Bruschetta with Tomato and Basil

Okay, so now that the previous post is out of the way, I can continue writing this post. :)

For the longest time, I thought Bruschetta was the stuff on top of the slice of toasted bread, until Hubby told me that the proper name is actually Bruschetta topping.  Huh?  My world had been turned upside down.  Right then and there I was confused and looked forlorn when I heard that.  I had to purge this old information from my brain and had to reformat my hard drive, and then filed this new information into my brain.  Do you know how long it takes to reformat hard drive nowadays?  Especially since I’m not a youngin, it would take forever!  And the other thing is, you just don’t want to start messing with my head…  I would turn into this nasty, greenish, shrewish person, and if you give me a pointy hat and a broom, I would be the wicked witch of the West!

Also, it doesn’t help that when you go to the grocery store you see these jars of toppings with Bruschetta labels slapped on them.  One couldn’t help but thinks that Bruschetta is that stuff on top of the bread and not the toasted bread itself.  Yes, Bruschetta actually means sliced (stale) bread, toasted (on top of charcoal), and then rubbed with garlic and drizzled with olive oil.  So there!  I put some words in parentheses since you don’t have to use stale bread – you can use fresh bread and you can toast it in your toaster oven or a griddle.

So one day, Hubby downloaded and printed Elise’s recipe for the toppings.  It was quite simple actually, all I needed was tomatoes, garlic, basil, olive oil, balsamic vinegar, and pepper.  Since I only had three Roma tomatoes in my possession with me at the time, I snatched the vine ripe tomatoes as well.

 

First I got the tomatoes ready by peeling their skin first.  To see how I peeled the tomatoes, please see this post.  ;)  Then I cut the tomatoes into halves and deseeded them by inserting one or two fingers into the tomato’s locular cavity.  I pulled the seeds out by pressing against the septa and sometimes pulled out the placenta as well.  Wait a minute!  Is this a science blog or a food blog?

 

Ha…. I found this image and I just couldn’t help myself using this new vocabulary!  If you don’t use it, you lose it, right? :D

After I deseeded all of the tomatoes, I minced the garlic and picked and washed the basil leaves.

 

Then I cut up the tomatoes into cubes.  This is one thing that I don’t understand about me.  The unsightly shapes of chopped tomatoes just bothers me a lot.  I prefer to take time to cut up the tomatoes into cubes.  I don’t know why!

 

Then the garlic went into the mixing bowl…

 

I added a tablespoon of olive oil…

 

Balsamic vinaigrette…

 

Mixed them all up…

 

Then I dumped in the cut up basil leaves…

 

Salted and peppered it…

 

Mixed it and poured it into a serving bowl…

 

Sliced the bread…

 

Toasted both sides of the bread on the griddle…

 

Then I rubbed garlic on the toast…

 

Drizzled a slice of toast with olive oil…

 

Scooped up some of the toppings on top… and it was yummy.  I could eat the Bruschetta by itself and I would go to heaven…  The addition of the tomato and basil topping was nice.  Hubby even smeared some goat cheese on his.  Thank you Elise for another winner’s recipe! :)

 

Print recipe here.

Bruschetta with Tomato and Basil Recipe
Recipe by Simply Recipes
Prep time: 15 minutes Cook time: 10 minutes

Ingredients:
6 or 7 ripe plum tomatoes (about 1 1/2 lbs)
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 Tbsp extra virgin olive oil
1 teaspoon balsamic vinegar
6-8 fresh basil leaves, chopped.

Salt and freshly ground black pepper to taste
1 baguette French bread or similar Italian bread
1/4 cup olive oil

Method

1. Prepare the tomatoes first. Parboil the tomatoes for one minute in boiling water that has just been removed from the burner. Drain. Using a sharp small knife, remove the skins of the tomatoes. (If the tomatoes are too hot, you can protect your finger tips by rubbing them with an ice cube between tomatoes.) Once the tomatoes are peeled, cut them in halves or quarters and remove the seeds and juice from their centers. Also cut out and discard the stem area. Why use plum tomatoes instead of regular tomatoes? The skins are much thicker and there are fewer seeds and less juice.

2. Make sure there is a top rack in place in your oven. Turn on the oven to 450°F to preheat.

3. While the oven is heating, chop up the tomatoes finely. Put tomatoes, garlic, 1 Tbsp extra virgin olive oil, vinegar in a bowl and mix. Add the chopped basil. Add salt and pepper to taste.

4. Slice the baguette on a diagonal about 1/2 inch thick slices. Coat one side of each slice with olive oil using a pastry brush. Place on a cooking sheet, olive oil side down. You will want to toast them in the top rack in your oven, so you may need to do these in batches depending on the size of your oven. Once the oven has reached 450°F, place a tray of bread slices in the oven on the top rack. Toast for 5-6 minutes, until the bread just begins to turn golden brown.

Alternatively, you can toast the bread without coating it in olive oil first. Toast on a griddle for 1 minute on each side. Take a sharp knife and score each slice 3 times. Rub some garlic in the slices and drizzle half a teaspoon of olive oil on each slice. This is the more traditional method of making bruschetta.

5. Align the bread on a serving platter, olive oil side up. Either place the tomato topping in a bowl separately with a spoon for people to serve themselves over the bread, or place some topping on each slice of bread and serve. If you top each slice with the tomatoes, do it right before serving or the bread may get soggy.

Serves 6-10 as an appetizer. Or 3-4 for lunch (delicious served with cottage cheese on the side.)

Yield: Makes 24 small slices.

This entry was posted in Appetizer and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

