all was incorporated, but like any other quick bread, I didn’t over stir it.  Overstirring would leave me with hard biscuits.  At this time, batter looked really wet.

 

Then I floured my cutting board…

 

Dumped the dough on to the cutting board.

 

I patted the dough with my floured palms into about maybe 1/3 inch thick of dough… I did not manhandle the dough too much, since I wasn’t supposed to do that.  It might make hard and tough biscuits if I manhandled it too much.

 

And I used the round biscuit cutter to cut the dough.  Next time I think I’ll just use the pastry scraper and cut it into squares.

 

I transferred the biscuits onto a sprayed cookie sheet.

 

And they were ready to be baked!  I only baked one of the trays of biscuits and froze the rest of them.  I will be enjoying them soon, and perhaps, I will prepare more of them ahead of time for when the boys come here for Thanksgiving!

 

And I apologize I did not have pictures of the final product other than this one.  I was in a hurry.  You will see why in my next few posts.  But when I bake the frozen batch, I’ll be sure to add the pictures here.  Pinky swear!

 

The biscuits were very yummy.  Top it off with melted butter, smear it with cream gravy, or just drizzle it with honey, and you will find yourself looking for a second biscuit to eat.  Just remember, what tastes good on your lips, it is bad for your hips!  Happy eating! 🙂

Print recipe here.

Basic Biscuits

Recipe from: Paula Deen, via Food Network

Ingredients:
1 package yeast
1/2 cup lukewarm water
5 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 tablespoon baking powder
2 tablespoons sugar
3/4 cup solid shortening (recommended: Crisco)
2 cups buttermilk

Instructions:
Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Dissolve yeast in warm water; set aside. Mix dry ingredients together. Cut in shortening. Add yeast and buttermilk and mix well. Turn dough onto lightly floured surface and roll out to desired thickness. Cut with small biscuit cutter and place on greased baking sheet. Bake for 12 minutes or until golden brown.

This entry was posted in Bread, Food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

