Chocolate Trifle, an all time favorite.

Last week at the office, one of the ex-accountants came over to our area to say hello to us.  Somehow or another, the conversation turned into a food conversation, and he mentioned about one of the desserts that I had made before.  After a few guesses, I found out it was the Chocolate Trifle he was talking about.  I had not made this dessert for several years, so he proceeded to ask me to make this dessert for his birthday!

I had a hard time saying no, I guess because of my Asian culture.  Most Asians will not come out and say no; I guess this has something to do with saving face?  I just need to learn how to say no.  Big N and a big O.  NO.

Anyway, in wishing that his birthday would not be in the near term (maybe six months down the road, or already passed), I asked him when is his birthday.  I was not about to just make him a dessert just because he asked me.  I am nice, but not that nice.  He he… So, he said next Wednesday, and I told him that I would need to see his driver license to make sure he was not fibbing.  He went to his desk and grabbed his wallet, came back and showed me his driver license.  Well, Wednesday indeed was his birthday.  So, that’s the “hikmah dan hikayat” or “the story and history” of the Chocolate Trifle in the middle of the week.

I got the recipe from a magazine insert, maybe Cooking for Two, or Cooking Light, or Taste of Home years and years ago.  But if you search on the internet, some people might call it Death by Chocolate.  I’ll just call it Chocolate Trifle.  If you have a boss who likes to eat chocolate though, make sure you make this for him/her, and he/she would be nice to you as long as you promise to make it for him/her whenever he/she wants it..… ha ha..  Ok, after a quick search online, the recipe did come from Taste of Home.

Okay, so all you need is a box of brownie, yeah, a box of brownie.  You don’t want to make those heavenly triple chocolate brownies for this.  You just want to have a plain regular brownie, since it is going to be mixed with other stuff.  Okay, back to the ingredients, a box of brownie, water, oil, egg for the brownie mix, chocolate instant pudding mix, milk, Cool Whip, and heath bars.  If you cannot find Heath bars, you can use those toffee chips you can find at the baking aisle.   For some reason my HEB doesn’t carry this candy, and I can only find it in Kroger or CVS.

First you make the brownie by putting the brownie mix into a mixing bowl.

Make a dent in the middle, and put in the water….

Then oil….

And eggs.  I used three eggs because I wanted the brownie to be more cakie.

Stir it 50 times (that’s what the box says), otherwise you might end up with a rock brownie…  ha ha.. I guess I could use my meat mallet to demolish the rock brownie.

Then pour your brownie mixture into a greased baking pan.  Bake as directed and let it cool completely.

Then start making your chocolate pudding or wait until the brownie is done and cool.  The chocolate pudding takes only 2 minutes or so to set, so probably it is a better idea to wait until the brownie is done.  Otherwise you would end up with an empty bowl of chocolate pudding, and you would have to go back to the grocery store and get some more pudding mix.  See, to save time, I made my brownie the day before, and that way I did not have to wait until it cooled.  I did take the brownie out from the refrigerator and let it sit at room temperature an hour or two before I started making the pudding.

Pour in the pudding mix into a mixing bowl.  Note that I doubled up the chocolate pudding here.  I didn’t think a box of the 6 oz was enough, but 2 boxes of the 6 oz was too much, so I used 2 smaller boxes.

Then pour the milk into the bowl, and whisk until it is incorporated.

Set it aside and let the pudding set.

Then, you need to work on the heath bar next.  You need to break the candy bar into small pieces.  Somebody said they used a rolling pin and I tried that, and I just couldn’t get the hang of it.  I resorted to my meat mallet instead.  It got the job done pretty quick.   If you are a toffee lover, I would suggest that you break the candy while it is still in its wrapper.  Otherwise, you would have to go back to the grocery store for a second time, after the pudding incident.

So now, make your coffee.  Actually you can skip this step.  I wasn’t sure what the coffee was for, other than maybe making the brownie moist and not sucking the moisture out of the chocolate pudding and cause a crater in your trifle?  I’m not really sure.

Now you have all of your ingredients ready.  Now then, either use two forks, knifes, your hands, split the brownie into half, saving a half a cup for the topping, and start crumbling the brownie.  I used those handy dandy food gloves.  I know that Kelly, my friend, will be snickering when she reads this!!  Yes, we both have issues… ha ha… So first you crumble and layer half of the brownie into your trifle bowl.  If you don’t have a trifle bowl, you can use whatever bowl you have.  The beauty of this dessert is that it is pretty to look at from the side, if you have a clear glass bowl.  Once you dig in, it is a messy dessert and people just don’t care how it looks.  All they care would be getting their second helping or more of this delicious dessert.

Then you drizzle half of your coffee on top of the brownie.

Then pour half of the pudding on top of the brownie.  If you are a neat freak, you would do what I did.  Ha ha… I shook the bowl and used a spatula to make the pudding layer almost to a (somewhat) straight line… I told you I have issues…

Then, you layer the whipped cream on top of the pudding.

Now you can break open your candy bar, and sprinkle the crushed candy on top of the whip cream.

Then repeat the steps above again with the remaining brownie, coffee, pudding and whipped cream.  Guess who got to lick the spatula when it was all done?  Me!!! 🙂


When you get to the last layer of the heath bar, sprinkle the set-aside brownie as topping.

Voila!  A dessert can’t get any easier than this.  This is truly a crowd-pleaser.  If you have those mini trifle dishes, you can also make it into an individual size and make everybody happy that each of them got an equal serving.  No, there was no fight at the office over this dessert.  Although, Jennifer did try to prevent Hasan from finding out that this dessert was here.  Happy Birthday to Ali!

Here are some of the trifle frenzy pictures at the office.

Ali was digging into the chocolate trifle.  He’s the birthday boy!  Sorry ladies, the birthday boy is happily married and has two beautiful little girls.

This is Wesley, he was making some noises that is hard to type into words.  He was enjoying the trifle very much.

This is Derik folks,  he got caught in an action.  Then he complained again that I did not make anything for his birthday.

I didn’t have a picture of Scott, but he said “I want to hug you.”  Oh, and no hugging.  We didn’t want HR to come down and check out what was the hullabaloo.

Jennifer went ahead and ordered one for her birthday in October.  I told her to remind me again in October.  Oh, and she licked the bowl clean.  Just kidding.

This is the bowl before Jennifer licked it clean.. sorry, just kidding.  Oh, and I also sent this picture to Kim who happened to work really hard in Atlanta.  He said I was being mean to him.  See what happened when you are trying to be nice?

Oh, and next time, I need to bring a spatula to the office as well so Jennifer does not have to use her fingers…. 🙂

Print recipe here.

Chocolate Trifle

Ingredients

1 package (18-1/4 ounces) chocolate fudge cake mix

1 package (6 ounces) instant chocolate pudding mix

1/2 cup strong coffee

1 carton (12 ounces) frozen whipped topping, thawed

6 Heath bar (1.4 ounces each), crushed

Directions

Bake cake according to package directions. Cool. Prepare pudding according to package directions; set aside.

Crumble cake; reserve 1/2 cup. Place half of the remaining cake crumbs in the bottom of a 4-1/2 or 5-qt. trifle dish or decorative glass bowl.

Layer with half of the coffee, half of the pudding, half of the whipped topping and half of the crushed candy bars. Repeat the layers of cake, coffee, pudding and whipped topping.

Combine remaining crushed candy bars with reserved cake crumbs; sprinkle over top. Refrigerate 4-5 hours before serving. Yield: 8-10 servings.

This entry was posted in Chocolate, Dessert, Pudding and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Chocolate Trifle, an all time favorite.

  1. Olive Tree says:

    You’re killin’ me!! This looks sooooo good.

    Like

    • axokuaci says:

      It was good if I remember correctly? The last time I ate this thing was 2-3 years ago 🙂 People swarmed this trifle, and it was gone in less than 15 minutes. It was that good 🙂

      Like

  2. Huang Chiao-chuan says:

    An, nice blog, and nice posting too. Do u intend to keep it as a food blog?

    Like

    • axokuaci says:

      Thanks Chuan 🙂 I think it will be mostly a food blog, but I might add some thing about photos taking or travel. Or I guess I could create another blog(s) for the photos/travel.

      Like

  3. shagufta says:

    was looking for a recipe for a quick dessert for an event and this is it!!! thank you 🙂 wanted to know how much time in advance can I make this.. ? as I like to prepare before hand or do you suggest I make this the same day instead?

    Like

    • Anny says:

      I usually prepared this dessert the night before, and it will keep in the refridgerator overnight just fine. If you are in a time crunch, you can bake the brownie ahead of time, so you just have to assemble the night before? Thanks for visiting and enjoy this dessert 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

