Key….Lime Pie…

Remember when I said I had a lot of lemons and limes?   I used up most of the lemons, I only have two left… However, I still got a lot of limes in the refrigerator.  So, the day before the Mother’s Day, I decided that I would make a key lime pie.

I asked my mother-in-law what she would want for dessert for the Mother’s Day dinner, and she said she just wanted some fruit.  So, respecting her wishes, I baked the key lime pie Saturday afternoon, with the intention of eating the pie after dinner;  my hubby was smoking some brisket, spare ribs and sausages that night.    I thought that the key lime pie would go with the bbq just fine.  But I baked it too late in the afternoon and it did not have enough time to chill.. so we ended up eating it for dessert for Mother’s Day, along with the fruits.

So I looked up my Fannie Flagg’s Whistle Stop Cookbook, since I know she has a key lime pie recipe there.  She also has a recipe for a lemon ice box pie recipe… I was tempted to try that pie instead, but thinking of the limes I got… I resolved that I really need to do something about those limes.  I also looked up PW’s blog and searched for key lime pie.. sorta….

Both FF and PW use graham cracker crust, but PW has a recipe for it, while FF uses the store bought.  I never made a graham cracker crust before, so I thought I would try it.  Then, FF’s recipe called for three egg yolks, while PW’s called for two egg yolks.  FF’s recipe called for food coloring, and PW’s called for lime zest.

I decided that I want to try to twist FF’s recipe by eliminating the food coloring and instead of food coloring, I would add the zest.  I didn’t know why I picked FF’s.. maybe because of the amount of egg… I grew up on eggs… so I like eggs, I LOVE eggs!  Love it so much that my cholesterol was borderline…. !  That was several years ago folks, don’t worry, it is now under control and in normal range.. :)

So here we go…

See… I had almost ten of those limes!

The first step would be to make the graham cracker crust.  PW’s recipe called for 18 rectangles of graham crackers, so that was the whole two sleeves of crackers.  First I tried using ziplock bag and a pie dough roller.

I got impatient, and decided to try the blender instead.

It was at this moment I thought that I really need a food processor.  Then after all the crackers were crumbly, I pour them into a bowl, add the 1/3 cup of sugar and 1/3 cup of the melted butter.

I wasn’t sure about the end result of the crust.. Most of the crust looked to me just plain crumbs, not combined with the melted butter.   I was also wondering, how would it bind  each other and create a crust?

Despite my hesitation, I went ahead and put them and press them into the pie pan.

Then, I put the crust in the oven for 350F, as according to PW’s recipe.  Now, let me remind you that always reread your recipe… because you don’t want to repeat what I did Saturday… read on….

So, while the crust was baking, I started squeezing the limes to get 1/2 cup of lime juice.  I didn’t remember if I used 5 or 6 of them.. First I zest a couple of lime first, and set it aside.  After I squeezed the limes, I strained the juice since I didn’t want any of the pulp in the pie.  I wouldn’t know how it would taste if I left the pulp in there.. probably it would count toward your daily intake of fiber… but who’s counting here?

Then I added the 3 egg yolks and the condensed milk into the bowl..

Then I used a mixer to mix the egg, condensed milk, and the juice..  After all of it was incorporated, I threw in the zest, and stirred it a little bit.

Now, in the meanwhile, if your oven beeps at you, stop what you were doing, and check why your oven was beeping.  I heard the beep, turned it off, and continued squeezing the limes!  I ended up forgetting about the crust in the oven.  So, by the time I finished with making the filling for the pie, I remembered about the crust!!  Luckily it wasn’t burned… ha ha…

I pulled it out of the oven, and pour the filling into the crust.

Then, again, re-read your recipe.  Since I combined recipe here, I should have adjusted the oven to 325F, per FF’s recipe.  I forgot about it, and left it on 350F, and baked the pie for 30 minutes.  I almost ended up with a charred graham cracker crust! You can see that the edge of the crust was a little bit darker than it was supposed to be.

The end product.  Despite a couple of mishaps, it still turned out well.

My apology… the picture did not come out perfect.  I even retook the picture at work, using Misa’s piece as the object, it was still blurry… but I hope you still can capture the thickness, tartness and sweetness of this key lime pie… sorta (according to PW)….   ENjoy!

Print recipe here.

The recipe:

Crust
18 whole Graham Crackers (the 4-section Large Pieces)
1/3 cups Sugar
1/3 cups Butter, Melted

For the crust:
Preheat oven to 350F.  Crush crackers in a food processor or Ziploc bag. Pour them into a bowl and stir in sugar and melted butter. Press into a pie pan and bake for 5 minutes or until golden and set. Remove from oven and set aside to cool slightly.

For pie filling:
3 egg yolks
1 14 oz can sweetened condensed milk
½ cup concentrated lime juice or bottled key lime juice
Few drops green food coloring (optional)
1 9-inch graham cracker crust (see recipe above)
2 cups sweetened whipped cream or frozen, thawed whipped topping
lime zest

Preheat oven to 325F.  Beat first 4 ingredients in a mixing bowl until smooth.  Pour into graham cracker crust; bake for 30 minutes.  Cool completely; cover and chill.  Spread whipped cream on top before cutting.

This entry was posted in Dessert, Pie, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

