The most famous MM Sandwich

Most of you probably are wondering, what in the heck is the most famous MM Sandwich?  Well, read about it here, and read all of the comments.  It is famous all right, at least in the PW’s realm of blogosphere. 🙂

So, knowing that I would be off this past Friday and would had more time for cooking dinner than had I been working all day long, I had planned on making PW’s Marlboro Man’s most favorite sandwich.  Needless to say, when I went to the grocery store Friday, I gathered all of the ingredients, which was not too complicated.

I needed cubed steak, which according to PW, it is round steak that had been tenderized even more, worcestershire sauce, onion, butter, Lawry’s Season Salt, Tabasco sauce, and some baguettes.  I got these baguettes from a Vietnamese sandwich shop in Chinatown, named Givral.  They are known for their delicious and cheap vietnamese sandwiches. I love their tofu sandwich.  Anybody out there is a tofu lover? 🙂

So when I was next door at the Chinese herb store Friday, I went ahead and went next door and bought four of their baguettes, even though grocery store was my next stop.  I know how Givral’s baguettes taste, fresh and crunchy.  More often than not, you cannot get a fresh and crunchy baguettes at the grocery store.

Now, with a note, a pack of the cubed steak was about 1.3 lbs.  Since my hubby is a man, eh, meat eater, I figured that 1.3 lbs of meat would not be enough for two of us.  So I got two packs of these cube steaks.  We ended up having left over meat, which led us to discover, that the meat tasted even better the next day.  More story of that later.

So, I started by slicing onions.  I sliced three of those medium sized onions.  It sounded like a lot right?  But after you cook it, it reduced to nothing.  Also, smothered onions taste good, I can eat it just by itself and rice.

First I melted some butter. PW loves butter, so her recipe usualy involves with lots of butter.

After the butter was melted and heated a little bit, then I threw in the sliced onions.

While the onion was cooking, I started working on the cubed steak.

The recipe said to slice the cubed steak against the grain.  Since I have trouble with the English language, I asked my first available native English speaker, namely my hubby.   He said to cut it vertically against the horizontal tenderized line.  So I did that.

Then after I sliced all the meat, I sprinkled Lawry’s Season Salt.  I did not put on a lot because LSS can be very salty if you put a lot of it.

By this time, your onion should be caramelized and browned.  Pour them into a bowl and set them aside.

Then, we were ready to cook the meat.  If you cook a lot, like, more than 2 lbs of meat like I did, use a big iron skillet.  I should have used that iron skillet and saved myself some time. Melt some butter again.  I did not quite follow the amount of butter PW suggested, I used it judiciously, but I did not skimp either. 🙂  Both my hubby and I have desk jobs, which mean that we cannot burn as much calories as when PW and her hubby tackle some cows or chasing 4 kids around the ranch.

After the butter is melted, put in the meat and let it brown for one minute.

Then, flip them over to get the other side browned.

Then, pour in the worcestershire sauce.

Add in more butter.

Then add the caramelized/smothered onion.

Mix them all together and cover the skillet.  At this time, you can also do a taste test, and add some more worcestershire sauce as needed.  I turned down the heat and let it kinda simmer while I was preparing for the baguette.

I pulled out my griddle and melted some butter on it.  Probably it is better if you start warming up your other skillet or griddle before your meat gets done.

Then I sliced the baguettes into sandwich style, buttered the inside of the baguettes.

Then I put these baguettes into the heated griddle with melted butter on it.

Once the inside of the baguettes were a little bit browned, I flipped them over and heated up the other side.

Now you are ready to serve the sandwich.  Put the bottom of the baguette on a plate. Scoop up some of the meat and onions on top of the baguette, including the juice.  Then, pour some juice on the inside of the top part of the baguette.  Put the top baguette down, and serve.

It was delicious!  I just could not believe that as simple as worcestershire sauce and butter would make a delicious and tasty meat.  My hubby suggested that the next time I make this again, to put some sliced provolone cheese on top.  Oh… just imagine… melted provolone cheese with your beef sandwich. I just can’t wait until I can make this again!

Note: We had some left over because we simply could not eat all of the 2 point something pounds of beef by ourselves.  So we had it for lunch the next day, and guess what? The meat tasted even better!  So, if you have the time, prepare the meat the day before you eat it. It is just simply delicious! Thank you PW!!

A freak thing happened after lunch though. I had a little bit meat left over, and planned on eating it the next day. As I was pulling the refrigerator door with my right hand, and was about the put the bowl of meat on my left hand into the refrigerator; the bowl flew off my hand and went the opposite way from the refrigerator.  Needless to say.. I lost my next lunch and had a broken bowl.  Of course the cat heard the commotion and started sniffing around.  Bad cat!!  Anyway.. make this sandwich, it is easy and tasty.  You will be happy because your tummy will be happy.  🙂

Print recipe here.

The Marlboro Man Sandwich
Ingredients
1 whole Large (or 2 Small) Onions
2 sticks Butter (lots And Lots Of Butter)
Lawry’s Seasoned Salt
½ cups (approximately) Worcestershire Sauce
Tabasco Sauce, To Taste
2 pounds (to 3 Pounds) Cube Steak (tenderized Round Steak That’s Been Extra
Tenderized)
4 whole French/deli Rolls (earthgrains Are Best!)
Sliced cheese
Preparation Instructions
Slice onions and cook in 1/4 stick butter until soft and light brown. Remove and set aside.
Slice cube steak against the grain. Season with Lawry’s.
Heat 2 tablespoons butter over high heat (in same skillet) until melted and beginning to brown.
Add meat in single layer. Cook one side until brown, then flip and cook until brown, about a
minute on both sides.
Add 1/2 cup (at least) Worcestershire sauce, 5 to 6 shakes Tabasco, and 2 tablespoons butter.
Add cooked onions. Stir to combine.
Butter halved French rolls and brown in skillet.
To assemble, lay bottom half of French roll on plate. Place meat mixture, followed by a spoonful of juice from the pan.
Put slices of provolone cheese on top.
Top with other half of roll, cut in half, and devour!

Knowing that I would be off this past Friday and would had more time for cooking dinner than had I been working all day long, I had planned on making PW’s Marlboro Man’s most favorite sandwich.  Needless to say, when I went to the grocery store Friday, I gathered all of the ingredients, which was not too complicated.
I needed cubed steak, which according to PW, it is round steak that had been tenderized even more, worcestershire sauce, onion, butter, Lawry’s Season Salt, Tabasco sauce, and some baguettes.  I got these baguettes from a Vietnamese sandwich shop in Chinatown, named Givral.  They are known for their delicious and cheap vietnamese sandwiches.  I love their tofu sandwich.  Anybody out there is a tofu lover? 🙂  So when I was next door at the Chinese herb store Friday, I went ahead and went next door and bought four of their baguettes, even though grocery store was my next stop.  I know how Givral’s baguettes taste, fresh and crunchy.  More often than not, you cannot get a fresh and crunchy baguettes at the grocery store.
Now, with a note, a pack of the cubed steak was about 1.3 lbs.  Since my hubby is a man, eh, meat eater, I figured that 1.3 lbs of meat would not be enough for two of us.  So I got two packs of these cube steaks.  We ended up having left over meat, which led us to discover, that the meat tasted even better the next day.  More story of that later.
So, I started by slicing onions.  I sliced three of those medium sized onions.  It sounded like a lot right?  But after you cook it, it reduced to nothing.  Also, smothered onions taste good, I can eat it just by itself and rice.
First I melted some butter.  PW loves butter, so her recipe usualy involves with lots of butter.
After the butter was melted and heated a little bit, then I threw in the sliced onions.
While the onion was cooking, I started working on the cubed steak.
The recipe said to slice the cubed steak against the grain.  Since I have trouble with the English language, I asked my first available native English speaker, namely my hubby.  He said to cut it vertically against the horizontal tenderized line. So I did that.
Then after I sliced all the meat, I sprinkled Lawry’s Season Salt.  I did not put on a lot because LSS can be very salty if you put a lot of it.
By this time, your onion should be caramelized and browned.  Pour them into a bowl and set them aside.
Then, we were ready to cook the meat.  If you cook a lot, like, more than 2 lbs of meat like I did, use a big iron skillet.  I should have used that iron skillet and saved myself some time.  Melt some butter again.  I did not quite follow the amount of butter PW suggested, I used it judiciously, but I did not skimp either.  🙂  Both my hubby and I have desk jobs, which mean that we cannot burn as much calories as when PW and her hubby tackle some cows or chasing 4 kids around the ranch.
After the butter is melted, put in the meat and let it brown for one minute.
Then, flip them over to get the other side browned.
Then, pour in the worcestershire sauce.
Add in more butter.
Then add the caramelized/smothered onion.
Mix them all together and cover the skillet.  I turned down the heat at this time and let it kinda simmer while I was preparing for the baguette.
I pulled out my griddle and melted some butter on it.  Probably it is better if you start warming up your other skillet or griddle before your meat gets done.
Then I sliced the baguettes into sandwich style, buttered the inside of the baguettes.
Then I put these baguettes into the heated griddle with melted butter on it.
Once the inside of the baguettes were a little bit browned, I flipped them over and heated up the other side.
Now you are ready to serve the sandwich.  Put the bottom of the baguette on a plate.  Scoop up some of the meat and onions on top of the baguette, including the juice.  Then, pour some juice on the inside of the top part of the baguette.  Put the top baguette down, and serve.
It was delicious!  I just could not believe that as simple as worcestershire sauce and butter would make a delicious and tasty meat.  My hubby suggested that the next time I make this again, to put some sliced provolone cheese on top.  Oh… just imagine… melted provolone cheese with your beef sandwich.  I just can’t wait until I can make this again!
Note:  We had some left over because we simply could not eat all of the 2 point something pounds of beef by ourselves.  So we had it for lunch the next day, and guess what?  The meat tasted even better!  So, if you have the time, prepare the meat the day before you eat it.  It is just simply delicious!  Thank you PW!!
A freak thing happened after lunch though.  I had a little bit meat left over, and planned on eating it the next day.  As I was pulling the refrigerator door with my right hand, and was about the put the bowl of meat on my left hand into the refrigerator; the bowl flew off my hand and went the opposite way from the refrigerator.  Needless to say.. I lost my next lunch and had a broken bowl.  Of course the cat heard the commotion and started sniffing around.  Bad cat!!  Anyway.. make this sandwich, it is easy and tasty.  You will be happy 🙂
This entry was posted in Beef, Food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

