Sauteed Bell Peppers and Onion

In my previous post, the Coffee Crusted Pork Chops, I mentioned that I served the Pork Chops with Sauteed Bell Peppers and Onion.  I needed some kind of veggies to go with the Pork Chops, and I remembered that I had colorful bell peppers in the refrigerator.  So I grabbed each color, except the green one, and an onion, and decided that I would just saute them together.   Nothing fancy, just peppers, onion, olive oil, salt and pepper.

So I sliced them, and threw them into a bowl.  Then I drizzled olive oil on the veggies, and also added the salt and pepper.  I tossed the bowl to get all the olive oil and seasonings onto the veggies.

Then I heated up my frying pan on high heat.  Once the pan was hot enough (you can test it by dropping some water droplets on the pan, and if the water droplets sizzle, then your pan is hot enough), I dumped the veggies on it and left them alone for a little bit.  I want them to get that browned, caramelized look on the veggies, so I did not stir them around too much.

I let it cook until the onion were caramelized a little bit (brown at the edges), stirred it around a little bit, and then took the veggies out of the pan, and served it along side with the Pork Chops.

The veggies were crispy, tender, and sweet.  Sometimes, you don’t need to put too much seasoning on some food.  We got to enjoy the sweetness of the bell peppers and onion, with a hint of spiciness from the black peppers.  It was yummy!  🙂

Print recipe here.

Sauteed Bell Peppers and Onion

Ingredients:

1/2 half red bell pepper, sliced thinly
1/2 half orange bell pepper, sliced thinly
1/2 half yellow bell pepper, sliced thinly
1/2 white onion, sliced thinly
Olive oil
Salt and pepper

Preparation:

In a medium bowl, toss vegetables with olive oil, salt and pepper.
Sauteed with medium high heat until onion is caramelized, serve immediately.

This entry was posted in bell peppers, Food, Vegetables and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sauteed Bell Peppers and Onion

  1. Cheryl Knight says:

    Thank you so much. I did not have a clue how to saute’ the peppers & onions (that others would enjoy). I usually do them the way I like them (smushy). Mom passed away recently I’m trying to cook for my dad, fixing things like she made. Dad always likes sirloin tips with peppers & onions, mushrooms sometimes. Thanks for helping me. Cheryl

    Like

    • axokuaci says:

      You’re so welcome Cheryl. I’m so sorry about your loss, and hope that with time, things will get a little easier. I’m glad that my blog helped you out some, and hopefully your Dad enjoyed the way you prepare food in the kitchen. Take care and thank you for visiting…
      Anny

      Like

Leave a Reply

