Chocolate Caramel Crispy Cakes

Last Thursday was a dedicated snack day at my office.  From time to time, we would have a snack day, just because…  No reason needed.  One day we did it because all of the bosses were out of town for business.  Yeah!  Let’s party when no one is breathing down your neck to see what you’re doing… ha ha… just kidding!  Actually, I have to say we have very good managers and directors to work with.  But last Thursday, we did it to celebrate Mary’s birthday.  Mary is our Administrative Assistant.  She put up with our childish requests such as: “we are out of paper Mary!, where are the envelopes?, can you order 2 boxes of this folder?  We need it by tomorrow…, do you have any more paper clips?”  Yeah, we are pretty spoiled.  That’s why we spoil Mary from time to time.  Last week was just the perfect week for it.  Her birthday was actually Tuesday, but since the bosses were out of town again, we decided to wait until Thursday.

Now, Mary loves corn flakes for her breakfast.  I know this for a fact, since I sit right there in front of her.  Most mornings she would bring corn flakes and eat them there at her desk.  So, when I got the email announcement that we will have a Snack Day for Mary, my light bulb got turned on.  Corn flakes!  I know the perfect recipe to make snacks out of corn flakes!  Chocolate Caramel Crispy Cakes by Nigella Lawson!

I found the recipe when I was studying Nigella’s Triple Chocolate Brownies, and there at the bottom of the page, it listed other goodies she made during that episode.  One of them was this corn flakes recipe.  It is soooo easy.  Here we go; I needed corn flakes, Milky Way candybars, and butter.  Simple enough?

 

First I broke off, or the correct term was, sliced the Milky Way candy.  I was being a neat freak at the time… I don’t know what I was thinking at the time, since that means I had to wash the knife!

 

Then, I added the butter.  I think the purpose of the butter here is to help you melt the candy into a more liquidy texture.

 

I turned on the burner on low heat.  Then, basically I just stirred the candy and butter into a messy chocolate/caramel/nougat mixture.  Speaking of nougat, this is the last thing to melt.  You can see it in the picture below, the white streaks in the mixture were the melted nougat, or not quite melted nougat.

 

I kept stirring the mixture until I could not see anymore streaky nougat.

 

Then I dumped the corn flakes into the pot.

 

Then, slowly using a spatula, I folded over the melted candy and the corn flakes.  I tried to cover the corn flakes with the candy mixture as much as I could.

 

Then I scooped a teaspoon of corn flakes coated candy into a mini muffin paper.

 

And then when it was all said and done, I put them into the refrigerator to let the melted candy set.  Nigella’s recipe said that it makes about 40 cakes; I came up with only 20 something cakes.  I doubled the recipe to come up with a whole tray of cookie sheet.

 

Pretty easy right?

 

Sweet, crunchy, caramelly, and delicious!

 

And Mary?  She was delighted with this treat! 🙂

Print recipe here.

Chocolate Caramel Crispy Cakes

Recipe courtesy Nigella Lawson, via Food Network
(Copyright 2004, Feast, Hyperion, All Rights Reserved)

Ingredients:

4 (2-ounce) chocolate candy bars (recommended: Mars Bars or Milky Way)
1/2 stick unsalted butter
2 1/2 cups crunchy sweetened corn cereal (recommended: Cornflakes)
mini muffin papers

Directions

Break the candy bars into bits and drop them into a saucepan. Add the butter and melt, over lowish heat, stirring frequently with a rubber spatula. When everything is melted (the nougat-like layer takes the longest to go), tip in the cereal and turn them, with your rubber spatula, in the chocolate mixture until they are all pretty well coated.

Fill the mini muffin papers with the mixture and put in the refrigerator, on a small sheet pan or tray, for at least 1 hour.

This entry was posted in Food, snacks and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Chocolate Caramel Crispy Cakes

  1. That looks really neat ;] It reminds me of those no-bake oat cookies, but these look…shinier.

    Like

  2. Janeen says:

    Thanks for taking care of my mom. She loved these and made sure to send us the link to this recipe. I think that might have been a hint. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

