Spaghetti Squash

I don’t remember now how I found Shutterbean’s post about the Spaghetti Squash and Turkey Meatballs.  What intrigued me was the Spaghetti Squash itself.  The post mentioned that that Spaghetti Squash is kind of a pasta substitute, since it blends well with pasta sauce.  So I wanted to try it and see if it is something that we can eat from time to time.  We won’t completely replace pasta from our diet, but it doesn’t hurt to eat healthier either.

So, when I went to the big HEB, I got myself a Spaghetti Squash.  It looked to me like an oval shaped honeydew melon.  Its skin is yellow, and the inside has seeds like pumpkin seeds.  I decided that we would try it just with very minimal flavoring, so we get to taste the real deal.

 

First, I wanted to cut the Spaghetti Squash into halves lengthwise.  I got my santoku knife, and tried to jam the tip of the knife into the squash and it refused to budge.  I looked around, and decided to use a cleaver and it didn’t even make a dent at all.  I started wondering if I needed to use an axe for this hard thing.  I persevered and went back using my santoku knife, and finally I was able to crack the Spaghetti Squash open.  Whew!  I thought I would have to throw this thing out of the window!  So, be very careful if you decided to try messing around with a Spaghetti Squash, you can easily slice a finger or two…

 

So then I split the Spaghetti Squash into two and started scrapping the seeds out with a spoon… and found it hard to scrap it with a spoon.

 

So then I got my melon baller, and used it instead.

 

It worked extremely well and it was done in no time.  In the mean time, I wonder if these seeds were edible…  But I was just too lazy to mess with it and just dumped the seeds into the trash can.

 

Then I salted and peppered it…

 

Put the cut side down on a cookie sheet and baked it at 375F for 45 minutes.

 

After the timer beeped on me, I inserted a knife to make sure that the Spaghetti Squash was tender.  If your knife goes in easily, it is tender.

 

Then I flipped them cut side up and let them cool for a bit.

 

After it cooled, I grabbed a fork and started scrapping the flesh… I was just amazed at the consistency of the flesh of this thing!  The flesh was stringy, and they indeed looked like strands of noodles!

 

I scrapped them all out, and wasn’t sure how clean I should scrap them out, but I scrapped them bare…

 

Then I put the Spaghetti Squash into a strainer and let it drain a little bit.

 

Then I drizzled olive oil on the Spaghetti Squash.  The sticker on the Spaghetti Squash said that butter can be used, but we decided to use olive oil instead of butter.

 

Sprinkled some of kosher salt…

 

And voila! It’s ready to be eaten!

 

It tastes mild, crunchy and a hint of sweetness.

I will be experimenting with Spaghetti Squash and will be sure to post any recipes that I found that definitely are keepers.  Oh, also, for some of you who are watching sugar intake, this Spaghetti Squash is a winner.  It only has a Glycemic Load of 2, out of the 0 to 250 range, according to Nutrition Data.  Isn’t that awesome?  So, eat more squash, and your blood sugar won’t be so hyped up and you won’t be bouncy!

Print recipe here.

Spaghetti Squash

Ingredients:
1 spaghetti squash, halved lengthwise (about 3 lbs.)
Salt and pepper to taste
Olive oil or butter

Directions:
Preheat oven to 375.  Season cut sides of squash with salt and pepper.  Bake, cut sides down, on a baking sheet until tender, about 45 minutes.  Test tenderness by inserting a knife into the squash.  If the tip of knife goes in easily, the squash is ready.  Cool squash before scrapping the flesh with a fork.  Put strands of squash into a colander and drain.  Set aside drained squash into a bowl.  Drizzle with olive oil, add more salt and pepper, toss, and serve.

This entry was posted in Food, Side Dish and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

