Peach Cobbler

You know, summer is almost over, which means, the over-abundant fruits we get during summer will almost be over too.  The one I’m going to talk about here is peach, as you can see from the title of this post.

At the beginning of the summer, I had wanted to bake a peach cobbler, especially when the fruit is in season.  When is the best time to make peach cobbler other than during summertime, when the fruit is in season and cheap?  Well, talk was all talk.  I didn’t make it until last week.

I had bought peaches the week before, and since they were still hard and not ready to be eaten, I just left them on the dining room table (My temporary storage.  Hubby will roll his eyes when he reads this.  My temporary storage usually ends up as a permanent storage… :)).  Well, as you can surmise, I forgot about them and bought more peaches this past Saturday.  What was I going to do with all of these peaches I had at home?  Made them into peach cobbler!

The recipe I tried was Fannie Flagg’s recipe, from her Whistle Stop Café Cookbook.  Anyone heard of her?  She is the author of the Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Café book, which was made into a movie, Fried Green Tomatoes.  You know, Fannie Flagg was a good story teller and I love that book so much.  She made me think that I am missing out for not being born and having lived during the Depression era.  Isn’t that something?

So anyway, let’s talk about the peach cobbler.  If you want to read about the tidbits of history of cobbler, click here.

Okay, FF’s recipe calls for flour, sugar, salt, butter, baking powder, heavy cream, ground cinnamon, vanilla and peaches.  Nothing complicated.  Oh, and shortening, which didn’t make it into the picture… (smiling sheepishly…).  Well, I just simply forgotten about it…

 

First I measured the flour into my mixing bowl.

 

Then I put in the baking powder…

 

Salt…

 

Sugar…

 

Shortening…

 

Then I cut in the shortening into the flour using my pastry cutter…

 

Until it all resembled coarse meal…

 

Then I poured in the heavy cream…

 

And I used a fork to mix the flour and the cream.  At this point, the mixture barely resembles a dough.  I had to knead it a few times to put everything together.
Then I dumped the dough into a plastic wrap…

 

And molded it a bit into a circle and flattened it out a little bit. Then I put it into the refrigerator.

 

Then I started to work on the peaches. I cut the peaches vertically in a circle.

 

Then I held a peach half in each hand, and slowly twisted it so that one half of the peach was detached from the pit.  Then I tried to pull the pit out of the other half.  If it was difficult, then I cut the meat along the pit and tried to pull the pit out that way.  Then I also peeled the skin off of the peaches.

 

Once they were peeled, then I sliced them into thin slices, about 1/4 inch thick.

 

Then I dumped the sliced peaches into a pot, and dumped sugar into it.

 

Next would be the flour.

 

Then the cinnamon…

 

Mixed it all around, and let it sit.

 

After awhile, the syrup was formed. Then I turned on the heat, let it boil, and then turned down the heat and let it simmer for 10 minutes.

 

While I waited for the peaches to simmer, I started working on the dough.  I halved the dough and wrapped the other half back into the plastic wrap.  I didn’t want it to dry out while it was waiting its turn to be rolled out.

 

I rolled it out and tried to make it into a rectangle.  As you can see, the dough looks a bit dry.  So I crumpled it back together, wet both my hands and kneaded the dough for a few minutes.  So next time I need to add more heavy cream so the dough will be more pliable.

 

Then I rolled it out again, and this time the dough was easy to work with.  I rolled it out as wide as the pyrex pan I was going to use.

 

Then, I slid a knife underneath the pastry, just to make sure that the pastry didn’t stick into the cutting board.  Now the pastry was ready to be used.

 

After the peaches simmered for ten minutes, then I dropped in the vanilla…

 

Then the butter and mixed it around.

 

Then I used the measuring cup to scoop up the peaches and syrup into the greased pyrex…

 

Then I used my rolling pin to pick up the pastry.  I put the pin at the edge of the pastry, and started rolling until I could pick it up easily.

 

Then I put the pastry on top of the peaches…

 

Sprinkled sugar on top of the pastry and baked it for about 15 minutes, at 475F.

 

While the cobbler was baking, I worked on the other half of the pastry.  I rolled it out, and cut the pastry into about an inch width.

 

After the 15 minutes baking time, I pulled out the cobbler out of the oven.

 

Then I poured the rest of the peaches and the syrup on the pyrex baking pan.

 

Then I worked on the pastry into the lattice design.  Sorry folks, I was trying to figure out to criss cross the pastry strips, and didn’t have the time to take pictures in between.  So no picture of how to arrange it other than the final product.

 

Then I sprinkled more sugar…

 

And the cobbler was ready to bake.

 

The recipe said to bake the cobbler for 20 minutes, but I need to turn it down to about 15 minutes, since you can see that the pastry was a bit too brown in this picture below.

 

Top it off with vanilla ice cream, you think you’re in heaven! :)

 

So, when you find yourself with too many peaches, make a cobbler, and you will be happy!  :)

 

Yummy!

Print recipe here.

Peach Cobbler
Recipe adapted from: Whistle Stop Café Cookbook

Ingredients:
2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
3/4 teaspoon salt
3 tablespoons sugar
1/4 cup shortening
3/4 cup and one teaspoon whipping cream
8 cups sliced fresh peaches or apples
2 cups sugar, plus more for sprinkling
2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
½ teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/3 cup butter or margarine

Direction:
Combine first four ingredients; cut in shortening until mixture resembles coarse meal. Sprinkle cream over mixture and toss with fork until dough forms a ball.  Knead 4 or 5 times; wrap in plastic wrap, and chill at least one hour.  Meanwhile, combine fruit, 2 cups sugar, flour, and cinnamon in a dutch oven; set aside until syrup forms.  Bring to a boil; reduce heat, and simmer, uncovered, 10 minutes or until tender.  Remove from heat, and stir in vanilla and butter until melted.  Preheat oven to 475F.  Roll half of the pastry to a 12 x 8 inch rectangle.  Spoon half of the fruit into a lightly buttered 12 x 8 x 2 inch baking dish; place pastry on top.  Sprinkle with a little sugar; bake for 15 minutes, or until very lightly browned.  Spoon remaining fruit on top; roll remaining pastry to 1/8 inch thickness and cut into 1 inch strips.  Arrange strips in lattice design over peaches.  Sprinkle with sugar.  Bake 15 additional minutes or until browned.
Yield 8 to 10 servings.

This entry was posted in Dessert, Food, peach and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Peach Cobbler

  1. tkempjr says:

    I tried this recipe, it turned out great. My first cobbler. My wife and kids rarely eat my dessert, but they loved this.

    Thanks,

    Thomas

Leave a Reply

