Schnitzel night..

Well, I’ve been mulling over if I want to start blogging or not, mainly to capture the memories of my baking,  family, amateur photography, and traveling… I have been using Facebook to share pictures with my friends and family, but, you can’t use Facebook for mundane details in baking or cooking, or detail stories of your traveling… So here it is…  my first entry would be my reliving our Germany trip several years ago…we stopped by at Willie Scherer’s in Maβweiler, where my husband used to be stationed..   Willie serves the best Jaegerschnitzel I have ever eaten.  Being near the French border, the people here has influences of French cooking as well.

Here is Willie’s Gasthous, Willie himself, and the infamous Willie’s Jaegerschnitzel.. 🙂

So, I searched online for this recipe, and found it several years ago.  Sadly, I could not find the website again, but the recipe is really similar to this Schnitzel recipe.

First, you rinse and pat dry your pork chops.  Then, to make clean up a little easier, I just lined up my counter space with saran wrap.  I put the meat on there, and layer another saran wrap.  Then I pound the chops with the meat hammer.

Then, sprinkle meat with fresh cracked black pepper, salt, and paprika.

Beat the eggs in shallow bowl, and prepare your assembly line.

Once you’re ready, dip the meat into the egg mixture on both sides, then roll both sides into the flour, dip it again into the egg mixture, and finally, dip both sides into the bread crumbs and make sure every surface is coated.

Heat your oil in a pan in medium high heat, fry the chops until golden brown on both sides.  Serve the schnitzel with pommes frites, or mash potato.

For the jaegersosse, I just combined a regular American brown gravy recipe, and added the sauteed mushroom and onion in it.  Or you can also buy the gravy mix from the grocery store, but I found out that the mix is too salty for me.  So I decided to give this recipe I found online a try.  Note that I adjusted the recipe since there are only two of us who will be eating this gravy with the schnitzel.

I love mushrooms!!! Look at these beautiful mushrooms!  I can eat them just like that!!!

First I sauteed the onion and mushroom, make sure that all or most of the juice is cooked off, otherwise, you will have a runny gravy.

Once you have your sauteed mushroom and onion ready, set it aside. In another pot, melt some butter.  Then add the flour, keep stirring and cook for about 5 minutes, until it smells like pie crust.  I love the smell of pie crust too!  Nothing beats the smell of combination of butter and flour! Now, do you know that you just made a roux??

Once it smells like pie crust, put in the garlic, and cook for 30 seconds.

Add a cup of the beef broth, and then add the ketchup and Worcestershire sauce, except salt and pepper.  At this time, I also added the sauteed mushroom and onion, and let the gravy simmer for 20 minutes, and stirred it occasionally.

Then, taste it, and add the pepper, and salt as necessary.  You can also use low sodium beef broth to cut the sodium amount.

So now, you have it ready!  Serve the schnitzel with french fries, or mash potatoes, sliced lemon, and you can sprinkle some chopped parsley into your gravy!  Yum!!

Print recipe here.

Schnitzel der kotletts

4 boneless pork chops/sliced tenderloin
1/2 cup flour (I used more)
1/2 cup plain bread crumbs (same here, I used more)
salt, pepper, paprika
3 eggs
1/2 cup oil (I probably used more too)

Rinse meat under cold water, pat dry with a paper towel and tenderize on both side.  Sprinkle meat on both sides with salt, pepper and paprika.
Beat eggs and dip both sides of meat into the mixture.
Roll both sides in flour, then dip into the blended egg again.
Now dip both sides into the bread crumbs.

In a large skillet, heat the oil and fry the chops on both sides over medium heat for about 20 minutes or until both sides are crisp and golden.

After meat is done, pat with paper towel to remove excess oil.

American Brown gravy

* 1/2 cup butter
* 1/2 cup flour
* 1 clove garlic, minced
* 1/4 cup ketchup
* 1 tsp Dijon mustard
* 1 tbsp Worcestershire sauce
* 1 quart cold beef broth (as high-quality as possible!)
* salt and black pepper to taste

one onion, chopped
one box mushroom, sliced

Preparation:

Sauteed mushroom and onion until golden brown, set aside.

In a saucepan, melt the butter over medium-low heat. Add the flour and cook, stirring, for 5 minutes, until the mixture is golden-brown and smells like cooked pie crust. Add the garlic and cook for 30 seconds. Whisk in a cup of the cold beef broth, and then add the rest of the ingredients, except the salt and pepper.

At this time, put the sauteed mushroom and onion into the pan.
Bring to a simmer, whisking, and then reduce the heat to low and simmer for 20 minutes, stirring occasionally. Taste, and season with salt and pepper.

This entry was posted in Main dishes, Pork and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Schnitzel night..

  1. Olive Tree says:

    Looking good. Jadi lapar nih.

    Like

  2. elly garner says:

    I tried this… easy and yummy…..

    Like

Leave a Reply

