Grilled Chicken and Pineapple Quesadillas

Last Saturday when I was at the grocery store, I remembered that I have a grilled chicken and pineapple quesadillas recipe that I got from  PW.  So I picked some chicken and tortillas (the burritos size), and was thinking that I had the rest of the ingredients already.

So when I got home Tuesday, I set about in the kitchen and gathered my ingredients. Then it hit me.  I did not have fresh pineapple!!  I actually had fresh pineapple, but somebody already claimed it.  Namely my hubby.  To avoid a world war III, I pretended that those fresh pineapples did not exist.  So I dug around in my pantry and hoped that I had a can of pineapple.  Well la di da, I did.  I was saved.  Then I started looking for the rest of the stuff.  I reached into my vegetables crisper and looked for cilantro, and my heart fell.  My cilantro was not in as good shape as I thought it would.  I started thinking, maybe I should just heat up the bbq chicken in the freezer.  I looked around some more and I saw green onions.  That’s it!  I’ll put in some green onions in the quesadillas.  It would help the flavor and they were all the same stuff.  They were all green, right?

So, chicken, cilantro (the meager little that I was able to save), green onion, bbq sauce, monterey jack cheese, jalapeno, pineapple, and butter were all lined up.  Then I thought, oh shoot!  At the bottom of the recipe, it said, serve with pico de gallo, sour cream and lime.  I didn’t have pico de gallo!!  So back to the pantry, I rummaged in there again.  Ah, a can of rotel tomato!  Just put in some chopped green onions and any left over cilantro, and that would do the trick.  Then, while I was in there, I also found the mexican rice sauce and refried beans.  It would be a complete mexican dinner – minus the chips and salsa.

I first pounded the chicken into a thinner piece, so it would all cook evenly and done at the same time.  I lined up my countertop with plastic, put the chicken on top of it, and put another layer of plastic on top of the chicken. Then I pounded the chickens with my meat mallet.

Once that was done, I sprinkled some Zatarain seasoning and fresh cracked pepper.

Zatarain is a creole seasoning and you can pretty much use it in any meat.  It is deliciouso!  I even sprinkled it on my roasted corn.

So first I opened the can of pineapple and drained the juice.  Since the label said “natural pineapple juice”, I drank it.  It was yummy and refreshing.  🙂

I set my griddle on top of my stove, and let it heat up.  The stove we have now came with its own griddle, but it has a smaller surface than this square one.  To save time in cooking, I would rather used the square one and used two stove top burners.

Then I put the pineapples on the hot griddle, and brown almost on each side.

It would have been better if you have bigger chunks of pineapple, because it would be easier and faster when you have to flip them.  But you make do with what you had in hand.

Then, after pineapple was done, I set them aside, and started grilling the chicken.

Once the face down side was brown, I flipped them and cook the other side.  Then I brushed bbq sauce on top of the chicken.  I did not put the bbq sauce before because I want to make sure the chicken got cooked first, and not burned because of the bbq sauce.

Since bbq sauce contains sugar, it caramelized and burnt pretty fast.  I was trying to make grilled chicken quesadilla and not blackened chicken here.  Oh, we like Cattlemen’s bbq sauce. We like it so much that we even bought the gallon size from Sam’s Club!

While all this was going on, I also started warming up the refried beans in a small pan.  Oh, a note about this refried beans.  It is made by Kraft, and has a Taco Bell picture on the label.  This thing is the real thing minus the lard!  Try it, you will like it!  I can only find this kind at Kroger though.

See these creatures?  They were my helpers.  They were actually hoping that I would drop some chicken or something.

Ace, the skinnier one, loves, I repeat with capital letters, L-O-V-E, chicken.  He would talk your ear off if he smells chicken.  Blue on the other hand, probably would do the same thing, except, he is somewhat mute.  Muteness is part of a characteristic in Chartreux cats.  Blue can meow, but his meow is so pitiful for a big cat his size.  By the way, that massive structure, that is part of a characteristic in Chartreux as well.  If you don’t believe me, check this link and this link.  You can do more search in Google, and you would be amazed that these cats are all looked a like, both in the face and in the body size and type.  If you are a dog person and thinking about getting a cat, this would be a good cat for you.  They behave like they’re dogs.  They would come to you when they wistle at you, oops, when you wistle at them.

Okay, back to cooking documentary.  At this time, I also warmed up the Mexican rice sauce.  I had some left over rice, so I dumped the rice in there after the sauce was heated up.

Once the chicken was done, I set them aside to cool off a little bit.  Then I started chopping my green onions, the little bit of cilantro I had, and shredded a block of cheese.  I probably should have shredded 1 ½ block, you can always use more cheese.  You’ll see in the picture below.  After all that was done, I sliced the chicken into thin strips, and I also cut the chunk pineapple into two, in effort to make it thinner as well.

Then, I grilled the tortilla so that it would become a harden/crusty tortilla.  Then I set it aside.

Then I sprinkled some cheese on it.

Then the chicken went on top.

Pineapple was next.

Then I sprinkled some greenery stuff.

Sprinkled some more cheese.

Now, by this time I was in a hurry to get dinner ready on time – so I skipped the additional bbq sauce as stated in the recipe.

Then I topped it off with another grilled tortilla.   I used a spatula to lift the quesadilla, and put it back to the griddle until the cheese melted.  I also flipped it carefully to give it a good measure, making sure the cheese melted on the other side.

I put it on the dish, and I cut it up into 8 pieces.

I served it with the mexican rice, refried beans, make shift pico de gallo, and sour cream.  My hubby took a bite, and he said “It is good Baby”.  Even though I forgot the lime.

Note: As you can see, I could have put more cheese on the quesadilla.  Next time I will use both block of cheese.

Print recipe here.

Grilled chicken and pineapple quesadilla

Ingredients

  • 8 whole Flour Tortillas
  • Butter Or Margarine
  • 2 cups Grilled Pineapple, Sliced
  • 3 whole Boneless, Skinless Chicken Breasts
  • Salt And Pepper, to taste
  • 3 cups Monterey Jack Cheese, Grated
  • 1 whole Jalapeno, Sliced
  • Cilantro
  • Green onions, chopped
  • 3 Tablespoons Barbecue Sauce
Preparation Instructions

(To grill pineapple: cut wedges, stick on skewers, and grill over low heat. Cut into slices.)

(To pound chicken, place inside a Ziploc bag and pound with a mallet or large can to flatten to uniform thickness.)

Sprinkle with salt and pepper and Cajun spice (or cumin/cayenne, etc.) Drizzle olive oil on a grill pan and grill on both sides until done, brushing with barbecue sauce. Set aside and slice into very thin slices.

Warm griddle over medium heat and put sizzling butter or margarine in the pan. Slightly warm and toast tortillas on both sides, then remove from griddle and set aside.

To assemble, sprinkle four browned tortillas with grated Monterey Jack. Arrange chicken slices evenly over the surface. Add pineapple slices and jalapeno slices. Sprinkle on cilantro and green onions. If desired, drizzle extra barbecue sauce over the top. Add second browned tortilla on top of each one. (You’ll have four complete quesadillas at this point.)

Add to oven to warm, or back to skillet to warm, until cheese is melted. Cut each quesadilla into six wedges. Serve with sour cream, pico de gallo, and lime wedges.

This entry was posted in Chicken, Food, Main dishes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Grilled Chicken and Pineapple Quesadillas

  1. leashieloo says:

    You are really creative 🙂 I would look in my fridge and end up with boring grilled chicken breasts, I would never think to pair with pineapple!

    Like

    • axokuaci says:

      Thanks! But the credit should go to Pioneer Woman 🙂 Most of the time, I always have pineapple in the refrigerator. Hubby loves them! So, when I saw her recipe, I just had to try it and I did not regret it. Simply Recipes has a quesadillas recipe that pairs the chicken with apple… I haven’t try them yet… If I do, and I like it, I’ll be sure to blog about it. Thanks for stopping by, have a great day!

      Like

Leave a Reply

