Grilled Flank Steak

When I was at Sam’s Club two Fridays ago, I saw they were marking the price down on some of their meat.  One of them was flank steak.  We don’t usually eat flank steak, since my hubby’s favorite is ribeye steak.  But since I determined to have some variety in our dinner repertoire, I went ahead and got the flank steak, and froze it when I got home.

So, last weekend we decided that we would cook the flank steak.  I thawed the steak the night before, and Hubby went online to search for recipes.  He found it at Cooksrecipes.com.  So, he would be in charge of the cooking or grilling, while I was in charge of the marinating…  My job was easy!  🙂

The seasonings needed to make this Grilled Flank Steak were soy sauce, olive oil, lemon juice, salt and pepper, garlic, and red pepper flakes.

First I poured the olive oil into a medium bowl.

Then I added the soy sauce.  I used the low sodium soy sauce just because… I am not a total health freak, but I do think about the amount of sodium when I reach for a prepared food or prepared sauces.  If I could use one with lower sodium without messing up the flavor, why not?

Then I squeezed the lemon…

Dumped the minced garlic into the bowl…

Added the salt, pepper, and a pinch of the red pepper flakes.

Whisked them up real good…

Then I poured the marinade sauce into a ziplock baggie, where I already put in the flank steak.

Zipped it up, and off it went to the refrigerator to marinate for at least 4 hours.  Occassionaly I flipped the ziplock bag to the other side, to make sure the other side of the steak got marinated as well.

Oh… silly me… This step, scoring of the steak, was supposed to be done before you marinate the thing.  I forgot about it… So I asked Hubby to score it before he grilled it.

Then, came an half an hour or so before dinner time, Hubby threw the steak onto a hot grill.

And… Within ten minutes, Hubby came back with this piece of cooked steak.  Pretty good looking eh?

After letting it rest for 10 minutes, Hubby sliced them up nicely…

And we gobbled it up!  The marinade recipe was definitely a keeper.  It was flavorful, without it being too overpowering where you couldn’t taste the beef.

I served the flank steak with some Grilled Potatoes with Chive Sauce…it was yummy!  Enjoy!

Print recipe here.

Grilled Flank Steak
Recipe from: Cooksrecipes.com

Ingredients:
1 1/2 pounds flank steak
1/3 cup olive oil
1/3 cup soy sauce
Juice of 2 lemons
3 garlic cloves, finely minced
1/4 teaspoon
red pepper flakes
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/8 teaspoon pepper

Preparation:

Score both sides of meat with knife in diamond pattern at 1-inch intervals.
Whisk oil, soy sauce, lemon juice, garlic, pepper flakes, salt and pepper together in small bowl. Pour into plastic zip-lock style bag. Add steak; refrigerate for 4 hours or overnight, turning occasionally.
To cook, prepare outdoor grill with hot coals,or heat gas grill to hot. Remove steak from marinade; discard marinade.
Grill about 2 minutes per side or until grill marks appear. Move to cooler art of grill; cook covered, 12 minutes or until meat thermometer inserted in center of meat registers 145°F (approximately 60°C) for medium-rare. Let meat rest 10 minutes before slicing.
To Broil: Heat broiler. place steak on greased broiler-pan rack. Grill 4 inches from heat 4 minutes on each side for medium-rare.

This entry was posted in Beef, Food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

