Banana Nut Bread

Awhile back, my teeny tiny grocery store had bananas on sale.  They crammed about 10-12 bananas into a plastic bag, and marked it with a Quick Sale label and put a $0.99 price on it.  Well, I stared at the bags and finally decided to get one.  Crazy right?  But, who can resist to walk away from such cheap bananas?  I figured that we could eat them and freeze the rest of them.

So when I got home, I let the bananas sit in the Debbie Meyer’s green bag to prolong their life before I froze them.  Those green bags really work, although I like to use the hard green container ones for fragile berries.

I have read about making Banana Nut Bread using frozen bananas but, I had never actually made Banana Nut Bread using frozen bananas until recently.  My BFF was coming to visit and I had promised her that I would send her back home with Banana Nut Bread.  So, just in case we were having so much fun and I didn’t have time to make the Banana Nut Bread for her, I went ahead and made a batch… which, Hubby and I ended up eating some… and I ended up making some more when she was here…

I found the recipe several years ago from Michael Chu’s Cooking for Engineers blog.  It was easy, fast and delicious!  And I like Michael’s way of preparing the dry ingredients and wet ingredients.  I thought it was very neat, and I could technically become a Speedy Gonzales in making Banana Nut Bread!  “¡Ándale! ¡Ándale! ¡Arriba! ¡Arriba!” 🙂

The ingredients were very simple: bananas, walnut (or not, but then I’ll have to rename the bread to Banana Bread”), egg, butter, all purpose flour, baking soda, baking powder, sugar, salt, and vanilla.  Funky looking bananas, since the skin turned blackish!

Since Michael’s recipe involves grams, I used this kitchen scale which Hubby got me for one Christmas.  It was one of the best Christmas gifts he had ever given me!

So first I let the frozen bananas thaw at room temperature.  I also read that you can put them in warm water for 5 minutes, and the peel will soften and you can peel it easily.  Once they were thawed, I peeled the bananas and weighed them.  I spooned off the excess liquid coming out of the bananas, but I read that you can also left the liquid in there.  The banana looked really funky and brownish for me.

I used a fork to mash them up and I did not have to work really hard since the bananas were already really soft.

Then I added the melted butter into the mashed bananas…

And the teaspoonful of vanilla…

And mixed them all up.

I beat the two eggs together with a fork…

Then I added the beaten eggs into the banana mixture…

Stirred them around to incorporate them…

Then I started to work on my dry ingredients.  I weighed the all-purpose flour into my mixing bowl…

Then added the sugar…

Baking soda…

Baking powder…

And salt…

And whisked them all up.

Then I took about ¼ teaspoon of my flour mixture into my chopped walnut…

Then I stirred it around so the chopped walnuts were covered by the flour.  This is to prevent the chopped nuts from sinking to the bottom of the bread.

Then, I poured my banana mixture into the flour mixture.

I folded the banana mixture into the flour mixture, taking care to not overly mix the batter, otherwise I would have ended up with hard bread.

I folded the batter until I didn’t see anymore white flour in the batter.

Then I dumped in the chopped walnuts, folded them over the batter.

I lined up the muffin pans with muffin papers.

Then I scooped the batter into the muffin pans, filled them up about ¾ way full.  I ended up only with 11 muffins.

Then I baked them for 20 – 22 minutes, or until the top were golden brown.

Aren’t they pretty?

Well, I did a taste test the next morning, (I baked the Banana Nut Bread the night before), and it tasted just fine, frozen bananas or not.  🙂  Moist, sweet, but not overly sweet, crunchy on the nut part, just perfect for a light breakfast or a light snack!

Thank you Michael for sharing your recipe! 🙂  It was definitely  a keeper!

Oh, and my girlfriend?  I ended up doubling the recipe and making hers into 5 mini loafs since I was out of muffin paper, and her family already ate 3 loafs the same night she got back home!  I miss you already Elly! Come back soon!

Print recipe here.

Banana Nut Bread
Recipe from Cooking for Engineers

Ingredients:
2 large (250 g) ripe bananas
6 Tbs. (90 mL) butter
1 tsp. (5 mL) vanilla extract
2 large eggs
1-1/3 cups (167 g) all-purpose flour
2/3 cup (130 g) sugar
1/2 tsp. (2.3 g) baking soda
1/4 tsp. (1.2 g) baking powder
1/2 tsp. (3 g) salt
1/2 cup (70 g) chopped walnuts

Preparation:

Mash the bananas with a fork.  Melt the butter in a separate bowl, add the vanilla and incorporate with the mashed bananas.
Beat the eggs lightly and add to the banana mixture.
Add all the dry ingredients except chopped walnuts and whisk well.
Add a little flour mixture into the chopped walnuts, stir until walnuts are covered with flour mixture.
Pour banana mixture into the flour mixture, fold until incorporated.
Fold the chopped walnuts into the batter.

Pour into muffin pans, bake at 350F for 20-22 minutes.
Pour into mini loafs, bake at 350F for 40 minutes.
Pour into loaf pan, bake at 350F for 55 minutes.

Let cool for a few minutes (for muffins) or ten minutes (for loaf pan) on the pan.
Then remove the bread from the pan into wire rack to cool completely.

—– Original Message —–

From: Anny Page
Sent: Monday, September 27, 2010 4:50 PM
Subject: Re: Please proof: banana nut
—– Original Message —–
Sent: Monday, September 27, 2010 4:22 PM
Subject: Please proof: banana nut

Banana Nut Muffin…Bread….Muffin…

Awhile back, my teeny tiny grocery store had bananas on sale.  They crammed about 10-15 bananas into a plastic bag, and marked it with a Quick Sale label and put a $0.99 price on it.  Well, I stared at the bags and finally decided to get one.  Crazy right? But, who can resist to walk away from such cheap bananas?  I figured that we could eat them and freeze the rest of them.

So when I got home, I let the bananas sit in the Debbie Meyer’s green bag to prolong their life before I froze them.  Those green bags really work, although I like to use the hard green container ones for fragile berries.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Debbie_Meyer_Green_Bags

I have read about making Banana Nut Bread using frozen bananas but, I had never actually made Banana Nut Bread using frozen bananas until recently.  My BFF was coming to visit and I had promised her that I would send her back home with Banana Nut Bread.  So, just in case we were having so much fun and I didn’t have time to make the Banana Nut Bread for her, I went ahead and made a batch… which, Hubby and I ended up eating some… and I ended up making some more when she was here…

I found the recipe several years ago from Michael Chu’s Cooking for Engineers blog.  It was easy, fast and delicious!  And I like Michael’s way of preparing the dry ingredients and wet ingredients.  I thought it was very neat, and I could technically become a Speedy Gonzales in making Banana Nut Bread! “¡Ándale! ¡Ándale! ¡Arriba! ¡Arriba!” J

http://www.cookingforengineers.com/recipe/108/Banana-Nut-Bread

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Speedy_Gonzales

The ingredients were very simple: bananas, walnut (or not, but then I’ll have to rename the bread to Banana Bread”), egg, butter, all purpose flour, baking soda, baking powder, sugar, salt, and vanilla.  Funky looking bananas, since the skin turned blackish!

Since Michael’s recipe involves grams, I used this kitchen scale which Hubby got me for one Christmas.  It was one of the best Christmas gifts he had ever given me!

So first I let the frozen bananas thaw at room temperature.  I also read that you can put them in warm water for 5 minutes, and the peel will soften and you can peel it easily.  Once they were thawed, I peeled the bananas and weighed them.  I spooned off the excess liquid coming out of the bananas, but I read that you can also left the liquid in there.  The banana looked really funky and brownish for me.

I used a fork to mash them up and I did not have to work really hard since the bananas were already really soft.

Then I added the melted butter into the mashed bananas…

And the teaspoonful of vanilla…

And mixed them all up.

I beat the two eggs together with a fork…

Then I added the beaten eggs into the banana mixture…

Stirred them around to incorporate them…

Then I started to work on my dry ingredients.  I weighed the all-purpose flour into my mixing bowl…

Then added the sugar…

Baking soda…

Baking powder…

And salt…

And whisked them all up.

Then I took about ¼ teaspoon of my flour mixture into my chopped walnut…

Then I stirred it around so the chopped walnuts were covered by the flour.  This is to prevent the chopped nuts from sinking to the bottom of the bread.

Then, I poured my banana mixture into the flour mixture.

I folded the banana mixture into the flour mixture, taking care to not overly mix the batter, otherwise I would have ended up with hard bread.

I folded the batter until I didn’t see anymore white flour in the batter.

Then I dumped in the chopped walnuts, folded them over the batter.

I lined up the muffin pans with muffin papers.

Then I scooped the batter into the muffin pans, filled them up about ¾ way full.

Then I baked them for 20 – 22 minutes, or until the top were golden brown.

Aren’t they pretty?

Well, I did a taste them the next morning, (I baked the Banana Nut Bread the night before), and it tasted just fine, frozen bananas or not. J

Thanks Michael for sharing your recipe! J It was definitely  a keeper!

Oh, and my girlfriend?  I ended up making hers into 5 mini loafs since I was out of muffin paper, and her family already ate 3 loafs the same night she got back home!  I miss you already Elly! Come back soon!

Print recipe here.

Banana Nut Bread

Recipe from Cooking for Engineers

http://www.cookingforengineers.com/recipe/108/Banana-Nut-Bread

Ingredients:

2 large (250 g) ripe bananas

6 Tbs. (90 mL) butter

1 tsp. (5 mL) vanilla extract

2 large eggs

1-1/3 cups (167 g) all-purpose flour

2/3 cup (130 g) sugar

1/2 tsp. (2.3 g) baking soda

1/4 tsp. (1.2 g) baking powder

1/2 tsp. (3 g) salt

1/2 cup (70 g) chopped walnuts

Preparation:

  1. Mash the bananas with a fork.  Melt the butter in a separate bowl, add the vanilla and incorporate with the mashed bananas.
  2. Beat the eggs lightly and add to the banana mixture.
  3. Add all the dry ingredients except chopped walnuts and whisk well.
  4. Add a little flour mixture into the chopped walnuts, stir until walnuts are covered with flour mixture.

This entry was posted in banana, Bread, Food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Banana Nut Bread

  1. leashieloo says:

    As usual, those look amazing 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

