Parmesan Chicken

After Elly, my best bud left us, our house felt really quiet.  You know the feeling of that  emptiness in the house after your friend or your family has left.  I was mopping around, feeling sorry for myself.  My fingers were itching to dial the phone to talk to Elly, but I contained myself.  After all, Elly needed some time with her own family… Sigh…  The cats on the other hand, really enjoyed the free access to the guest room.  They promptly propped themselves up on the guest bed and enjoyed a quiet and leisurely nap.

Sunday night, we were eating left overs from the night before.  So for Monday’s dinner, I was planning on cooking some kind of fish.  When I got home, Hubby asked me, “What’s for dinner?”  And I said “Fish!”  Hubby said “What kind of fish?”  I said, “Mahi-mahi!”  Then Hubby said, “And why would I want to eat fish?” Hmm… he was not cooperating here!  So I told him that we had been eating a lot of meat and we need to eat a lighter meal – you know, balance it out.  He chose salad instead of the Mahi-mahi…

Do you know that Mahi-mahi means something?  It means “very strong” in Hawaiian.  Actually the word “mahi” means strong.  So, Mahi-mahi mean strong strong.  I like this!  This repeating word has a similar characteristic with Indonesian language.  For example, human in Indonesian is “orang.”  To say people, we just say, “orang-orang.”  Very simple right?  Very easy vocabulary, not confusing like English!  Instead of creating a new word, we just repeat it!  🙂

So, anyway… I scrambled around in the back of my head, what kind of protein we would eat with our salad.  Hubby is a steak and potato man, he cannot eat just salad (well, he could, but he would end up hungry and then eat everything in sight – that might include our cats!  🙂  Just kidding!).  Then I remember Elise has this Parmesan Chicken recipe that I had not tried.

I dug out the print-out, and started gathering my ingredients: chicken breasts, garlic, parmesan, butter, bread crumbs, parsley, garlic salt, herb mix (Elise’s recipe mentioned Italian seasoning, but I didn’t have it, so I just used whatever herbs I had in my spice shelf), and salt and pepper.

First I rinsed off the chicken and patted them dry.  Then, I cut them up about one inch squares.

Then I minced the garlic, and combined it with melted butter.

Then, I poured bread crumbs into a bowl…

Then I added the shredded Parmesan cheese…

Added the salt, garlic salt, and pepper and the bunch of different dried herbs (I used parsley, oregano, basil, thyme, rosemary, and onion powder).

Mixed them all up, and then I added a pinch of red pepper flakes…

Then lastly, I added the chopped fresh parsley…

Mixed them all up…

I sprayed the baking pan with cooking spray, and arranged the assembly line…

Then, I dipped in the chicken in the garlic butter mixture, which smelled wonderful (that is, if you like garlic…  I like it a lot!!).

After that,  then I dipped the chicken in the bread crumb mixture…

And placed the chicken into the baking pan.

I tried to make sure that each piece of chicken did not touch each other, and there was space in between the pieces.  I should have used the bigger baking pan!

When I was done, I drizzled the remaining garlic butter mixture on top of the chicken…

Then I threw (not literally) the baking pan into the oven, and baked it for about 15 minutes (according to the recipe) or until the chicken was browned.  I think I baked mine about 30-35 minutes, because I want that browned crusty look.  For some reason, the 15 minutes did not brown the chicken, probably because I squeezed all the chicken pieces so close to each other.  So next time, I definitely will use the bigger baking pan, perhaps that will take care of the baking time.

It was yummy and delicious.  I know, it is redundant, but I can’t help it.  Anyway, very easy and quick Parmesan Chicken !  I could not stop eating them and finally had to stop myself from finishing the last three pieces!  Thanks Elise!  You saved my bacon again!  🙂

Print recipe here.

Parmesan Chicken
Recipe from: Simply Recipes

Ingredients

1 clove garlic, minced
1 stick unsalted butter (1/2 cup or 1/4 pound), melted
1 cup dried bread crumbs
1/3 cup grated Parmesan cheese (or 2/3 cup if you are using a Microplane zester)
2 Tbsp chopped fresh parsley
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon garlic salt
A large pinch of Italian seasoning (herb mix)
1/8 teaspoon ground black pepper
2 lbs of skinless, boneless, chicken meat, cut into pieces no larger than 2×2 inches

Method

1. Preheat oven to 450°F. Pat the chicken pieces dry with paper towels.

2. In a bowl, combine the minced garlic with the melted butter. In another bowl mix together the bread crumbs, Parmesan, parsley, salt, garlic salt, Italian seasoning, and pepper. Dip chicken pieces into garlic butter, then into crumb mixture to coat.

3. Place coated chicken pieces on to a 9×13 baking dish. Try to leave a little room between each piece. Drizzle with remaining garlic butter and bake uncovered 15 minutes, or until chicken is cooked through and juices run clear. Note that the chicken will get much more browned on the bottom side than on the top.

Serves 4-6.

Parmesan Chicken Recipe
Recipe from: Simply Recipes
http://simplyrecipes.com/recipes/parmesan_chicken/

Ingredients:
1 clove garlic, minced
1 stick unsalted butter (1/2 cup or 1/4 pound), melted
1 cup dried bread crumbs
1/3 cup grated Parmesan cheese (or 2/3 cup if you are using a Microplane zester)
2 Tbsp chopped fresh parsley
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon garlic salt
A large pinch of Italian seasoning (herb mix)
1/8 teaspoon ground black pepper
2 lbs of skinless, boneless, chicken meat, cut into pieces no larger than 2×2 inches

Method

1. Preheat oven to 450°F. Pat the chicken pieces dry with paper towels.
2. In a bowl, combine the minced garlic with the melted butter. In another bowl mix together the bread crumbs, Parmesan, parsley, salt, garlic salt, Italian seasoning, and pepper. Dip chicken pieces into garlic butter, then into crumb mixture to coat.
3. Place coated chicken pieces on to a 9×13 baking dish. Try to leave a little room between each piece. Drizzle with remaining garlic butter and bake uncovered 15 minutes, or until chicken is cooked through and juices run clear. Note that the chicken will get much more browned on the bottom side than on the top.
Serves 4-6.

This entry was posted in Chicken, Food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

