Coffee Crusted Pork Chops

I tend to be a sucker for weird or strange recipes.  My definition of weird or strange recipe means that it contains ingredients that I would never had thought to use it in certain food preparations.  Remember, I am a novice in the kitchen and I don’t go out much either (yes, I’m a hermit.  I enjoy my home so much that it is hard to pry me out of my home). :)  So I don’t know all of the wide variety of foods available outside the eight walls of my house.  (Yes, eight walls, not four.  I counted them.  :))

Ok, back to weird or strange recipes.  For example, the Tomato Soup Cake.  I never heard of that until I saw the recipe in PW’s Tasty Kitchen.  Or, the Peanut Butter Bacon cookies.  You see, when I see a strange recipe, it piqued my curiosity to the highest level.  How does it taste?  How will people react to it when they eat it?

So the same thing happened when I saw this recipe.  Coffee Crusted Pork Tenderloin.  I found this recipe when I was browsing Jaden Hair’s blog, Steamy Kitchen.  I was thinking, “Coffee, with pork?  How does that taste?”  But Jaden Hair claimed “that was fantastic.”  So I just had to try it.

Since I was only going to try for just the two of us, I chose to use pork chops instead of a whole pork tenderloin.  If this recipe fails, then it would just be 2 pork chops instead of a whole tenderloin, and of course, a grumpy and hungry hubby.  :)  So, 2 pork chops, coffee, salt, pepper, chili powder, and sugar.  The recipe mentions Sugar in the Raw, which I had no clue what that was until I wrote this post.  It is raw sugar, which I didn’t have, so I just used plain white sugar.  But, next time I will use the brown sugar instead to get that molasses flavoring.

Sounds very simple right?  So I mixed in all the spice ingredients to make a rub.

Poured some olive oil to coat the pork chops.  I believe this is so the rub would stick to the meat.

Sprinkled the rub on the pork chops, and let it sit for about 10 minutes.

Then I heated up my er…our griddle, and grilled the pork chops.  Now, because the rub has sugar which tend to burned really fast,  I had to use medium heat.  Otherwise, I would have ended up with Blacken Coffee Crusted Pork Chops.

I served the pork chops with mashed potatoes, and sauteed bell peppers and onion.  The pork chops to me tasted like I had seasoned it with cumin.  It was a little bitter on the first bites, but then, it grew on me.  I liked it and Hubby liked it too.  So, there you go!  Coffee Crusted Pork Chops! 🙂

Print recipe here.

Coffee Crusted Pork Chops
Recipe adapted from Dr. BBQ

Coffee Rub

1 tablespoon brown sugar
2 teaspoons ground coffee
2 teaspoons chili powder
1 teaspoon salt
½ teaspoon black pepper
2 pork chops
1 – 2 tablespoons olive oil

Preparation:

In a small bowl combine the brown sugar, coffee, chili powder, salt, and pepper. Mix well and set aside. Prepare the grill to cook direct over medium heat. Trim any fat from the pork chops.  Brush lightly with olive oil.  Season the pork chops all over with the Coffee Rub.  Let rest for 10 minutes before cooking. Place the pork chops on the grill.  Cook for until well browned on both sides and serve.

 

Note: post is updated June 25, 2012 with the link to Dr. BBQ’s blog address.  Previous link on the recipe is no longer valid.  Thank you Dr. BBQ for a great recipe!🙂

—– Original Message —–
Sent: Thursday, September 02, 2010 7:09 PM
Subject: FW: Please proof read: pork chops

From: Page, Anny
Sent: Wednesday, September 01, 2010 9:56 AM
To: ‘Russell Page’
Subject: Please proof read: pork chops

I tend to be a sucker for weird or strange recipes.  My definition of weird or strange recipe means that it contains ingredients that I would never had thought to use it in certain food preparationx.  Remember, I am a novice in the kitchen and I don’t go out much either (yes, I’m a hermit.  I enjoy my home so much that it is hard to pry me out of my home). J So I don’t know all of the wide variety of foods available outside the eight walls of my house.  (Yes, eight walls, not four.  I counted them. J)

 

Ok, back to weird or strange recipes.  For example, the Tomato Soup Cake.  I never heard of that until I saw the recipe in PW’s Tasty Kitchen.  Or, the Peanut Butter Bacon cookies.  You see, when I see a strange recipe, it piqued my curiosity to the highest level.  How does it taste?  How will people react to it when they eat it?

 

http://thepioneerwoman.com/

http://thepioneerwoman.com/tasty-kitchen/

https://axokuaci.wordpress.com/2010/05/17/tomato-soup-cake-do-whattt/

https://axokuaci.wordpress.com/2010/05/18/ehm-peanut-butter-bacon-cookies-anyone/

 

So the same thing happened when I saw this recipe.  Coffee Crusted Pork Tenderloin.  I found this recipe when I was browsing Jaden Hair’s blog, Steamy Kitchen.  I was thinking, “Coffee, with pork?  How does that taste?”  But Jaden Hair claimed “that was fantastic.”  So I just had to try it.

 

http://steamykitchen.com/

http://www.clubmedinsider.com/stories/view/81:dr-bbq-s-coffee-crusted-pork-tenderloin

 

Since I was only going to try for just the two of us, I chose to use pork chops instead of a whole pork tenderloin.  If this recipe fails, then it would just be 2 pork chops instead of a whole tenderloin.  So, 2 pork chops, coffee, salt, pepper, chili powder, and sugar.  The recipe mentions Sugar in the Raw, which I had no clue what that was until I wrote this post.  It is raw sugar, which I didn’t have, so I just used plain white sugar.  But, next time I will use the brown sugar instead to get that molasses flavoring.

 

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sugar_in_the_Raw

 

Sounds very simple right?  So I mixed in all the spice ingredients to make a rub.

 

Poured some olive oil to coat the pork chops.  I believe this is so the rub would stick to the meat.

 

Sprinkled the rub on the pork chops, and let it sit for about 10 minutes.

 

Then I heated up my er…our griddle, and grilled the pork chops.

 

I served the pork chops with mashed potatoes, and grilled bell peppers and onion.  The pork chops to me tasted like I had seasoned it with cumin.  It was a little bitter on the first bites, but then, it grew on me.  I liked it and Hubby liked it too.  So, there you go!  Coffee Crusted Pork Chops! J

 

 

Coffee Crusted Pork Chops

Recipe adapted from ClubMedInsider

http://www.clubmedinsider.com/stories/view/81:dr-bbq-s-coffee-crusted-pork-tenderloin

 

Coffee Rub

1 tablespoon brown sugar

2 teaspoons ground coffee

2 teaspoons chili powder

1 teaspoon salt

½ teaspoon black pepper

 

2 pork chops

 

1 – 2 tablespoons olive oil

 

In a small bowl combine the brown sugar, coffee, chili powder, salt, and pepper. Mix well and set aside. Prepare the grill to cook direct over medium heat. Trim any fat from the pork chops.  Brush lightly with olive oil.  Season the pork chops all over with the Coffee Rub.  Let rest for 10 minutes before cooking. Place the pork chops on the grill.  Cook for until well browned on both sides and serve.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Food, Pork and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Coffee Crusted Pork Chops

  1. Pingback: Sauteed Bell Peppers and Onion | Anny's Blog

  2. Pingback: Recipe: Coffe Crusted Pork Chops | MomVesting

  3. Lusi Njo says:

    Interesting flavour combination.🙂

    Like

  4. Laura says:

    I made this recipe tonight and it was so good!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

