Hot and Sweet Drumstick.. eh, Hot and Sweet Chicken

In attempt to balance our diet, especially after a heavy steak dinner on Sunday, I tried out a new recipe last night.  It’s called Hot and Sweet Drumstick.  But, since hubby cannot handle anything too spicy, I toned it down considerably.  Plus, I used chicken thigh instead of drumstick.  So, let’s call it Sweet Thigh… ugh.. that doesn’t sound too appealing eh?  How about just Sweet Apricot Chicken?  That sounds better.  Or, let’s just stick with Hot and Sweet Chicken…

The ingredients were pretty simple too.  You only need chicken, apricot preserves, soy sauce, garlic, ketchup, and hot pepper sauce.  Since I had to throw away my Sambal Oelek last week (it went bad), I only have the Indonesian Sambal ABC which is sweet, tangy, and not too hot, and Tabasco sauce, which is vinegrett-y. I chose the tabasco since I thought it was more neutral than the other one.

I started by combining the preserves, soy sauce, minced garlic, ketchup, and a dash of tabasco sauce.  Then I simmer this in a small pot pan until the preserves were melted.

Notice the ketchup I used?  It was a Whataburger ketchup!  Whataburger’s ketchup is the mother of ketchup, according to Anny.  Do you know why?  Their ketchup contains garlic!  The good stuff! 🙂  If you happened to have a Whataburger nearby, try their ketchup and do a comparison with the Heinz ketchup.  I think Whataburger’s tastes a lot better!  It has more flavor!

While the sauce was simmering, spray your baking dish with PAM Spray.  Then wash your chickens (I always wash my chickens… I don’t know why, habit I guess).  Then arranged them in the baking pan.

Pour the sauce on top of them, making sure the chickens were coated in sauce.

Bake  it uncovered for 45-50 minutes or until the internal temperature of the chicken reach 180F.

The chicken came out sweet, moist and it probably taste better if I put more hot sauce on it.

So to compensate, I put sliced serrano peppers on mine, and boy, those serrano peppers were hot!

I served this chicken with rice and some stir fry since I felt it has an Asian/Chinese twang in the recipe.  I am thinking that you can throw in some cut up pineapple and carrots, and it might become a sweet and sour chicken dish 🙂  Enjoy!

Print recipe here.

Hot and Sweet Drumstick
1 cup Apricot Preserves
½ cups Ketchup
¼ cups Soy Sauce
2 teaspoons Minced Garlic
2 teaspoons Hot Pepper Sauce
3 pounds Drumsticks (about 12)

Preparation Instructions
Preheat oven to 350F. In a small saucepan, combine preserves, ketchup, soy sauce, garlic and hot pepper sauce. Cook and stir over medium-low heat until preserves are melted.
Arrange drumsticks in a single layer on a 13 x 9″ baking pan. Pour sauce over drumsticks,
turning to coat. Bake, uncovered, for 40-45 minutes or until chicken is done, spooning sauce over drumsticks while baking. Serves 6.

This entry was posted in Chicken, Food and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hot and Sweet Drumstick.. eh, Hot and Sweet Chicken

  1. Cie Bin says:

    Adooow, menunya kok makin lama makin bikin ngiler aja. Kapan2 pasti harus coba bikin nih. Jojo is so smitten! Wks.

    Like

    • axokuaci says:

      hahaha… ya dicoba aja.. kan easy sekali. Ini si Nia kalo di Y ada oven’nya, dia bisa bikin. It’s easy, bisa dibikin left over lagi. Go Jojo!! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

