Where’s the beef?

In my previous post, I mentioned we had steak with the scalloped potatoes.  Well, we did.  Hubby had gotten some prime steaks over the weekend to try.  We usually got the Choice Black Angus ribeye steaks.  Prime steaks are supposed the highest quality in steaks.  Choice is the next best one.  Since I am not an expert of steaks as my subject, I am inviting you to read more about steaks here and here.

Some of you might wonder, which part of the beef is ribeye steak.  Please see this link at Wikipedia to get a diagram of various beef cuts. Our favorite cut is the ribeye.  Usually the steak is marbled, so when you grill it, the fat marbling will cook off and blend its flavor into the steak.  I like T-Bone too, while hubby likes porterhouse.  I think porterhouse is way too big for me, so usually I chose T-Bone over porterhouse.

The way my hubby prepared the steak was really simple.  Salt, peppers, and garlic.  If you have a good cut of meat, you usually don’t have to put a lot of seasoning on it.  You want to taste the flavor of the meat, instead of covering the taste of the meat with seasoning.  This was something that I started getting used to a little bit by little bit.  Since I grew up in Indonesia, I was so used to with everything covered heavily in spices.  So this was somewhat a new concept that I started accepting in the past ten years.

Look how pretty these steaks were…  I am glad we don’t have a Fido, otherwise we would have to stand guard in the kitchen while the steaks were coming to a room temperature.

After awhile, hubby seasoned it with sea salt and fresh cracked white and black peppers.

He also rubbed in sliced garlic all over the steaks.  Do you know that garlic’s flavor really come out when you break its bulb?  Oh, I made him stopped his hand and did a photo shoot for the garlic.  He was rubbing it too fast and the picture came out blurry!

So, after he seasoned it, he set it aside and covered it with a moist paper towel to help keep the meat moist while rising to room temperature.

While he waited, he started the fire in the grill and smoked some sausages we got when we were in Austin.

The sausage was from Elgin, Texas.  See that wood smoking below the grill?  That was pecan wood.  Pecan wood is used commonly in Texas for grilling and smoking due to its mild flavor.

The steaks were ready to be grilled.  The grill had to be pretty hot to get the outside of the steak seared and captured all the juices inside the steak.  Usually the temperature need to be about 400 – 500 F.

After five minutes, hubby flipped the steak and let it sit for another five minutes.  How long you cook your steak is actually depends on how you like your steak.  If you like your steak rare, then it takes less time to cook the steak.  If you like your steak done, you must have a pretty strong jaw.  Usually a done steak is pretty tough – all the muscles were cooked all the way through, and usually the juice were cooked off, leaving the steak felt tough.

So once the steaks were done, we sat down and chowed down!

See how rare the steak looked? Some people would be turned off by this.  I was 10 years ago.  I had been reborn and actually can eat beef that is medium rare…  When I was growing up, the beef in Indonesia had beefy taste to me, so beef was not my favorite meat.  However, hubby introduced me to US beef, and since then I had a different opinion on beef.

So, we ate steaks, scalloped potatoes, smoked sausage, and to smooth our palates, we had the blackberry cobbler.

Oh, don’t you worry, I started my interval-cardio exercise back yesterday morning… Gotta burn off some of those calories baby!  Gotta keep off those pounds away!  I ate, and I exercise.  Crossing my fingers that I can keep off those pounds by exercising and still eat… I have no excuse.. I am just plain and simple.  I like to eat.  Don’t you?

This entry was posted in Beef, Food, Main dishes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment