Warm French Potato Salad

In the previous post I mentioned that we were having the Grilled Flank Steak for dinner.  You know what goes really well with beef?   Potato!  Hubby found this simple recipe from Amazingribs.com.

Potatoes, olive oil, herbs, salt and pepper, and goat cheese (optional), those were all I  needed to make this Potato Salad.  Very simple!

First I cut up the potatoes…

Then we boiled them up… (Did you notice the shift from first-person singular personal pronoun to first-person, plural personal pronoun?)  This is because I was supposed to be in charge of the potatoes, but then, Hubby took it over!  Not that I was complaining… 🙂

Then, while I was not ready with the camera, Hubby went ahead and poured the olive oil into the bowl. Then I snuck in and sprinkled the dried thyme.  You know, I was actually eyeballing the fresh thyme at the grocery store, but I didn’t get it since I haven’t come across any recipes with thyme that I wanted to try.  Thyme reminded me when Elly was here, I dragged her to the big HEB to get some tortilla chips and sausage.  At the time, the big HEB had herbs plants for sale.  Out of curiosity, I pinched a little of the leaves to smell it, and I liked the smell.  It reminded me of a certain food, but for the heck of it, I just could not remember what it was.  Even today.  Yeah… my memory is going…  Sadly to say, I have lots of those moments…

So anyway, when the potatoes were done, they were dumped into the bowl and mixed up with the oil and herbs.  At this time, we did not salt the potatoes since we were going to try the Smoked Salt (next post, I promise!) with it.

So we served it on our plate, topped it off with a little bit of goat cheese, and sprinkled it with some of the Smoked Salt.  Plain and simple!  You can’t beat that right?

Print recipe here.

Warm French Potato Salad
Recipe from: Amazingribs.com

Ingredients
2 pounds new potatoes or other waxy potatoes
1/2 teaspoon table salt
2 tablespoons fresh thyme leaves
1/3 cup of your best extra-virgin olive oil
1/4 teaspoon large-grain salt such as sea salt

Note. Thyme is my fave for this recipe, but it works great with other green herbs such as oregano, chives, green onions, and basil.

Note. You can substitute melted butter if you wish.

Optional. Put a heaping teaspoon of fresh creamy goat cheese on top of each serving.

Do this

1) Wash the potato skins thoroughly. If they come good and clean, you can leave them on, otherwise peel them off. Cut the potatoes into 1″ chunks and put them in a large pot. Cover them with cold water so they are at least 1″ below the surface. Bring to a boil with the cover off, add the salt, and then reduce to a simmer for about 15 minutes until they are tender. Drain.

2) Put the oil and thyme into a large bowl and mix. Add the warm potatoes to the bowl and coat them with the oil. If you are not going to serve them right away you can chill them, but the oil will clump, so bring them to room temp before serving. Just before serving, sprinkle on the sea salt. You can add the salt earlier, but it will dissolve. The taste will be just fine, but if you salt just before serving you’ll have some crunch and bursts of salt flavor, sort of like pretzels. Now where’s my beer?

This entry was posted in Food, Potato and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

