Shrimp Scampi and Angel Hair Pasta

Yesterday we had a family reunion.  Once a year, we met with all of Hubby’s aunts, uncles, first cousins, second cousins, first cousins once removed, first cousin twice removed,  second cousins, and so on.  The hierarchy of these cousins can be confusing for some of us, particularly me, in this instance, when we first started going to these reunions.  Particularly if a family has a big number of family members, like, the parents had seven children or so.  So all of these cousins, either the first, or second, or the first and twice removed got married, and then, I had a lot of people’s name to memorize! To throw in the mix, one of Hubby’s second cousins has twins, and they were just little boys when I first met them.  Zachary and Jared.  Now, to Hubby, Zach and Jared are second cousins, once removed.  And Zach and Jared to Blake and Kam are fourth cousins.  Ha… Do you want to figure out how they become fourth cousins?  Be my guest!    :)

So, like other little boys out there, they grew up really fast.  Both Zach and Jared are now taller than me, still cute, but, they are not little boys anymore.  Zach and Jared  really look  alike.  I had to have them stand together so I can figure out which one is which.  Thank goodness one of them has very curly hair, while the other one has wavy hair.  Jared with the curly hair, and Zach with the wavy hair.  So that is my cheat sheet my friend… that’s how I figured them out!   It only works if they’re together though.  One time I called Zach Jared, because he was by himself, and I though his hair was pretty curly!  Well!! I was wrong! :)  We had fun visiting with the cousins and catching up with news, and then it was time for us to head home.

Once home, we were scratching, or at least I was, my head for dinner.  I was thinking that perhaps I would make fried rice with the left over rice in the refrigerator.  I glanced at the recipe printouts I got, and thought, hey, maybe there is something that is easy to make. I found it!  It was a print out from PW’s Tasty Kitchen, Shrimp Scampi.  Hah!  It was a good thing that I still kept the print-out.  I went to the Tasty Kitchen to get a copy of the link and there are 19 pages of Shrimp Scampi out there!  The version that I had is a recipe added by A Cozy Kitchen, a recipe from Food & Wine magazine.  I didn’t have any shrimp in the freezer, so off I went to the grocery store to get some frozen shrimp, as well as fresh parsley and fresh thyme.

Part of what attracted me to this recipe was the ingredients were pretty straight forward.  Shrimp, butter, garlic, parsley (didn’t make it into the picture), lemon juice and zest, thyme, red pepper flakes, salt and pepper, and basil.  That’s really not complicated.

 

 

 

I defrosted the shrimps by running cold water on them… eventually they were defrosted…

 

 

 

Then I chopped up or minced the herbs…

 

 

 

Zested a whole lemon… I didn’t need the full amount of the zest as the recipe required, since I was only cooking 1 pound of shrimp.

 

 

 

Then I dumped the soften butter, lemon juice, minced garlic, some of the chopped parsley, thyme, red pepper flakes…

 

 

 

Salted and peppered it…

 

 

 

Mixed them up…

 

 

 

And I lined up the shrimp on a baking pan.  The shrimp was already deveined, but they did not want to stand up!  I almost ran out of time and sliced the back of the shrimp really quick, managed to prop some of them up.

 

 

 

Then I was supposed to dollop the butter on top of the shrimp… I just hastily smeared the butter on top of them.  They were going to be cooked anyway, so it didn’t have to be pretty…  Then I threw the baking pan (not literally) into the oven and roasted the shrimp for 10 minutes at 450F.

 

 

 

Then I cooked some angel hair pasta came out of the box… I didn’t have the energy to make homemade pasta… a box would do..

 

 

 

When the timer went off, I pulled the shrimp out…

 

 

 

Drained the pasta…

 

 

 

Arranged the pasta on a plate… topped off with shrimp… sprinkled the rest of the chopped parsley and sliced basil…

 

 

 

Picked up one of the shrimp.. examined…. and ate it… It was purtyyy darn good!  I was pretty pleased with myself, and the pasta really didn’t need any sauce.  It got whatever butter herbs dripping from the shrimp, and it was delicious.  This recipe is definitely a keeper.  Try it!  Ciao!

 

 

 

Print recipe here.

(Recipe courtesy of Melissa Rubel Jacobson, from Food & Wine, October 2009.).
Shrimp Scampi

Recipe from: Tasty Kitchen

Ingredients:

2 sticks Unsalted Butter, Softened
3 cloves Garlic, Very Finely Chopped
1 Tablespoon Plus 2 Teaspoons Flat-leaf Parsley, Chopped, Divided
1-½ teaspoon Lemon Zest
1 teaspoon Freshly Squeezed Lemon Juice
½ teaspoons Thyme, Finely Chopped
½ teaspoons Red Pepper Flakes
1 dash Of Salt And Pepper To Taste
3 pounds Shrimp, Deveined And Peeled With Tails On
1 Tablespoon Sliced Basil

Preparation Instructions:

Preheat the oven to 450°F. In a medium bowl, mix the butter with the garlic, 2 teaspoons of parsley, lemon zest, lemon juice, thyme, and red pepper flakes. Season with salt and pepper.

In a large gratin dish, arrange the shrimp, tails up, in a circular pattern. Dot the shrimp with the flavored butter and roast for about 10 minutes, until the shrimp are pink and the butter is bubbling. Sprinkle the shrimp with the remaining 1 tablespoon of chopped parsley and basil leaves. Serve hot with bread.

(Recipe courtesy of Melissa Rubel Jacobson, from Food & Wine, October 2009.)

This entry was posted in Food, shrimp and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

