Cranberry Butter

One of the things that I like to do in the morning is to check out Pioneer Woman’s blog.  Then,  I venture out to the Tasty Kitchen as well.  Then last Friday, I saw this blog about Cranberry Butter.  I read up on it, and marveled at the idea of such a simple thing can bring out so much flavor.  So I made a mental note that this year’s Thanksgiving, I would make this Cranberry Butter.

I thought no more about the Cranberry Butter until Saturday afternoon, when I was about to prepare our breakfast dinner.  We would have biscuits to go with our breakfast and I would make that Cranberry Butter to go with them!  I had fresh cranberries sitting in the refrigerator, waiting for me to freeze them… and I had some oranges, although they were getting ready to be past their prime time.. but it would do.  To lower any calories, I thought instead of butter, I would use the Fleischman margarine sticks I got when I made those Muffin Pecan Pies.

You know.. all this calorie lowering  talk, made me got up from the table, stopped my typing, and check out the calorie of that margarine.  La di da!  I only saved 20 calories per tablespoon.  Oh well!  It really didn’t help any, since the more I ate it, the more I wanted to smear it on to something else.  Grr….  I have to quit reading people’s food blogs and stop trying out the stuff they make!

So, I decided to make just a stick of margarine, instead of a whole pound of butter.  So, cranberry, honey, and orange zest were the other ingredients.

 

I chopped up the cranberries…

 

Until they were about small pieces…

 

Plopped the softened stick of margarine on top of the cranberries…

 

Then I zested the orange…

 

Until I could zest no more…

 

Then I poured the honey into the bowl…   You see, I needed any reason to use up the honey I got in my cupboard.  My supplier stocked me up with more honey bottles as my sales commission.

 

Oh, and prior to pouring the honey into the measuring cup, I sprayed the cup with the cooking oil spray.  The purpose?  Well, the honey would all poured out of the cup and not stuck on the cup.  It was evidenced by the picture below.

 

Then I mixed it all up with a spatula.

 

And when it was done, I put it into this cute, tiny, casserole dish my friend Kelly got me for Christmas.  Thank you Kelly!!

 

Some of the liquid from the cranberry came out, but I just drained it away.

 

So I couldn’t wait to try it, and finally dinner came and I smeared the spread on to my biscuit. The verdict?  Well, I have to give the spread away, since I cannot stop eating it!  I had a biscuit again for breakfast the next day (I need a reason to spread the Cranberry Butter onto something) and then spread it onto my corn bread for lunch… Need I say more??

 

It was sweetened butter, with a hint of cranberry and orangey taste.  It was smooth and velvety and very tasty.  You gotta try to make this!  I swear!!

Print recipe here.

Cranberry Butter
Added by MissyDew

Prep Time 5 Minutes
Cook Time  Servings 20 Difficulty Easy

Ingredients
1 pound Butter, Softened To Room Temperature
½ cups Chopped Fresh Cranberries
½ cups Honey
1 whole Orange (just The Zest)
Preparation Instructions
Such an easy recipe, it’s easy to adjust the ingredients to your personal taste. Want more orange flavor? Zest another orange! Want it less sweet? Reduce the amount of honey. Make it your own!

Combine softened butter, chopped fresh cranberries, honey to taste (about 1/2 cup) and the ZEST ONLY of one orange. Mix until well blended.

You’ll need to store this in the refrigerator.

This entry was posted in Condiment, Food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

