S’more Rice Krispie Squares

When the boys were here, I did not completely shun baking due to the 100-degree weather.   I compromised.  I baked one batch of brownies since Blake reminded me that I haven’t baked any brownies for him yet.   The boy waited until three days before he leaves to remind me of that.  Darn!  I thought I would get away without baking when they were down here.

Instead of Nigella’s Triple Chocolate Brownies that Blake really liked, I baked Bobby Flay’s Throwdown Peanut Butter Caramel Swirls Brownies.  I wanted Blake to try these other brownies and see if he likes them.

Well, he gobbled up two pieces the first time I served it!  I asked him which one he likes better; he said each brownie has its own qualities.  Smart answer!  :)  But, he then asked me, “Granny, can you bake these brownies during my open house?”   By “these” means he wanted both recipes to be baked for him.  So I guess I cannot get away without baking during his High School Graduation open house in two years.  I can’t enjoy and relax while Hubby sweats outside on his smoker to smoke the brisket….  Sigh….  Oh well, he might forget about his request… and there is no guarantee Granny will remember this request either.   :)

Kameron on the other hand, still hasn’t developed a palate for dark chocolate.  So, I decided to make Rice Krispie treats for him.  I saw this recipe from PW’s Tasty Kitchen and I thought, that sure looks easy to make!  Plus it won’t heat up the house!

I had a bag of large marshmallows in my pantry and I also already had chocolate chips, butter and vanilla.  The only thing I need to get from the grocery store was the cereal and graham crackers.  The recipe called for small marshmallows, but marshmallow is marshmallow right?

I grabbed the store brand rice cereal, which came in a pretty large box.  When Blake saw the cereal box, he said “Granny, couldn’t you get a bigger box?”  I noticed his sarcasm, which he got from his grandpa.  Well, if they really like it, I can make some more and use up the whole box of cereal right?

 

So after dinner, I started making this treat.  I dumped a couple handfuls of marshmallows, butter and vanilla into a large bowl…

 

Put the bowl inside the microwave and pushed some buttons.  Two minutes, three minutes, I peered into the glass door and saw nothing much happening.  The marshmallows puffed up a little bit, but other than that, they did not dissolve into the liquid mass like the blog showed me.  I punched more buttons to add some more minutes to it, and still, nothing happened.  I squashed the marshmallows with a spatula, and it only molded the somewhat melted marshmallow into a glob of white rubber consistency.  And I got sticking marshmallows on my spatula!  Stirred as I might, nothing budged the marshmallow monster.  Yes, that’s what I called it.  A monster in my kitchen!

Then, I decided, well, how about if I try to melt it in a pot pan?  So I turned the bowl upside down, and the monster insisted on clinging to the bowl.  Grr… at this point I was growling.  It was a good thing that the kids were too busy watching TV, and they didn’t hear their Granny growling.  Finally, with the help of the spatula, I was able to get most of the monster out of the bowl and into the pot.  I turned up the heat, and still nothing happened!  If any of the marshmallows melted, it was just teeny tiny, I still had a mass of rubbery marshmallow monster.  Finally I gave up.  I threw the monster into the garbage can, since I didn’t want to clog up my drain.

I felt defeated.  This was supposedly a very easy treat.  A kid could do it… and I botched it badly.  I could make the homemade caramel in Bobby’s Peanut Butter’s Brownies, but I couldn’t even make Rice Krispie Treats?  So I told the boys that I botched it, and that I threw it away.  Blake attempted to help out, but it was too late.  The monster resided inside the garbage can.  But the kids were not disappointed; they were still full with dinner.

Then next day, during lunch hour, I went to CVS to see if they sell marshmallows.  They do, but they were the big marshmallows!  I looked at the bag, and there it was, a Rice Krispie recipe.  So the large marshmallows could be utilized to make this treat.  There was just something wrong with the bag of marshmallows I had at home.

So I grabbed a bag and decided to give it another go and see what happened.  I won’t recap the first few steps of the process, so just pretend that nothing happened and that I was making Rice Krispies treat smoothly.  Take two!

So, after putting the marshmallows into the microwave for two minutes, the marshmallows started to fluff up.

 

A few more seconds, the marshmallows threaten to overflow the bowl.  Next time I need to use a gigantic bowl instead of this one.

 

After 3-4 four minutes, the marshmallows turned into a gooey mess and I smiled.  :)  This what I was looking for the night before.

 

I added the cereal into the bowl…

 

Graham crackers…

 

Chocolate chips… and mixed them up really quick.  The melted marshmallows hardened quite fast, so I had to stir quickly.  But the warmth of the marshmallows also melted the chocolate chips.  Maybe I’ll throw the chips into the freezer a little bit next time to prevent them from melting?

 

Then, I transferred the mixture into a greased Pyrex baking pan.  Using a plastic food glove sprayed with PAM, I patted the mixture down.  Then I put the dish into the refrigerator to cool off.

 

Then after a while, I pulled it out of the refrigerator and started cutting it into squares.  While handling sticky objects, always use the PAM spray.  Otherwise you will be glued to whatever you are making.

 

So, if you pardon the greasy fingers, I finally made Rice Krispie treats!  Or, more technically correct name, S ’more Rice Krispie Squares.  :)  I finally conquered how to make this simple treat!  Just make sure and get the PAM ready!

 

S’more Rice Krispie Squares
Recipe adapted from Citybaked
Ingredients
3 cups Marshmallows
1 Tablespoon (heaping) Butter
2 teaspoons Vanilla Extract
3 cups Rice Krispies
1 cup Graham Crackers, Broken Into Coarse
Pieces
1 cup Milk Chocolate Chips
PAM spray
Preparation Instructions
Butter an 8 x 8 inch square pan.
Spray a large microwave-safe bowl with PAM.  Place the marshmallows, butter and vanilla into the bowl and microwave until the marshmallows begin to soften, about a minute.  Mix with a spatula previously sprayed with PAM and microwave for another minute until the marshmallows are fully melted. Add the rice krispies until just mixed together.  Add the graham cracker chunks and chocolate chips to combine.
Press the mixture into the prepared pan.  Allow to cool and devour.
Just a warning: these 16 squares are on the smaller side—so you can eat more.

This entry was posted in Food, snacks and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

