Mango and Avocado Salad

I was originally going to type the whole name of the salad, namely, Mango and Avocado Salad with Black Beans and Lime Vinaigrette, as this post’s title.  Whew, what a long title, eh?  I decided to shortened it to just Mango and Avocado Salad for our sake.  Nice and simple. You don’t get your tongue twisted just trying to pronounce a salad’s name.  There.

I found this recipe when I was playing with the Whole Foods application on my iPhone.  The application has a feature where you put in the ingredients you have on hand, and it will try to give you suggestions as to what you can whip up with those ingredients.  So, I had some mangoes and I had some avocados, and the application gave me this recipe.

The additional ingredients that I needed for this salad were jalapeno, lime, cilantro, canned black beans, salt, pepper, sugar and olive oil.  Now, the next time I make this, I would add red onion too.  When I made this salad, I was thinking about the taste of mango and avocado.  Mango is sweet and avocado is creamy… and supposedly you get the kick out of the jalapeno.  For some reason, my thoughts flew toward red onions.  But then, I decided not to go for the red onions and would try the recipe as is.

First I needed to zest a lime.  What does zest means?  Zest means the outer part of the skin of a citrus, in this case, the green color skin of a lime.  So, I needed to get the peel of this lime.  I only needed to get the green part of the lime’s skin, and had to avoid the white part of the skin, since it has bitter taste.  What does the zest for?  The zest helps add flavor to the food you are preparing.

Look at these two zesters I have in the above picture.  The one on the left is has smaller teeth than the one on the right.  A zester is a kitchen utensil to help you get the peel from a citrus fruit, shreds of spices (for nutmeg and cinnamon), or shredded cheese.  It is very similar to a grater, except that grater has different shapes of teeth or grating slots.

So, I got these two zesters for my birthday from my friend, Kelly.  Kelly has a nice habit of giving me kitchen stuff that I don’t have.  🙂  Thanks Kelly!  Keep it coming and I’ll keep feeding you!  Ha ha…  So, one day she asked what do I want for my birthday, and I said a microplane zester.  So Kelly went to the store and got me the one on the right.  And I said, thank you, and she proceeded to ask me if that was the right one.  Well, I said, ummm…  I think the microplane one has smaller teeth.  So she went back to the store and finally found the one with smaller teeth and then called them “fester nester zester” for giving her such a hard time to pick the right one for me! 🙂

Anyway, back to salad making.  So I zested this lime and dumped the zest into a bowl.  See how the zest came out in tiny long shapes, and it was also easy to get the zest out of the zester!  The one I used previously had teeth of a regular grater, so most of the zest stuck inside the teeth!

Then I squeezed the lime juice into the bowl.

Added a little sugar…

Then dropped in the chopped cilantro…

Poured some olive oil…

Whisked them all together after adding salt and pepper.

Then I cut up the avocado and put them into a different bowl.

Squirted some lime juice on the cut up avocado so they won’t turn brown.

Dropped in the cut up mango…

Then added the minced jalapeno…

Then I opened up the can of black beans, and drained and rinsed the beans.

Dumped the beans into the bowl…

Then dumped the veggies or fruits into the lime vinaigrette bowl…

Mixed them all up.

And serve! I served mine on top of a piece of lettuce, along with Grilled Tuna Steak.  Now, remember I mentioned about the red onion?  This salad was missing something.  It definitely lacked that sharp, sweet taste of onion.  So, the next time I make it again, I will add the chopped red onion, and also change up the mixing of the veggies, so the avocado won’t be beat up and become mushy.  Other than that, the salad was a good creamy, sweet salad.  Happy eating!

Print recipe here.

Mango and Avocado Salad
Adapted from Whole Foods.

Ingredients:

2 ripe but firm avocados, halved, peeled and cubed
3 tablespoons lime juice, divided
2 ripe but firm mangoes, peeled and cubed
1 jalapeño, stemmed, seeded and finely chopped
½ red onion, chopped
Sea salt and freshly ground black pepper
1 teaspoon grated lime zest
1/4 teaspoon sugar
2 tablespoons chopped cilantro, plus more for garnish
3 tablespoons olive oil
1 (15-ounce) can no-salt-added black beans, rinsed and drained

Preparation:

Gently toss avocado with 1 tablespoon of the lime juice in a medium bowl. Set aside.

Add mango, jalapeño and salt in a different bowl and gently toss to combine. Set aside.

Whisk together remaining 2 tablespoons lime juice, zest, sugar and cilantro in a large bowl. Whisk in oil until thoroughly combined to make a thick vinaigrette then season with salt and pepper. Add black beans and mango mixture and toss gently. Add the avocado into the bowl last, toss gently. Spoon salad onto plates, garnish with cilantro and serve immediately.

Mango and Avocado Salad
Adapted from Whole Foods.

Ingredients:

2 ripe but firm avocados, halved, peeled and cubed
3 tablespoons lime juice, divided
2 ripe but firm mangoes, peeled and cubed
1 jalapeño, stemmed, seeded and finely chopped
½ red onion, chopped
Sea salt and freshly ground black pepper
1 teaspoon grated lime zest
1/4 teaspoon sugar
2 tablespoons chopped cilantro, plus more for garnish
3 tablespoons olive oil
1 (15-ounce) can no-salt-added black beans, rinsed and drained

This entry was posted in Food, Salad, Side Dish, Vegetables and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mango and Avocado Salad

  1. leashieloo says:

    You won me at lime and cilantro 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

