Chicken Piccata

I don’t go out much, as some of you might already know.  So food knowledge is somewhat limited to what I have been exposed to before.  Well, some of my exposure came from Sam’s Club.  You know, the warehouse where you get your 36 rolls of toilet paper at one swoop.  Oh… let me rephrase that…  We don’t want to talk about toilet paper in a food blog right?  That is the other end of the spectrum of … never mind… Okay…  Sam’s Club is where you get 42 pouches of 0.9 oz Folger coffee at one swoop for a relatively cheaper price than the regular grocery store.  A gallon of Kraft mayonnaise for less than eight bucks, not that I ever get a gallon of mayo from them… it would last me three years if I do! A bottle of Tylenol that will last you a year, unless if you have to take the whole allowance of eight pills a day… Sorry!  I went off on a tangent…  My brain works that way.  Sometimes as hard as I tried to concentrate on a subject, my brain wanders and I start thinking about other stuff.  Anyway, I was just trying to show how much cheaper some of the goods that Sam’s carries compare to the regular grocery stores.

Okay, back to my food exposure.  Sam’s is where I first knew about the existence of Chicken Piccata.   They came in the frozen food section, so when you don’t feel like cooking anything, you can just pop this into an oven and you have dinner ready.  So when I saw Simply Recipes has this recipe, I was quite ecstatic, since I like Chicken Piccata.

So here we go. I needed chicken breasts, lemon juice, butter, Parmesan cheese, chicken stock, parsley, olive oil, salt and pepper, capers, and optional, dill.  I said optional since I forgot to add it.  🙂  Well, they were buried under the fluffy parsley, and I forgot about them until I was putting stuff away after I finished cooking.  Besides, I added that after I read the comments on Simply Recipes’s blog about this dish.  I know the ingredients seem extensive, but, I did not regret the outcome of this dish.  In fact, I can’t wait until I make this dish again.

First I butterflied the chicken breast.  I wanted them to be thin enough and not thick so they will cook evenly and fast.

And for a good measure, I pounded them with my meat mallet.

Then I poured the flour into a pie dish.

Then I grated some fresh Parmesan cheese.

Salted and peppered it, and mixed them around.

Then I dredged the chicken breast in the flour mixture.

When I did both sides of the chicken breast, then I set it aside and started working on the other one.

Then, I heated up some olive oil with butter.  I have to say that the butter really added the flavor to the chicken.

Then I put one chicken breast into the pan, and cooked it until it browned.

Then I turned the chicken breast over to brown the other side.  Once it was done, then I put them aside and started working on the drippings.

Then, in my bowl of chicken stock, I added the lemon juice.  This chicken stock was the leftover chicken stock when I made the Circassian Chicken Salad.  So, it was just perfect.  The recipe asked for half a cup, and I already had half a cup of chicken stock measured out and ready to be used.

Then I scooped out some capers out of the bottle and dumped them into the bowl…

Then, I poured this lemon-chicken stock-capers concoction to the pan…

Stirred the brown bits loose from the pan…

Then I added the two tablespoons of butter…

And I poured this drippings on top of the chicken and the Homemade Pasta

The chicken was good, very tasty and crunchy, along with the tangy taste of the lemon sauce.  The capers added a little bit saltiness to the dish that was just perfect.  Combined with the chewy, fresh homemade pasta, I was a very pleased cook that night. 🙂  Thank you Elise for sharing the recipe!

Enjoy!

Print recipe here.

Chicken Piccata
Recipe from: Simply Recipes
Ingredients:
2-4 boneless, skinless chicken breast halves
2 Tbsp grated Parmesan cheese
1/3 cup flour
Salt and pepper
4 Tbsp olive oil
4 Tbsp butter
1/2 cup chicken stock or dry white wine
3 Tbsp lemon juice
1/4 cup brined capers
1/4 cup fresh chopped parsley
Preparation:
1. Cut the chicken breast halves horizontally, butterflying them open.  If the breast pieces you are working with are large, you may want to cut them each into two pieces.  If the pieces are still thick after butterflying, put them between two pieces of plastic wrap and pound them with a meat hammer to 1/4-inch thickness.
2. Mix together the flour, salt, pepper, and grated Parmesan.  Rinse the chicken pieces in water. Dredge them thoroughly in the flour mixture, until well coated.
3. Heat olive oil and 2 tablespoons of the butter in a large skillet on medium high heat.  Add half of the chicken pieces, do not crowd the pan.  Brown well on each side, about 3 minutes per side. Remove the chicken from the pan and reserve to a plate.  Cook the other breasts in the same manner, remove from pan.  Cover with aluminum foil and keep warm in the oven while you prepare the sauce.
4. Add the chicken stock (or white wine), lemon juice, and capers to the pan.  Use a spatula to scrape up the browned bits.  Reduce the sauce by half.  Whisk in the remaining 2 tablespoons of butter.  Plate the chicken and serve with the sauce poured over the chicken. Sprinkle with parsley.

This entry was posted in Chicken, Food, Italian and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chicken Piccata

  1. What a great recipe and a very nice blog.

    Like

Leave a Reply

