Jicama Salad

With the recent hot weather, I have been trying to find recipes that are easy to our air conditioner.  Meaning, I can’t bake when it is close to 100 degrees outside.  😦  What a bummer!  So, no-bake recipes are the way to go right now.  I was scouring Simply Recipes’s blog and got a bunch of recipes that I wanted to try.  One of them is the Jicama Salad, for which I had most of the ingredients in my fridge.  (I said this because the day I made it was on a weekday, and I just don’t go to a grocery store after work if I don’t necessarily need to have the missing ingredients.)  Although, I have to say, with the ingredients I had at the time, the color presentation was not too pretty.  It lacked the vibrant red color of the red bell peppers.  You’ll see.

For this recipe, it needs to have the jicama, red, yellow, and green bell peppers, red onion, cucumber, navel orange, cilantro, lime juice, cayenne peppers, paprika and salt.  I did not have the red bell pepper, yellow bell pepper and navel orange, so I just skipped those.  Even the red onions was a left over from the previous cooking.  I was lucky that I even have some red onions left over.  I would have to change the game plan if I didn’t have the red onions… or not… I probably would just use the regular white onions.  I have tons of those… (figuratively speaking).

By the way, jicama is some kind of edible tuberous root.  The root is white, sweet and crunchy.  In Indonesia , jicama or bengkuang, is used in spicy fruit salad (rujak).  Since I knew that jicama was grown in Indonesia , I automatically assumed that the plant was originated there.  (Well, I was once very nationalistic about Indonesia :))  Well, I was wrong once again.  This plant was originally from Mexico, presumably the Spanish/Portuguese conquerors brought it with them back in the early 1600s, although it might have come into Malaysia, Singapore and Indonesia via India.  So I was very surprised when I first saw it appeared in the grocery store’s produce section several years ago, but also happy that I got to eat some food that was also grown in Indonesia.  However, the taste of jicama here is a little bit different.  I thought the one here is not as sweet as the one in Indonesia.  But I guess that’s because the ones sold here are oversized jicama, about the size of a small grapefruit, while the ones in Indonesia are only about the size of red potatoes.  So, the bigger the roots, the less likely it is to be sweet.

So I chopped up all the veggies and put them into a large bowl.

Then I mixed them all up and then squeezed the lime juice all over the veggies.

I sprinkled a dash of cayenne pepper, since hubby cannot enjoy the food if it is too spicy.

Then a little bit of paprika…

Salted it a little bit and mixed them all up, and let it sat in the refrigerator for 30 minutes.

The salad tasted light and refreshing, the combination of the veggies was great.  If you don’t like crunchy salad, this might not be for you.  As far as the presentation, it probably would look better had I have the red bell pepper and the navel orange.  As it was, the salad looked a little bit pale, even though I had an orange bell pepper in it.  We ate this to accompany the sesame seared tuna, which will be my next post.

So if you are looking for a refreshing summer salad, try this one.  You will not regret it. 🙂

Print recipe here.

Jicama Salad

By: Simply Recipes

Ingredients

  • 1 large jicama (about 1 1/2 pounds), peeled, then cubed
  • 1/2 red bell pepper, chopped
  • 1/2 yellow bell pepper, chopped
  • 1/2 green bell pepper, chopped
  • 1/2 cup chopped red onion
  • 1/2 a large cucumber, seeded, chopped
  • 1 navel orange, peel cut away, sliced crosswise, then each round quartered
  • 1/2 cup chopped fresh cilantro
  • 1/3 cup lime juice
  • Pinch of cayenne
  • Pinch of paprika
  • Salt

Preparation:

Toss together the chopped vegetables in a large bowl.

Pour lime juice over all.

Sprinkle with a pinch of cayenne and paprika.

Season with salt.

Let sit a half an hour before serving.

Jicama Salad
Adapted from Simply Recipes

Ingredients:

1 large jicama (about 1 1/2 pounds), peeled, then cubed
1/2 red bell pepper, chopped
1/2 yellow bell pepper, chopped
1/2 green bell pepper, chopped
1/2 cup chopped red onion
1/2 a large cucumber, seeded, chopped
1 navel orange, peel cut away, sliced crosswise, then each round quartered
1/2 cup chopped fresh cilantro
1/3 cup lime juice
Pinch of cayenne
Pinch of paprika
Salt

Preparation:

•    Toss together the chopped vegetables in a large bowl.
•    Pour lime juice over all.
•    Sprinkle with a pinch of cayenne and paprika.
•    Season with salt.
•    Let sit a half an hour before serving.

This entry was posted in Food, Salad, Side Dish and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

