Nigella Lawson’s Triple Chocolate Brownies

When I heard that the grandkids were coming over, … yes, grandkids.  Believe it or not, I am a grandma.  I don’t know how it happened, but it happened so suddenly.  In the blink of an eye, when I tied the knot with my significant other, I became a grandma.  An automatic upgrade, I’d say.

I got two beautiful boys; Blake, with twinkling, warm, fuzzy, hazel colored eyes, and Kameron, with sparkling, bright, blue eyes and full of freckles.

The boys call me Granny Anny and I live up to my title.  I spoil them rotten and fed them every time I have a chance.  🙂  I enjoy playing Granny Anny very much!

So, when I heard they were coming, I planned to make them Nigella Lawson’s Triple Chocolate Brownies.  Actually, the one who loves this brownie was Blake.  He really could, would, have eaten the whole pan if we let him.

So I gathered the ingredients, and I sent grandpa to the grocery store to get the chocolate bars since I did not have enough of them in my pantry.

Just hang on and hold on to something, or sit down.  I am going to list the ingredients needed for this brownies.

3 sticks and 2 tablespoons of butter, six eggs, 12 oz bittersweet chocolate, sugar, flour, salt, vanilla, chocolate chips and whatever else you want to throw in the brownies.  I went with the semi-sweet chocolate chip, white chocolate chip, and chopped walnut.  I know, it is an artery clogging-bound to happen recipe.  But, make this, taste it, and the world is all yours.

 

So I prepared all the ingredients in advance since I did not have a lot of time.  Granny has a full time job and they were coming on a Friday.  And after we picked them up, we were off somewhere to Neverland, or, some place similar to Neverland.

I measured up each of the half-a-cups of semi-sweet chocolate chips, white chocolate chips, and chopped walnut.  The recipe did not call for any nuts, but I threw the nuts in there to give the brownie a crunch.

 

I mixed them up, ain’t that pretty?

 

Then I measured the flour…

 

Added the salt.

 

Mixed them up, and put it aside.

 

Then I grabbed a little flour from the salt and flour mix and dumped it into the chocolate chips/walnut bowl.

 

Mixed it all up, until most of the morsels were covered with powdery dust.  I have read somewhere that to prevent your chocolate chips from sinking into the bottom of a cake, to dust them with the flour you are using for the cake.  So I did that ever since. And, these morsels did not sink, they floated.

.

 

Then I lined my pan with parchment paper.  I love parchment paper.  It makes clean-up easier, and lifting your cake out of the pan is a piece of cake!

 

Then I was ready to chop my chocolate bar.  First, I lined my cutting board with parchment paper. I chopped the chocolate into small pieces using a serrated knife.  Serrated knives work real well if you want to get those uniform pieces so that your chocolate will melt evenly.  You can also break the chocolate into smaller chunks, but the melting process will be longer than if you chop your chocolate into small, uniformed pieces.

 

When I finished chopping chocolate, I just wrapped it and put it away.

 

Then, Thursday night, I was ready to make the brownies.  I melted the butter using a double boiler pan method.  If you don’t have a double boiler, then just use a sauce pan, fill it with some water, and put a mixing bowl on the top of the pan.  Make sure the water level does not reach the bottom of the mixing bowl.

 

I made sure the butter melted before I dumped the chopped chocolate in there.

 

Then I gave it a stir until all of the chocolate was melted and there was no chocolate lump that I could see.  After that, I removed the mixing bowl from the sauce pan, and let the chocolate butter mixture cool off a bit.

 

Once it cooled down, I put in the eggs in one at a time, and gave it a good whisk and made sure the egg was incorporated in the batter before I added the next egg.

 

Then the sugar was added.

 

Then the vanilla…

 

And I stirred it until all of the sugar was incorporated.  By this time, the batter was not smooth due to the sugar particle.

 

Then I folded in the flour…

 

And the chips and chopped walnuts…

 

Gave it a final fold, making sure the chocolate chips and the walnuts were distributed evenly in the batter.

 

Poured it into the lined baking pan, and baked it for about 25 minutes (according to the recipe) at 350 F degrees.  My oven required 32 minutes baking time.

 

This was how it came out. Note that the middle was supposed to be still kinda jiggly.  So you can see from the picture below that the middle of the brownie was still have that “wet” look.

 

Let it cool before you cut it.  Now, it took me a few pans of brownies before I finally found the trick to cut brownies without all of that clumpy-cakey brownie sticking to your knife.  Just use a disposable plastic knife.  Yes, plastic knife on brownie.


See how the brownie was cut with minimal damage on the surface?  If you like dark chocolate, this is the brownie for you.  It is almost more like a fudge rather than the cakey brownie.  This was one of the favorite in the office.

 

We brought the brownie with us to the Neverland place, and of course it was gone by the time we came back home.  So, as a result, grandpa suggested that I make another batch.

I recruited Blake to help me out while I prepared dinner Monday.  I asked him to chop the chocolate for me, as well as measured the other ingredients.  He gladly did that for me, actually, for himself.  He was going to take the left over brownies home with him.

 

This was Blake eating his warm brownie, topped with Reddi whip.  See how happy he looks?

 

Now the picture below, was Tuesday night after dinner.  Blake was really excited that he was going to have his dessert in a few seconds.

 

See how much whip cream Blake squirted from the can?

 

Double Chocolate and Nutty Reeses Brownies, made just for Blake.  Wait a minute… Double Chocolate and Nutty Reeses Brownies?  Yes, for the second batch, I ran out of white chocolate chips, and I asked Blake if he would like to substitute it with the Reeses chips.  He nodded his head without any hesitant.  Ergo the tweak in the name for the dessert pictured below.

 

Well, a happy grandkid means a happy Granny Anny.  His world was complete, and mine too. 🙂

 

Print recipe here.

Nigella Lawson’s Triple Chocolate Brownies

Ingredients:

  • 3 sticks plus 2 tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 12 ounces best-quality bittersweet chocolate
  • 6 eggs
  • 1 3/4 cups superfine sugar
  • 1 tablespoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 cups plus 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup white chocolate buttons, chips, or morsels
  • 1/2 cup semisweet chocolate buttons, chips or morsels
  • Approximately 2 teaspoons confectioners’ sugar, for garnish
  • Special equipment: Baking tin (approximately 11 1/4 inches by 9 inches by 2 inches), sides and base lined with baking parchment.

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.

Melt the butter and dark chocolate together in a large heavy based pan over a low heat.

In a bowl or large measuring jug, beat the eggs together with the superfine sugar and vanilla extract.

Allow the chocolate mixture to cool a little, then add the egg and sugar mixture and beat well. Fold in the flour and salt. Then stir in the white chocolate buttons or chips, and the semisweet chocolate buttons or chips. Beat to combine then scrape and pour the brownie mixture into the prepared tin.

Bake for about 25 minutes. You can see when the brownies are ready because the top dries to a slightly paler brown speckle, while the middle remains dark, dense and gooey. Even with such a big batch you do need to keep checking on it: the difference between gooey brownies and dry ones is only a few minutes. Remember, too, that they will continue to cook as they cool.

To serve, cut into squares while still warm and pile up on a large plate, sprinkling with confectioners’ sugar pushed with a teaspoon through a small sieve.

This entry was posted in brownies, Chocolate, Dessert, Food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Nigella Lawson’s Triple Chocolate Brownies

  1. Pingback: PW’s BBQ Meatballs | Anny's Blog

Leave a Reply

