Papaya Salsa

In my previous post, I had mentioned serving the Grilled Swordfish with Papaya Salsa.  Hubby just happened to see this recipe when he was checking out what other marinade recipes out there for the swordfish.  In fact, this recipe is more for the Papaya Salsa than the swordfish.  And it happened that I just bought papaya when I went to the grocery store.

Do you know that papaya was first cultivated in Mexico?  I didn’t know that before.  Again… papaya is not a fruit of Indonesia origin… Now I wonder, what plant is actually of Indonesia origin?  I didn’t know that the seeds are edible (according to Wikipedia, sometimes the seeds are ground up to substitute black peppers.)  Interesting!  I know that you can eat the young leaves; back home, we would steam the leaves and ate it with sambal… yummy… 🙂  I encourage you to read more about papaya,  the Wikipedia page is very informative.

So back to Papaya Salsa making.  I needed a papaya, shallot, cilantro, and lime.

I diced up the papaya into tiny cubes…

I added the chopped cilantro…

Then I added the minced shallot…

Squeezed the lime…

Mixed them up.

And I got myself Papaya Salsa… easy right?

The Papaya Salsa was a nice addition to the fish, however, it lacked the crunch and that zing taste of red onion.  The shallot just did not do it on this recipe.  So, with the leftover, I added the chopped red onion, and it was just perfect!  Tasty, sweet, crunchy, and zingy.. ha ha..  So, try it and let me know if you like it!

Print recipe here.

Papaya Salsa
Recipe adapted from Cooks.com

Ingredients:

2 cups finely diced papaya
1 or 2 tbsp. finely diced cilantro (fresh)
1 or 2 minced shallots
1/4 cup diced red onion
½ or 1 lime, squeezed

Combine all ingredients, stir and let stand at room temperature for half an hour to an hour.

This entry was posted in Condiment, Food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

