Salsa, Restaurant Style

A while back, when I was reading PW’s blog, I read up on her Restaurant Style Salsa.  So I bought the ingredients to make this Salsa, and the ingredients (the canned ones) sat there in the pantry for weeks.  For some reason, I did not get to make it, and finally last Saturday, I grabbed the bull by the horns and made it!

Hmm… now I can say that I had said “grabbed the bull by the horns” twice in my lifetime!  Once was when we decided to renovate our kitchen and the two bathrooms… and the other one was for this Salsa making… what contrast were the occasions I used these words!  One was full of headaches and would definitely increase your blood pressure, and the other one was… pleasuring your taste buds in the making…

It was really simple.  I cannot say it any other way.  All I needed was a can of the whole tomato, two cans of Rotel tomatoes, onion, garlic, lime juice, cilantro, jalapeno, salt, sugar, and cumin.  That’s all!  Oh, and a blender!

Of course I needed to chop some of the vegetables.  Did I tell you that I am the professional chopper in this household?  Although, I do occasionally slice my finger(s) from time to time.  I guess the knife was just reminding me that I needed to be humble and respect them.

So after I got the veggies ready, I dumped the can of whole tomatoes into the blender.  I wasn’t sure if the blender would hold all the tomatoes, but it did at the end.

Then I dumped the Rotel tomatoes in there too.

Then the cilantro…

The onion…

The garlic…

The jalapeno…

A little bit of salt…

The lemon juice…

Then put the lid on and I pulsed the concoction.

Then, I saw the cumin bottle.  Dang it!  I knew it was too good to be true.  So I opened the lid back up and dumped the cumin in there.  And pulsed the concoction again.

I tasted it with a tortilla chip, and added some more cilantro.  Then I poured the salsa into an airtight tupperware and stored it in the refrigerator.

By in the afternoon, we had some tortilla chips and salsa to snack on.  The salsa was good and  refreshing.  The longer you let it sit in the refrigerator, the better it tastes!  Try it, it can’t be any easier than this!

Print recipe here.

Restaurant Style Salsa

Ingredients:

1 can (28 Ounce) Whole Tomatoes With Juice
2 cans (10 Ounce) Rotel (diced Tomatoes And Green Chilies)
¼ cups Chopped Onion
1 clove Garlic, Minced
1 whole Jalapeno, Quartered And Sliced Thin
¼ teaspoons Sugar
¼ teaspoons Salt
¼ teaspoons Ground Cumin
½ cups Cilantro (more To Taste!)
½ whole Lime Juice

Preparation Instruction

Combine whole tomatoes, Rotel, onion, jalapeno, garlic, sugar, salt, cumin, lime juice, and cilantro in a blender or food processor. Pulse until you get the salsa to the consistency you’d like—I do about 10 to 15 pulses. Test seasonings with a tortilla chip and adjust as needed.

Refrigerate salsa for at least an hour. Serve with tortilla chips or cheese nachos.

This entry was posted in Condiment, Food, Mexican, Side Dish and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

