Easy Night….

Tonight was an easy night.  Once a week, we eat a lot of salad for dinner.  This is how I make sure my hubby gets his veggies.  Usually I just oversized the salad, throw in a bunch of different stuff into a dinner plate, and serve it with some ready-made grilled chicken strip or chicken nuggets.  But, tonight I decided I would try this recipe from PW’s Tasty Kitchen. Baked Chicken Fingers. I had all the ingredients and felt like messing with it.  Why not?

I also figured that if you make it your own, it will be healthier.  It won’t have the extra salt most prepared foods have, it won’t have any preservatives and a kilometer long of some chemical ingredients that would twist your tongue if you try to pronounce them!  I’m not a health freak… but sometimes I do watch what I put into my body… (except for food ending with the “os” 😉 )

I just started by defrosting two frozen chicken breasts, and pounded the breasts into about similar thickness.  This way, the chicken would be cooked evenly.

Then I grabbed my favorite cleaver, big ol’ cleaver.. 🙂 and sliced the chicken breast into several long strips.  You would think that a regular santoku would do the job… but, I just felt like holding into a cleaver!  Not sure why!

Then, I mixed in the bread crumbs, oregano, salt, pepper, regular chili powder (I don’t have the Chipotle chili powder) and I crushed the Parmesan cheese.  I did not really measure them per the recipe, since I was only using 2 chicken breasts.  I just eyeballed the ingredients and did several taste tests.  Seriously.. I prefer baking than cooking.  Baking is an exact science.  Cooking… adjust to taste… blah…. I’m just not good at this…


Then, after a couple of adjustments, I just sprayed the chicken fingers with PAM spray.  I would have to spray the cookie sheet with PAM anyway, so why not the chicken too?  I know… Swi.. you’re rolling your eyes on this.. I know, you said it’s full of chemical and stuff… but, it’s easy!  Easy peasy!  That’s what make life peachy!

So, after all chicken looks like coated with PAM, I dredged them in the mixture, and put them in the baking sheet.

After baking 10 minutes, I flipped the chicken, and baked another 5.  Then we sat down and had our dinner salad.

The chicken was moist, quite tasty, and had a hint of spicy-ness from the chili powder.  It would probably be a lot better if you deep fried it! Ha ha..  But it was not bad, and I was pretty pleased with the moistness of the chicken.  Usually when I cook chicken, it ended up a hard, dried up pieces of chicken.  I told you I prefer to bake!

Here is the recipe if you want to try…

Print recipe here.

* 8 strips Chicken (you Can Used Halved Chicken Breast)
* 2 Tablespoons Vegetable Oil
* 1 cup Bread Crumbs
* 2 Tablespoons Grated Parmesan Cheese
* 1 teaspoon Crumbled Dried Oregano
* 1 teaspoon Chipotle Chili Powder
* ½ teaspoons Salt
* ¼ teaspoons Black Pepper

Preparation Instructions

1. Start by preheating the oven to 400°F. If you’re not using a non-stick baking sheet, spray your pan with a non-stick vegetable spray.

2. Cut each of the chicken breasts into long strips, creating “fingers.”

3. Place chicken in a bowl and add oil and coat breasts thoroughly.

4. In a separate bowl, stir together bread crumbs, Parmesan, oregano, chili powder, salt and pepper.

5. Add bread crumb mixture to chicken and mix to coat thoroughly. Don’t be afraid to use your hands. If you want to be cleaner, transfer chicken and bread mixture to a Ziploc bag and shake to coat thoroughly. Arrange on your baking sheet.

6. Bake for 10 minutes, turn each finger over and bake for an additional 5 to 10 minutes. Cook until they are nicely browned and cooked through. Feel free to use the broiler for a few minutes to get an extra crisp on the top!

Serve with dipping sauce of your choice.

This entry was posted in Chicken, Main dishes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

