Homemade Pasta

I saw this Homemade Pasta recipe from PW’s blog.  When I first saw the words “Homemade Pasta”, I thought, Homemade Pasta?  That sounds complicated, hard, and involves gruel and days of labor, right?  Well, not really, in fact, it was sooo easy.

Let me show you.  This was my second time making this homemade pasta recipe.  The first time I made it, I did not want to mess with the camera.  Especially when both of your hands would be messy.  So this time, I took the time to take pictures, so I could blog about it.

For this batch, I made extra pasta dough, because I wanted to try to freeze half of it.  The first time I made it, I only used 2 eggs and 1 cup of flour, and we ended up with leftover pasta enough for one person.  This time, I used 3 eggs and 1½ cup of flour.

I pulled out my medium metal bowl and poured the flour in it.

Then I made a small well and dropped in the eggs.

Then I started to mix the eggs and flour together.


After I got them mixed all together, I got a very wet dough.

I lightly floured my cutting board and dumped the dough there….

Then I started kneading the dough.  This dough was kneaded for about three minutes.  It was still coarse looking and not smooth, and it was still very sticky.

PW’s blog did not really say how long, but for a good measure, I kneaded it for about 10 minutes.  The dough at this point looked smooth and pliable.

Then I let it rest before I started to cut it.

I cut the dough into half, since I wanted to cook half for our dinner, and freeze the other half.  One thing I learned, I need to cover the dough with moist paper towel to prevent it drying out, or I guess I could wrap it in Saran wrap if I let it sit longer than the 10-15 minutes.

Then I used my rolling pin to flatten the dough.  I started from the center, and then pushed it toward the outside, and occasionaly turned the dough over.

I rolled the dough so thin that you can see the shadow of my cutting board on the pasta.  The pasta will plump up when I boil it, so I needed to roll it out as thin as I could make it.

See how thin the dough was?

Then, I sort of folded my dough into a letter with three folds, after dusting it with flour.  So I folded the top down, dusted with flour, and folded the bottom up.  Then, I used my cleaver to cut them up into the size I wanted.  Previously  I had used a pizza cutter.  But I found out that I could not cut the dough into straight lines, and the dough itself moved around as well.  Then I tried to used my hubby’s meat slicer; that did not go well nor fast enough for me.

After I finished cutting the the dough, I then unraveled the cut-up dough into long noodles.

Then I boiled some water for the pasta, added the salt and the olive oil.  Do you know, that adding oil doesn’t do anything to the pasta?  It doesn’t prevent the pasta from sticking to each other, since the oil usually just floats on top of the water.  I found this out when I was reading a cooking forum about cooking pasta recently, after I cooked this homemade pasta.  But I would think that the oil would add some flavor to the noodles, so out of a habit, I found myself still pour the oil to the pot when I am boiling pasta.

Then I dropped the pasta into the boiling pot of water.

See how the pasta just floated to the top?  I boiled the pasta for about 5 minutes.  PW’s recipe said 2-3 minutes cooking is enough for fresh pasta.  However, I found the 2-3 minutes boiling didn’t cook the pasta long enough.  Perhaps my pasta was not thin enough for the 2-3 minutes cooking.  Also, notice that the pasta was plumped up, they were not as thin as when I rolled them out.

Anyway, you now know how easy it is to make homemade pasta.  The pasta was chewy, tender, and fresh.  It tasted a whole lot better than a boxed pasta.

Also, I found out the frozen pasta were just as good as the fresh one.  Although, the look of the pasta was a little bit crinkly, because of the way it was stored.  I just put the pasta into a ziplock bag, and the pasta laid on top of each other, leaving marks along the pasta as they were frozen.  But, the taste was just as good.  So, I will be making more homemade pasta and freezing them!  Enjoy!

Print recipe here.

Homemade Pasta

Recipe from: Pioneer Woman

Ingredients:

2 large eggs
1 cup all-purpose flour

Preparation:

Rule of thumb: Two eggs per one cup of flour

Make a well in the center of your pile of flour and crack in your eggs. Slowly mix together with your hands. Turn it out onto a floured surface and knead (roll, punch, push, etc.) by hand until dough becomes smooth and pliable, adding flour to the board as necessary.

Let the dough rest for a little while before rolling it out. You can sort of figure on one egg per person to determine how much dough to make. Example: Two eggs and one cup of flour would make enough pasta dough for a dinner for two.

When you’re ready, roll it out on a floured surface as thinly as it’ll go. The noodles will plump up quite a bit when they boil in the water, so the thinner you can roll it, the better. Cut the noodles really thin. You can use a sharp knife (if you can keep it in a straight line), a pizza wheel, or a long pizza/bread cutter.

To cook the noodles, just boil them in salted water (very important!) for probably two minutes. They cook lightning fast, so don’t let ‘em go too long.

This entry was posted in Food, Pasta and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Homemade Pasta

  1. zerrin says:

    I do love homemade pasta more than packaged ones. I can almost feel the tempting smell of your noodles. It looks perfect! Thank you for giving these step by step pictures.

    Like

    • axokuaci says:

      Thanks Zerrin 🙂 I was really surprised how easy it was and how delicious the fresh pasta taste. Now I am working on to make wheat pasta and still scouring the gazillions recipe on the internet.
      Thanks for stopping by and have a great day!

      Like

  2. leashieloo says:

    I’ve always wanted to try this but it seemed so daunting. You make it look so simple! I will definitely try this out, I love homemade pasta!

    Like

  3. Lisa says:

    It looks pretty simple. I need to get a roller pin before trying it on my own. Thanks for showing this.
    I wonder if I can use the same recipe for dumpling wraps. My kids love to eat dumplings. The store bought wraps I found contain preservatives. It’ll be the best to have 100% homemade dumplings.

    Like

    • axokuaci says:

      Lisa, it was very simple and easy.  If you don’t have a rolling pin, I read online that you can you a bottle wine or something… Of course, it is probably easier to use a rolling pin.  I just did a quick search on the dumpling wrap, some recipe skip the egg and use water instead, and also added some salt.  So, let me know if you make some and I’ll come over to eat some of your dumplings. 🙂  If I remember… someone mentioned about setting aside some dumplings for me… but I never got to eat it… 😛

      Like

  4. Pingback: Tagliatelle with Chicken and Wild Mushrooms « All Kinds of Hungry

Leave a Reply

