Sautéed Mushroom

Mushroom.  What comes across your thoughts when you hear the word mushroom?  Mine?  It would be the worldliness of the yumminess of mushroomy factor.  Ha ha… I love mushrooms very much.  When I was a kid, my mom used to cook some kind of chicken with canned champignon, thickened with corn starch.  It was the roundness of the mushroom that caught my eyes.  It was the taste and the funniness of mushroom that made me fall in love with them.  During college, I would butcherly made my way in the kitchen and cooked some sort of chicken, mushroom, and soy sauce.    So, all those times I had eaten the mushroom cooked.  Not raw.  After college, when we moved to Houston, we went to Souper Salad, where Hubby topped off his salad with sliced fresh mushrooms, and I followed suit.  Then, I was convinced by Ruth’s Chris Steakhouse about my love of mushrooms, where they serve the Sautéed Mushroom with butter.  I was in heaven!!

So, several times I tried to make sautéed mushroom myself.  Unfortunately, I don’t think I was be able to replicate the taste that comes from the restaurants, unless the chef at those restaurants are willing to give me their secrets!

So, this is how I did mine.  I added onion, and just used olive oil, Worcestershire sauce, and salt and pepper.  Actually I think I ended up skipping the salt since the Worcestershire sauce is salty already.

 

I sliced the onion…

 

 

Poured some olive oil into the pan…

 

 

Dumped the onion in the pan…

 

 

Well!  I guess at the last minute I decided to try adding garlic into it!

 

 

Then the mushroom went into the pan.

 

 

Poured some of the Worcestershire sauce…

 

 

Peppered it, stirred it around, continued cooking until the mushrooms were tender.

 

 

And voila!! Sauteed mushroom, ready to be eaten by earthling called Anny!

Print recipe here

Sautéed Mushroom
Ingredients:
Button mushroom, sliced
Onion, sliced thin
Garlic, minced
Worcestershire sauce
Pepper
Olive oil

Preparation:
Pour olive oil into a heated pan.
Stir fry onion and garlic until onion start turning translucent.
Dump mushroom into the pan, mix well.
Pour Worcestershire sauce and pepper the mushroom, mix well.
Taste, adjust seasoning as needed.
Cook mushroom until they’re tender.
Serve.

This entry was posted in Food, Side Dish and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

