Grilled Swordfish

When I was at Kroger last week, I had only meant to get some fresh basil leaves, some prosciutto and check out their bakery section.  Of course, I had to wander off and I ended up looking at their meat section.  At that time, they had a variety of frozen Sockeye salmon, tuna, and… swordfish!  I love swordfish and it has been awhile since I ate swordfish.  At the beginning of my relationship with Hubby, Hubby used to grill swordfish once every two or three weeks.  Back then, Swordfish was very readily available and affordable.  Until… Swordfish was over-fished, and then one day, you just could not find them anymore.  If a grocery has swordfish, usually the price was just simply outrageous.  Apparently, back in 1998, there was “Give Swordfish a Break” campaign, where the restaurants and groceries stopped serving/carrying swordfish due to the decimated swordfish population.

So I was excited when I saw Kroger carried swordfish, even if it was frozen.  So I got two packages of the swordfish and headed home.

Then came this Sunday, we were ready to eat the swordfish.  I dug up the marinade recipe we found saw on the Today Show over ten years ago.  The marinade recipe was was very simple.  Olive oil, lime, garlic, salt and pepper.  Very simple right?

So I poured the olive oil into a 9 x 9 baking dish.

Then squeezed the lime…

Dropped in the minced garlic…

Salted and peppered it, and whisked it.

Then Hubby rinsed off the fish, sliced them off into a more manageable size and put them in the marinade for about 15 minutes.

Since it was such a tiny portion, Hubby only used the Hibachi grill for this one.  Then when the grill got hot… the fish jumped onto the grill!  Well, not voluntarily…

And when it was all said and done, we served the fish with white rice and Papaya Salsa, which will be my next post.

Then, I plopped in a slice of tomato on my plate as well… purely for decorative purposes.  I found out that fresh tomato didn’t really go well with fish… It left a funny taste in my mouth!

It was yummy, tender, and delicious.  Enjoy!

Print recipe here.

Grilled Swordfish
Recipe from NBC’s Today Show (mid 90s)

Ingredients:

4 – 8 oz swordfish steak, about 1 inch thick
½ cup Extra Virgin Olive Oil (EVOO)
1 Tbs minced garlic
½ tsp salt
½ tsp black pepper
juice of 1 lime

Preparation:

Mix all marinate ingredients together, then whisk.
Rinse swordfish then pat dry.  Place steaks into the marinate for about 15 minutes.  Turned steak over half way through marinating.
Grill steaks on hot grill for 5 minutes each, and about 4 – 6 inches away from the heat source.  Do not overcook, steak would be tough.

This entry was posted in Fish, Food and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Grilled Swordfish

  1. Pingback: Papaya Salsa | Anny's Blog

Leave a Reply

