Creamy Lemon Crumb Square

I bought too many lemons (and limes) lately, always forgetting to check the refrigerator before I go to the grocery store to see if I have any, and if I do, how many… So, just to be on the safe side, I always grabbed some from the grocery store.  After all, it’s only 4 for a dollar right?

So, I today I dug around the refrigerator, and boy oh boy, I got tons of lemons and limes!!   I am exaggerating of course 😛 I’ll be in trouble with my husband if I really have tons of lemons and limes!  I was wondering, do I want to use up the lemons or lime… I counted the lemons, counted up the limes.. I got plenty of for both.

I downloaded Pioneer Woman’s recipe for MM’s grandma’s creamy lemon crumb squares some time last week and decided to give it a try.  Oh, I also checked my pantry to see if I have a can of sweetened condensed milk.  I did!

I gathered all what I needed, surprised that I didn’t need 2 sticks of butter!  That is so unlike PW!

 

First I mixed the butter and sugar.  I got lazy in taking out the mixer, so I just used pastry knife instead.  Boy, I got some arm work up.  Maybe one day I’ll get those nicely defined upper arm from all these baking?

 

Then, I stirred together flour, salt and baking powder.   Sorry folks, no picture for this.  You can’t tell which one is which! 🙂  Then, went in the flour mixture and oats into the butter mixture.  I wondered what the oat does?  Does it has the counter effect of the lowering the LDL cholesterol offered by the butter in this dessert?  At this time I just used spatula to mix all in until it resembles coarse mixture…

 

For a good measure, I sprayed the pan w/ the magic baking spray, although the recipe didn’t ask for it.  I didn’t want to have to pry the lemon squares out of the pan.  I did occasionally have accidents in baking (skipping a step because I did not read carefully).

I put half of the crust mixture into the pan, and press those crumbs with spatula.  But then I decided to press the crust mixture with my fingers.  It felt different somehow, I think I probably created a better, hardy crust when I used my fingers (or, it’s all just in my imagination ……..).

 

Next step I squeezed those lemons.  I only have 3 lemons on the picture above, and of course I needed more.  Good thing I had plenty of lemons!  Of course I should have zest the lemons before I squeezed them, oh well..  After I got all the zest I needed, I mixed the zest, juice, and condensed milk and stirred it until all is combined well.

 

As I was trying to pour this thing into the pan, the gravity is having a hard time to pull this thing out of the bowl!  Plopped…. I only got a little drop.

 

So thanks to the people who created spatula, I scooped them out, and spread it all around the pan evenly as I could.  Then I sprinkled the rest of the crumbs on top of this creamy stuff and popped this beauty into the oven.

 

After taking it out of the oven and let it cool for 30 minutes, I cut it up and put it into the refrigerator to cool.  During dinner, I negotiated with my husband that we’ll share half; I couldn’t wait until I get to the office tomorrow to try it.   Now that I recalled, I don’t think he ever agreed to that.  So, I took two bites and ate my half and gave him the other half, and he bite half of the half and returned it to me!  Hahh! Now I have to do extra cardio in the morning!

 

Up close and personal…..

 

I like the taste and the consistency of the crust mixture, it is crunchy and buttery.  The lemon part though, I knew it would be too sweet for me because of the condensed milk.   Even though I like to bake dessert, I don’t usually like to eat them.  I guess lucky me? 🙂 Or, to be more exact, lucky co-workers?  I am more a salty – crunchy chips kinda person… Overall, it is a pretty good dessert and easy to make!

Print recipe here.

Ingredients

* 1-1/3 cup All-purpose Flour
* ½ teaspoons Salt
* 1 teaspoon Baking Powder
* 1 stick (1/2 Cup) Butter, Slightly Softened
* 1 cup Brown Sugar (lightly Packed)
* 1 cup Oats
* 1 can (14 Ounce) Sweetened Condensed Milk
* ½ cups Lemon Juice
* Zest Of 1 Lemon

Preparation Instructions

PREHEAT OVEN TO 350 DEGREES.

Mix butter and brown sugar until well combined.

Sift together flour, salt, and baking powder.

Add oats and flour to butter/sugar mixture and mix to combine.

Press half of crumb mixture into the bottom of an 8 x 11 inch pan.

Mix together condensed milk, lemon juice, and lemon zest. Spread onto the bottom layer of the crumb mixture. Top with the other half of the crumb mixture, but don’t press.

Bake for 20 to 25 minutes, or until golden brown.

Allow pan to sit on counter for 30 minutes after baking. Cut into squares and refrigerate for a couple of hours or until cool.

Serve cool.

This entry was posted in Dessert, squares and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

