Smothered Pork Chops

“Pork Chops taste good”.  I have to admit that I concur with Vincent Vega, as crazy as he was…   How about you?  Do you agree that Pork Chops taste good?  The thing about Pork Chop is, you can use as little seasoning or as much as you want.  Both versions will come out good.  The latest one I tried was the Smothered Pork Chops from Fannie Flagg’s Whistle Stop Café Cookbook.  At the time, I wanted to eat something other than the plain garlic and salt seasoning, or the teriyaki seasoning.  So I dug out my Fanny Flagg’s cookbook, and zoomed into her Smothered Pork Chops recipe.  I think I tried to make it before, but that was long, long time ago, when I didn’t really know what I was doing in the kitchen.  Needless to say, it was unmemorable, but I blamed it on my skill rather than the recipe.

So now that I have a few more experiences in cooking than 10 years ago, I feel a little bit more confident in cooking.  Only in Westerner food though, I’m not good at Asian food cooking.  I tried to make Beef Pho recently, inspired by our visit to a Vietnamese noodle shop, and bah… it was a disaster.  Poor Hubby was too polite to spit it out and I ended up stir frying the rest of the stuff to make it more palatable.

Anyway!  The recipe called for bacon drippings, and I didn’t have any.    I’m not a true Southerner…  But I had a stick of butter!  So I used that instead of the bacon drippings… Not the whole stick, just a little bit here and there…  So!  Pork chops, onion, bell pepper, lemon, all purpose flour, butter, brown sugar, salt (not pictured), peppered, and olive oil.  That was all involved in this Smothered Pork Chops.

 

 

I mixed in about a pinch of smoked sea salt into the brown sugar.

 

 

I added pepper and mixed them up.

 

 

Then I dumped the seasoning on to the pork chops.  Rub the seasoning all over the surface of the pork chops.

 

 

Then I transferred the pork chops onto the flour plate…

 

 

And dredged them and made sure every surface was covered with flour.

 

 

Then I heated up my iron skillet with olive oil, and put in about a tablespoon of butter for flavor.

 

 

When it was hot enough, I put the pork chops into the skillet to brown.

 

 

While the pork chops were browning, I sliced the bell pepper and onion.

 

 

Once one side was browned, then I turned the pork chops over to brown the other side.

 

 

Then I set aside the pork chops…

 

 

And dumped the veggies into the skillet.

 

 

I cooked it until the onion started turning translucent…

 

 

And then I put the pork chops on top of the bed of veggies.

 

 

Put the slices of lemon in between the chops…

 

 

Added the preheated water.

 

 

Let it come to a boil, and then covered it with a lid.

 

 

Meanwhile, I started preparing my plates – at the time, I was thinking that usually we would eat pork chops with mac and cheese… but it would not go together with this.  So I went with plain rice instead.

 

 

After about 15 minutes or so, I finished cooking the chops.  The recipe said to simmer it for an hour to an hour and half, but if I let it simmer for that long, it would be past our bed time!  So 15 minutes just would have to do.

 

 

I served the Smothered Pork Chops on top of a bed of rice, along with the onions and the bell pepper slices.  I was lucky.  The chops were tender, and it was a delicious dinner!  And if I was a true Southerner, I would put butter on the rice.  But I didn’t because that just sound and taste so wrong to me…   :)  So, pork chops anyone?

 

 

Print recipe here.

Smothered Pork Chops
Recipe by: Whistle Stop Café Cookbook

Ingredients:
1 tablespoon brown sugar
½ teaspoon salt
¼ teaspoon pepper
6 ¾ inch thick pork chops
All purpose flour
Hot bacon drippings
1 medium onion, peeled and sliced
1 medium green pepper, cored, seeded and sliced
1 lemon, sliced and seeded
Water

Direction:
Combine sugar, salt and pepper; rub mixture onto both sides of pork chops.  Coat chops well with flour.  Fry in ¼ inch of hot bacon drippings in a large heavy skillet until browned on both sides; remove from skillet and set aside.  Add onion and green pepper; sauté until just tender.  Return chops to skillet.  Add lemon slices and water to come ½ inch up sides of pan.  Cover and simmer over low heat 1 to 1 ½ hours, or until very tender, adding additional water if necessary.

This entry was posted in Food, Pork and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Smothered Pork Chops

  1. chrisannee says:

    My hubby loves pork chops. I may try these soon! For a more southern flavor you can add chicken bouillon to your water while cooking your rice. I use 1 bouillon cube for 2 cups of rice and about a tablespoon of butter. The rice absorbs the broth and it tastes really good!

    • axokuaci says:

      I have to remember that every time I need to add water, I could use chicken stock. I have made lots of chicken stock from chicken carcasses, and I freeze them by 1/2 up to 1 cup size. You see, in Indonesia, we ate rice just as it is. We didn’t add butter or anything.. so when Hubby mentioned it, it felt wrong to me :)

  2. leashieloo says:

    Everything you make always gives me cravings!

  3. Carol says:

    Annie, when ever I fry bacon I pour the dripping into a container and freeze it. Then when ever I need it I have it. It freezes really well. Love your recipes.

  4. Itu deboned porkchops ya mbak?
    kliatannya gede bgt yah,
    btw dsn porkchops harganya naujubile, bs lbh mahal dr siunyuk a.k.a babi panggang bangka dlm berat yg sama….
    actually, i’m not a fans of battered pan seared meat…
    just like it barely naked or crusted with pine nuts or even pistachio…

    • Anny says:

      Bukan mas, itu ada tulangnya kok. Aku kalo beli biasanya pas lagi sale yah.. ha ha.. dimana2 harga makanan tambah naik semua. Kemaren dulu barusan beli pork chop -boneless, $1.97/lbs, ini yang dari potongan pork loin itu.. aku beli satu simpen di freezer… Aduh.. mana lagi yang namanya pine nuts… sampe sekarang masih nggak berani beli.. seplastik kecil hampir $5 or lebih… haha.. disana beli berapa pine nuts?

Leave a Reply

