I say Potato, you say Potahto…

Last night, we had steaks for dinner.  Usually we would have baked potato and salad to go with our steak.  Well, I had a handful of left over new potatoes that needed to be eaten.  I also had a recipe of individual scalloped potatoes that seemed very easy to make.  So, one plus one becomes two right? In this case, left over potatoes and recipe = scalloped potatoes.

All you need is love… all you need is love…. (I don’t know why this song popped into my head as I was typing this… I know… the correct lyrics was “All you need is love”…crazy eh?) Ehm.. actually, all I needed was potatoes (duh…. ), butter, green onions, cheese, half and half, salt and pepper.

Wash the potatoes, or potahtoes (however you like to pronounce them), and make sure you poke some holes in them.  This way the potatoes will not blow up in your microwave and make a mess. Then, sprinkled some salt, and put a moist paper towel on top of them, and microwave them.  My microwave is a smart one, it has a potato button.  So I pressed that and let it worked on its own.

I didn’t have half and half, nor heavy cream, so, I made my own substitute by mixing a little bit of milk with melted butter…Make sure your milk was warming to room temperature and not cold.  The melted butter curdled once I poured it into cold milk.  I ended up warming it up a little bit in the microwave.  Stirred this mixture, and voila!  You have a half and half subsitute!

When the potatoes are done, they should be firm.  Sliced them and put them aside.  Also chopped your green onions at this time.

Now, spray your muffins pan with PAM spray.  I did not do this step, and I ended up with cheese and potatoes stuck to the pan lining. Then, put half a tablespoon of butter on each muffin pan.  Since I only had a few potatoes, I only put butter in the 10 muffin pans.

Then prepare your assembly line.  Layer each the muffin pan with potatoes, salt and pepper, shredded cheese, and green onion, and repeat layer as necessary.

When you finish layering your potatoes, put a little bit of butter on top and drizzle each with the half and half mixture.

Bake at 400 F for 20-25 minutes until the cheese is melted and the potatoes are brown.

For a variety, I think you can sprinkle with a little bit chopped bacon, and also, sprinkle some more fresh chopped green onion when you’re done. The potatoes were quite good, very buttery and the melted cheese just conquered your taste buds… Nothing beats such a simple dish such as scalloped potatoes. 🙂

Print recipe here.

Scalloped Potatoes

Ingredients

8 whole Medium Potatoes

1 stick Butter

1 cup Shredded Cheddar Cheese

½ cups Scallions, Chopped

12 teaspoons Half-and-half

Salt And Pepper

Preparation instructions:

Pierce potatoes with fork, sprinkle with salt, wrap in damp paper towel and microwave for 15 minutes. Potatoes should be firm. Set aside and let cool till they can be handled, then slice.

Place 1/2 Tbsp pats of butter in each mold of the muffin/cupcake pan, then a slice of potatoes, a pinch of salt and pepper, then cheese and scallions. Repeat layers: potato, salt & pepper, cheese, scallions. (I only did 2 layers, but I suggest going up to 3.) Top each mold with another pat of butter and drizzle each with 1 tsp of half-and-half.

Bake in the oven at 400 degrees for 20 – 25 minutes, until cheese is melted and potatoes are brown.  Sprinkle with additional fresh chopped green onions on top.

This entry was posted in Food, Potato, Side Dish and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

