Chocolate Mug Cake

This weekend I was being a lazy bum.  Can you believe it?  I think the impact of socializing got to me.  Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy meeting with friends and family.  But I also enjoy just sitting at home and just messing with my cats.  It got to me such that I had no desire to make or bake anything.  Really!  I have blueberries in the refrigerator that I could make something for… i.e. blueberry muffins or something… I have chicken breast that I plan on marinating and that did not happen.  I talked about peach cobbler because it is peach season, but I did not do anything…  I just did not have that cooking/baking mood!

So I was in that state of mind until about Saturday evening before dinner.  Hubby was grilling some ribeye steaks and I was in charge of popping the potatoes into the microwave and making salad.  About an hour or so before dinner, I was thinking, I don’t have any dessert other than fruits to go with the steak dinner.  After all of his hard work, I thought he needed to be rewarded with something sweet… 🙂

Then I remembered this “Chocolate Mug Cake” recipe from Leashieloo’s blog, and thought, “this is something I can whip up real fast!”  Plus I have the ingredients I need.  I actually had seen the recipe before, I just never remember to try  to make it.

So, all in all, I gathered the stuff that I need to make the cake, after dinner (yes, it was that quick), to make this Cake in a Mug thingy.  Flour, cocoa powder, sugar, egg, vanilla, milk (lots of milk leftover from when the grandkids were here), oil (I used olive oil because that’s all I had handy at the time) and chocolate chips.

First I measured the flour…

Then added the sugar…

Added the cocoa…

Mixed all in the mug I was going to bake.. err.. microwave…

Then I added the egg,

Gave it a stir…

Then added the milk…

Then added the oil…

Gave it a good stir…

Dumped the chocolate chips… (note, I need to add to dust the chips with flour next time.  They all kinda sink to the bottom of the cake.)

Added a splash of vanila, stirred it again…

Then, I popped it into a microwave, for three minutes..

Within the one and half minute, the cake was rising from the mug.  But, I was warned by the recipe, so I wasn’t alarmed.

Then, after three minutes, I took it out from the microwave.

Dressed it up with some strawberries and reddy-whip.

And voila!  A chocolate cake in 5 minutes!  It was pretty good for an instant cake, if you could call it that.

But hubby liked it more gooey, so I will cook it less than the 3 minutes it required next time.  Not bad, really, try it!  🙂  Now you know that if you crave a chocolate cake, it is only a five minutes away!  🙂  Happy eating!

Print recipe here.

Chocolate Mug Cake

Ingredients:

4 tablespoons flour
4 tablespoons sugar
2 tablespoons cocoa
1 egg
3 tablespoons milk
3 tablespoons oil
3 tablespoons chocolate chips (optional)
a small splash of vanilla extract
1 large coffee mug

Directions:

Add dry ingredients to mug, and mix well. Add the egg and mix thoroughly. Pour in the milk and oil and mix well. Add the chocolate chips (if using) and vanilla extract, and mix again.
Put your mug in the microwave and cook for 3 minutes at 1000 watts. The cake will rise over the top of the mug, but don’t be alarmed! Allow to cool a little, and tip out onto a plate if desired.

This entry was posted in Cake, Chocolate, Food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Chocolate Mug Cake

  1. wenny says:

    Yummy…. :))

    Like

  2. leashieloo says:

    Yum! Thanks for the shout out! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

