No Bake Cookies and Cream Bars

I think Pinterest is somewhat borderline evil.  I mean, I cannot go to Pinterest and look for “stuff” for just a minute.  A minute turns into two minutes, and then it drags on to half an hour, and if I let myself, it could continue on for days.  I will sit there in my pajamas, and keep clicking and pinning, and Hubby has to tear me off the laptop.  Or worst yet, cancel the Internet connection.  I mean, the site is so full of delicious looking goodies and projects and ideas that I would run out of time to try all of the nifty ideas and recipes in my life time.  If you have not been exposed to Pinterest, then count your blessing.  But then, you are missing out on a bunch of great stuff.  So, if you decide to check it out, do so at your own risk.  I am in no way responsible to your possible addiction to Pinterest.  That is my disclaimer and I’m sticking to it.

While you’re wondering why I am rambling on about Pinterest in a food blog, well, it’s because I found this recipe on Pinterest.  The origin of the pin was traced back to Sweet Pea’s Kitchen, where she described her beautiful wedding in the Cayman Islands and her anniversary dinner.  Then she shared with us this yummy treat, No Bake Cookies and Cream Bars, a recipe from Picky Palate.  A few comments on Pinterest said that these bars can be used as “Lump of Coal” for Christmas, or I guess, even for Halloween due to the black color.  Plus, I had the grandkids when I made this, so they were my guinea pigs and they did not complain at all.

Marshmallows, Oreo cookies, and butter.  That’s it!  The recipe called for large marshmallows, but I had small ones.  So I used that instead.

 

First thing was to ground the Oreo cookies.  No grandkids involved in this process, so all cookies from the package were accounted for.  Granny did not cheat and nibble at these cookies either.  Aren’t you proud of me?

 

This sure does remind me of coal dust… :)

 

Then I melted the marshmallows and butter in a large, microwave safe bowl.  I still used the measurement of 5 cups marshmallows, so I’m sure I had more marshmallows than what I needed.  But I figured that it was better for me to have extra melted marshmallows than lacking some.

 

Then I poured the ground Oreos into the marshmallow bowl and tried my best to mix this up.  I kept forgetting to spray the bowl and the spatula, so some of the mixture stuck to the spatula and the edges of the bowl.  The butter helped, but I need to remember to spray next time.

 

Then I scraped the mixture into a 9 x 9 baking pan, lined with greased parchment paper.  Note:  if you decide to use wax paper instead, spray the wax paper as well.  This is a major sticky bar.  Even the wax paper will stick to it if you don’t spray it with cooking oil.  I say this from experience.  I made a second batch and decided to use wax paper instead, and oh boy, I had to spend a few minutes peeling wax paper off these bars.

 

Then, instead of trying to smooth the bar out with a spatula and my fingers, I just covered the bar with plastic wrap, then put another 9 x9 baking pan on top, and pressed to flatten and smooth the surface of this mixture.

 

I let it sit at room temperature, and to speed it up (Grandkids are not patient), I put the baking pan into the refrigerator.

Then, when it was time to cut it up, I just lifted the bar out of the pan by holding the edges of the parchment paper.  Cut it up into 16 pieces.  Holding one piece for a closer inspection…

 

And there you go.  The boys gobbled it up, and they liked it a lot.  Blake said that it was really good, and kind of chewy and sticky to your teeth.  Kameron even went so far as to ask me to make a batch for him to take back home (hence my second batch with the wax paper).

 

So if you’re looking for an easy, quick treat to make, this is one of them.  Thank you Sweet Pea for finding and sharing this recipe!  Thank you Picky Palate for creating this recipe!

Print recipe here.

No Bake Cookies and Cream Bars
Recipe found from: Sweet Pea’s Kitchen, courtesy Picky Palate

Ingredients:

1 – 16 oz package Oreo cookies
5 cups large marshmallows
4 tbs butter

Preparation:

Ground Oreo cookies finely with a food processor.
Line a 9 x 9 baking pan with parchment paper or wax paper, spray with cooking spray.  (Important, this is sticky treat)
Melt the marshmallows and butter in a microwave safe bowl.
Mix in together the Oreo crumbs and melted marshmallow, poured into the prepared pan.
Press the mixture together with your spatula or finger tips.
To make a smooth surface, line the top with plastic wrap, put another 9 x 9 baking pan on top, and press.
Let cool to room temperature before cutting into bars.

This entry was posted in Bars and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to No Bake Cookies and Cream Bars

  1. These turned out great!! I am so happy that you and your boys enjoyed them! :)

  2. kat says:

    Oh my gosh, amazing idea!!

  3. Pingback: No Bake Cookies | Lessons Learnt Journal

Leave a Reply

