Croutons!

Since we could not finish the Focaccia bread by the second day, it sat there inside a paper bag on top of the bread box.  I remember the recipe said that you can make croutons out of it by cutting the bread into cubes, and toast them in the oven for 10 – 15 minutes. But I was too lazy to mess with it on the second day.

So, on the third day, I grabbed the bag, and took out the bread.  Wow… hard as a rock!  Ha ha…  I knocked on it and somewhere inside my head I heard “Who’s there?”.  Since the bread was so hard, I had to get my cleaver out to do the job!

Once I cut them all out, I looked at them and… suddenly I felt adventourous.  I wanted the croutons to have flavor like how the grocery store sells them.  But I did not feel like melting some butter, and I saw the olive oil bottle in front of me.  Ding ding ding!!!  A light bulb went off!  (Hey… it’s my light bulb, it makes the “Ding ding ding” sound! 🙂 )

I put all the cut up bread back into the bag, and I grabbed the olive oil bottle.

I drizzled the EVOO on the bread, and proceeded on to grab some spices.

Then, I sprinkled dried basil…

Next, dried parsley…

Next, dried oregano…

Next, garlic powder…

And at the last minute, I decided to throw in a few red pepper flakes as well.   Then I closed the bag and shook it madly.

I poured it on a baking sheet, and baked it for 15 minutes, at 350 degrees.

When they were done, I could smell the fragrance of the herbs, and I tasted one; it was good!  So now I know what to do with my leftover bread now! Croutons!! 🙂  Try it!!

This entry was posted in Bread, Food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

