Honey Corn Bread

For someone that doesn’t indulge in a lot of sweets, I do like Honey Cornbread.  I found out that I like the HEB brand of the Honey Corn Bread mix very much.  For one thing, it has the right sweetness, and I would eat a whole pan of corn bread made out of that mix.  It is quite cheap as well; I believe it costs about 99 cents per pack.  Lately though, I guess I got my cooking kick back again, since I wanted to make something.  So I googled Honey Corn Bread recipe, and of course, there are tons of variations of the recipe out there.

Due to Google’s ranking system, the recipe by Patrick and Gina Neely from The Food Network came up on the top of the search results.  So I just clicked on it, and read the recipe.  It also has a video so you that can watch that particular section of the show.  Gina made hers as muffins though, and I prefer mine in a small cast iron skillet.  I used to not like baking corn bread in a cast iron skillet, since the bread tended to stick to the skillet.  However, I recently found out that, I need to grease it well (which I do), and, while the oven is preheating, stick the iron skillet in it as well.  Once the iron skillet is heated, whenever you pour the batter, the batter will sizzle and create a crust.  And this crust will not stick to the skillet.  It was a wonder!  Such a simple solution!  I should have googled this a long time ago.

Anyway, to make corn bread, it is not complicated at all.  The ingredients are very simple too.  Yellow cornmeal, all purpose flour, baking powder, sugar, salt, milk, egg, melted butter, and honey.

 

Now I halved the recipe since I planned on using the 6-inch cast iron skillet.  I didn’t want to end up with corn bread out of the wazoo.  So I poured the yellow corn meal into a mixing bowl.

 

All purpose flour…

 

Baking powder…

 

Sugar…  Now, with halving of the recipe, it came out as ¼ cup of sugar.  This was a tad bit too sweet for me.  So the recipe listed below is adjusted to have less sugar.  But if you like it sweet, it might be perfect for you.

 

Salt…

 

And mixed them up.

 

There!  The corn bread mix is ready!  I actually made another batch for the next corn bread, and put it in an air tight container.  So whenever I want to have corn bread, I just need to add the liquid ingredients.

 

In my measuring cup, I added the milk and honey…

 

Beaten egg…

 

Melted butter, beat it well…  Next time I will melt the butter in the measuring cup so I have less stuff to wash!

 

Then I poured the liquid into the dry ingredients.

 

Using a spatula, I mixed it until I didn’t see flour anymore.

 

Then lastly, I added thawed, drained, frozen corn kernels. I wanted to have the bits of corn here and there in the bread.

 

I poured the batter into my greased, preheated iron skillet…

 

And the amount of the batter was perfect!  I was afraid that I would have too much batter, but nope.  It was just right.

 

I baked it at 400F for 25-28 minutes, until the top was golden brown, and a toothpick inserted in the middle of the bread came out clean.

 

I cut one-eighth of the corn bread…. Smeared it with a little butter on top…

 

The bread was moist and sweet.  There was minimal crumble, and it was just a perfect corn bread.

 

Yum.  O!  Definitely a keeper!

Print recipe here.

Honey Corn Bread

Recipe adapted from Patrick and Gina Neely via Food Network

Ingredients:

  • ½ cup yellow cornmeal
  • ½ cup all-purpose flour
  • ½ tablespoon baking powder
  • 1/8 cup granulated sugar
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • ½ cup whole milk
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/4 stick butter, melted
  • 1/8 cup honey
  • ½ cup frozen corn kernels, thawed and drained

Preparation:

Preheat the oven to 400F, and put a well-greased 6-inches cast iron skillet into the oven. Make sure all ingredients are in room temperature. Combine all dry ingredients together in a medium mixing bowl. In a small mixing bowl, add the liquid ingredients together, beat until incorporated. Pour liquid into the dry ingredients, mix well. Take out the cast iron skillet out of the oven; pour the batter carefully into the cast iron skillet. Bake for 25-28 minutes, until golden brown. To test the doneness, use a toothpick. Insert the toothpick in the middle of the bread; if it comes out clean, then it is done.

This entry was posted in Bread and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

