Guacamole

Every food has a story right?  Well, maybe not, but this one does.  Sometimes last week, I had originally wanted to make Simply Recipes Morrocan Spiced Grilled Chicken Breasts for dinner.  So the night before, I was grabbing the ingredients to marinate the chicken breasts.  I put everything on the countertop, and lastly, I grabbed the yoghurt container from the refrigerator.  Something caught my eye that caused me to do a double take.  I looked aghast at the yoghurt container again, and I saw at the word “vanilla flavored” on the container.  Arrgh!!   The recipe calls for plain yoghurt.  There was no way that I would marinate chicken breasts in vanilla yoghurt.   Eeew!  So there went my plan to have Morrocan Spiced Grilled Chicken Breast for dinner.  So my exotic Morrocan dinner plan had to be switched.  I thought over what we had in the refrigerator, and decided that I would make the Grilled Chicken and Pineapple Quesadillas instead.  There!  From Morrocan to Mexican!  How about that?  Not that there is anything wrong with that…

Anyway… that’s how the Guacamole came into play.  I needed to have either Salsa Fresca or Pico de Gallo to go with the Quesadillas.  Since I did not have any, I had to make some.  So I made the Salsa Fresca and decided that since I had some avocados, and would also make some Guacamole.  So I looked up PW’s blog to look for her Guacamole recipe.  The ingredients were very simple!  Avocados of course, then, lime juice, salt, and Pico de Gallo.  Well, I was making Salsa Fresca, so I could use that instead of the Pico de Gallo.  Same difference right?  🙂

So I cut up my avocados and remove the seeds.

Then I scooped out the flesh with a spoon.

Mashed up the flesh with a fork, knife, mortar/pestle, whichever works.

Then I dumped in about half a cup of the Salsa Fresca into the bowl.

Squeezed the heck out of the lime…

Salt and peppered it a bit, and mixed it all up.

Then voila!  There you go!  I had myself a bowl of fresh guacamole!

It tasted like… well, avocados with chunk of tomatoes in it.  Ha ha.. It tasted all right that night, and this is one of those things that needs to sit a little bit, in this case, the Salsa Fresca.  If you have the time, make the Salsa Fresca ahead of time and let it sit and be merry, or just grab a tub of Pico de Gallo from the grocery store and you would not have my problem.  I had the guacamole the next day, and it definitely tasted better.  So I have to keep that in mind, make the Salsa Fresca ahead of time! Well, que bueno!  🙂

Print recipe here.

Guacamole
Recipe adapted from Pioneer Woman

Ingredients:

2 whole avocados
Half a cup of Pico de Gallo or Salsa Fresca
Lime Juice
Salt and Pepper to taste

Preparation:

Halve avocadoes lengthwise and remove the pits.  Next, with a spoon scrape the flesh out onto a large bowl.  Cut up the avocados with knife, mash up with a fork, making sure to leave it relatively chunky.  Add just a couple of shakes of salt and pepper to taste.  Next, add in the Pico de Gallo or Salsa Fresca.  Fold together.  Lastly squeeze the juice of half of a lime over the top.  Give it one last stir.

Guacamole

Every food has a story right?  Well, maybe not, but this one does.  Sometimes last week, I had originally wanted to make Simply Recipes Morrocan Spiced Grilled Chicken Breast for dinner.  So the night before, I was grabbing the ingredients to marinate the chicken breasts.  I put everything on the countertop, and lastly, I grabbed the yoghurt container from the refrigerator.  Something caught my eye that caused me to do a double take.  I looked aghast at the yoghurt container again, and I saw at the word “vanilla flavored” on the container.  Arrgh!!   The recipe calls for plain yoghurt.  There was no way that I would marinate chicken breasts in vanilla yoghurt.   Eeew!  So there went my plan to have Morrocan Spiced Grilled Chicken Breast for dinner.  So my exotic Morrocan dinner plan had to be switched.  I thought over what we had in the refrigerator, and decided that I would make the Grilled Pineapple and Chicken Quesadillas instead.  There!  From Morrocan to Mexican!  How about that?  Not that there is anything wrong with that…

Anyway… that’s how the Guacamole came into play.  I needed to have either Fresh Salsa or Pico de gallo to go with the Quesadillas.  Since I did not have any, I had to make some.  So I made the Fresh Salsa, and decided that since I had some avocados, and would also make some Guacamole.  So I looked up PW’s blog to look for her Guacamole recipe.  The ingredients were very simple! Avocados of course, then, lime juice, salt, and pico de gallo.  Well, I was making Salsa Fresca, so I could use that instead of the Pico de gallo.  Same difference right? J

So I cut up my avocados and remove the seeds.

Then I scooped out the flesh with a spoon.

Mashed up the flesh with a fork, knife, mortar/pestle, whichever works.

Then I dumped in about half a cup of the Salsa Fresca into the bowl.

Squeezed the heck out of the lime…

Salt and peppered it a bit, and mixed it all up.

Then voila!  There you go!  I had myself a bowl of fresh guacamole!

It tasted like… well, avocados with chunk of tomatoes in it.  Ha ha.. It tasted all right that night, and this is one of those things that needs to sit a little bit, in this case, the Salsa Fresca.  If you have the time, make the Salsa Fresca ahead of time and let it sit and be merry, or just grab a tub of Pico de gallo from the grocery store and you would not have my problem.  I had the guacamole the next day, and it definitely tasted better.  So I have to keep that in mind, make the Salsa Fresca ahead of time! Well, que bueno! J

Print recipe here.

Guacamole

Recipe adapted from Pioneer Woman

Ingredients:

2 whole avocados

Half a cup of Pico De Gallo or Salsa Fresca

Lime Juice

Salt and Pepper to taste

Preparation:

Halve avocadoes lengthwise and remove the pits. Next, with a spoon scrape the flesh out onto a large bowl. Cut up the avocados with knife, mash up with a fork, making sure to leave it relatively chunky. Add just a couple of shakes of salt and pepper to taste. Next, add in the Pico de Gallo or Salsa Fresca. Fold together. Lastly squeeze the juice of half of a lime over the top. Give it one last stir.

http://thepioneerwoman.com/cooking/2007/06/pico_de_gallo_a/

http://thepioneerwoman.com/

https://axokuaci.wordpress.com/2010/05/30/salsa-fresca-a-la-el-paso/

http://simplyrecipes.com/recipes/moroccan_spiced_grilled_chicken_breasts/

http://simplyrecipes.com/

This entry was posted in Condiment, Food, Mexican and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

