Grilled Potatoes with Chive Sauce

I don’t exactly remember how I found Life’s Ambrosia’s food blog.  But one thing I remembered was her Grilled Potatoes with Chive Sauce.  It looked really good, and it looked really easy too.  So I printed off the recipe, and saved it until we made the Grilled Flank Steak last weekend.

I grabbed five red potatoes, green onion, salt, pepper, mayonnaise, sour cream and garlic powder.

First I measured out the mayonnaise into a medium bowl.

Then I added the sour cream…

Added some of the chopped green onions into the bowl and reserved some for garnish.

I salted and peppered it, as well as added the ½ teaspoon of garlic powder…

Then I mixed them all up.

Then I started to boil my sliced-thin-red-potatoes.

I poked the potatoes after boiling them for about 4 minutes, and I could feel that the potato was getting tender.  Then I drained the potatoes…

Dumped them into the mayo-sour cream mixture or chive sauce, after reserving ¼ cup of the mixture aside.  I got the potatoes all coated up with the chive sauce.  While I was looking at the picture, the potatoes kinda remind me of geisha.  Don’t ask me what is the correlation of potatoes and geishas.  I guess because the potatoes are all covered up in white sauce, it reminds me of how a geisha would prepare her make up.  Her face would be all covered up in white powder. So, there!  🙂

So then I heated up the griddle, and put my potatoes there.

Then in a few minutes, I turned the potatoes over, and I was mortified!  Burned potatoes!!!  I did not know that mayo and sour cream burn really fast on high heat.  Lesson learned here!  I turned down the heat, and did the other side real quick.  So, next time I need to boil the potatoes just a tad longer to make sure the potatoes are really cooked, and then just use the griddle part of it to brown them.  Luckily these potatoes were not really burned or charred; they just did not look that attractive.

So when it was all done, of course I put the potatoes with the worst look side down.  He he he…  Then, I smeared the rest of the chive sauce and sprinkled the remaining chopped green onion on top of the potatoes.

Despite their over-browned look, the potatoes tasted pretty good.  Potatoes and steak, you can’t beat that right?  Bon appetite!

Print recipe here.

Grilled Potatoes with Chive Sauce

Recipe from: Life’s Ambrosia

Ingredients:

5  medium red potatoes, sliced into 1/4 inch slices
1/3 cup mayonnaise
1/3 cup sour cream
2 tablespoons minced chives, plus more for garnish
1/4 teaspoon kosher salt, plus a pinch more
1/4 teaspoon pepper
1/2 teaspoon garlic powder

Preparation:

Place sliced potatoes in pot and cover with water. Bring to a boil and cook just until fork tender, 3 – 4 minutes. Drain.
In a bowl combine mayonnaise, sour cream, chives, salt, pepper and garlic powder. Mix well.
Preheat grill.
Reserve 1/4 cup of chive sauce. Dip boiled potatoes into remaining chive sauce, coat completely. Repeat until all potatoes are coated.
Place potatoes on the grill and cook until browned and tender.
Transfer to a plate. Sprinkle with kosher salt. Place a dollop of remaining chive sauce on each of the potatoes. Garnish with chopped chives.
Serve.

This entry was posted in Food, Potato, Side Dish and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

