Tomato Soup Cake….. Do whattt????

That was exactly my thought when I saw the recipe by tanyahollas in Tasty Kitchen.  Intrigued by the title, I read the recipe and tickled by this cake.  Most of the review said that it is just a spice cake, except it was made from tomato soup.

I actually had wanted to make it the day I found the recipe, and had wanted to bring it to work to surprise my coworkers… however, I didn’t have all of the ingredients and did not feel like stopping at the grocery store.   Not that I don’t love my coworkers…🙂 Have you ever stopped at the grocery store after work?  It’s a nightmare and you will never get out of there in a reasonable amount of time!

So, here are the ingredients… Note: as I was taking a picture of these ingredients… my hubby walked into the kitchen.  I told him that I was making a surprise cake, and his eyes veered over the ingredients; eyebrows knitted together and said “It has tomato soup in it?” ha ha…

See this beautiful bundt pan?  It’s my second bundt pan.  For the life of me, I could not find my first one.  I looked everywhere in the kitchen, and just could not find it.  So I stopped at BigLot and got me another bundt pan.  I was lucky.  It was a heavy professional pan, with a cheap price! $7.50!  So.. hopefully now that I have a new bundt pan, the old one will turn up….although, what would I do with two bundt pans?  I guess I can make a pumpkin-shaped cake eh?

I began by creaming crisco and sugar together.

It was my first time doing such a thing, so I had no clue what to expect.  I wasn’t sure if it would turn out like creaming butter and sugar or not… I gave it several minutes, and the consistency did not change much.  So I stopped the mixer and moved on to the next step…  Anybody out there had done this before?  If you do, please let me know if I should have continued beating the crisco and sugar until I reach a different consistency…

Oh, I went astray from the recipe and decided to add walnut.  I like walnut.  Do you?

I chopped them up a little bit, but not too small.  I like ’em chunky.

I combined the  ground cinnamon, ground cloves and ground nutmeg into a ramekin so I could easily pour them into the batter.

Then, in a separate bowl, I poured the tomato soup and mixed in the baking soda.

I stirred the soup, and weird thingy happened to this concoction.  It started to bubbly, I guess it was because of the baking soda reaction to the soup.  This reminded me of when I had to treat the drain using baking soda and vinegar… the word would be “bubbly!”

Then I poured this concoction into the crisco/sugar mixture..

After stirring it, the color was still resembled that of tomato soup…

Then, I poured the flour and the spices in the liquid mixture.

At this point, the color became…. ugly brownish color, not attractive at all..

Then I fold in the chopped walnuts..

Then the batter was ready to be poured.. or scooped into the greased bundt pan.  The batter’s consistency at this point was really thick.

Bake it at 350F, for about 55 minutes according to the recipe.  But the next time I bake this cake again, I will reduce the time to about 50 minutes.  It was almost over baked, a little tad too long in the oven.

Wasn’t the cake pretty?  I love it when certain cake produced cracks like that…. it added character I think.  Except, in this case, you wouldn’t be able to see it’s character, because it was going to be turned over.

I let it sit in the bundt pan for about 5 – 10 minutes before turning the cake over and put it in a wire rack to cool.

Then I waited a little while, until the cake almost cooled before I started making the cream cheese icing.

I was starting to understand that icing is really simple.  It always involves powdered sugar! Lots of it!

So I beat the softened cream cheese and the powdered sugar together until it became kinda smooth.  The consistency of the icing at this point was thick and it was going to slow your mixer down a little bit.  To thin it, add some milk into it.

This was how it looked like with milk. I added half a tablespoon of milk in addition to the two tablespoons of milk to get this consistency.

So.. now we were ready to ice!

I was thinking to put chopped walnut on top….. but I got lazy… so ….

Then, after dinner, we had this cake for dessert… it was yummy!  I decided that I really like this dense, moist cake, and I like the icing too!  I wish you were here with us.. I would have shared some of this cake with you…🙂

Print recipe here.

Tomato Soup Cake

Recipe adapted from tanyahollas

Ingredients

  • Cake
  • 4 Tablespoons Shortening/Crisco
  • 2 cups Granulated Sugar
  • 2 cans (10.75 Oz. Each) Condensed Tomato Soup
  • 2 teaspoons Baking Soda
  • 3 cups Flour
  • 2 teaspoons Cinnamon
  • 2 teaspoons Nutmeg
  • ½ teaspoons Ground Cloves
  • chopped walnut

FROSTING

  • 8 ounces, weight Cream Cheese, softened
  • 1 pound Powdered Sugar
  • 2 Tablespoons Milk, Or More To Reach Desired Consistency For Icing

Instructions:

Cream together shortening and sugar. In a separate bowl, combine the tomato soup and baking soda. Once combined, mix into the creamed sugar mixture. Add all other cake ingredients in the order listed. Spread into a prepared bundt pan and bake at 350F for approximately 50* minutes, until done. Let cool.

For make the cream cheese frosting, cream together powdered sugar and cream cheese in a bowl. Add enough milk to make it spreadable, usually about 2 tablespoons. Pour over the cooled cake.

*original recipe called for 55 minutes.  I will try to do 50 minutes next time, since the outer edges of the cake was a little bit too brown.

This entry was posted in Cake, Dessert and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tomato Soup Cake….. Do whattt????

  1. Lillian says:

    Thank you so much for mentioning what this tastes like! I just found this recipe on a cooking site and decided I just HAD to make it…but I wasn’t sure what it tasted like! I love spice cake, so I know I’ll love this too! Thanks again! Very cool recipe! =)

    Like

    • axokuaci says:

      You’re welcome Lillian🙂 My curiosity got the best of me, but I just had to try to make it. Everyone at the office was suspicious at first, but then, they decided that they liked the cake.

      Like

Leave a Reply

